$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
535 reviews
Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and... See full review

  • Lizards
  • Nov 23, 2014
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (535)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
535 out of 535
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTGR
Wisconsin
Jan 4, 2013

Lovely time

The Aston Islander on the Beach is a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pattimelt7
Business
southern Utah
Sep 29, 2013

Decent hotel right on the beach

This was our first time on the island of Kauai, and we chose this hotel based on reviews. The grounds were neat and clean, and the rooms were decent, not outstanding. The best thing about this hotel is the location; right on the beach, though this beach is not for swimming. It is a good, central location on the island, close to Kapa'a and the Wailua river, both of which we enjoyed. Be aware: we stayed on the third floor and there were no elevators, so taking our luggage up four flights of stairs was annoying. All in all, a positive hotel stay, though not sure I'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

adjacent to the Coconut Plantation shopping area, several restaurants, and grocery stores; convenient location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eric and Karen
Business
Michigan
Sep 24, 2013

A Very Nice Stay

This is our 4th time staying at Islander on the Beach over a 10 year period. The location is excellent, right on the beach, with a pool, hot tub and tiki bar Oceanside. Very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solar Powered
Business
Casa Grande, AZ
Sep 21, 2013

Pleasant stay

Stayed here several years ago & it remains a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Sep 12, 2013

Excellent Location

It was great. Our fourth time there. Excellent location. Didn't like the $15/day extra charge for ammenities. Not a good idea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gavana2011
Business
New York
Sep 11, 2013

For that money its a perfect place to stay in !

The staff was very nice, the pool very comfortable with the bar and great bartender. The pool is opened till 10pm, which is great! Hot tub near the pool was really hot like it has to be ! The nature and the view from our balcony was amazing ! When you purchase the ocean view room - its NOT A OCEAN FRONT ! You have to pay for an upgrade of $25 per day to get the room closest to the ocean ! The beach is not good for swimming, its a coral rough bottom of the water. You can not walk safe in the water ! You need to have a car to go on the nice beach, nice restaurant. There are two good restaurants close to Aston, you can walk there 5 minutes ! Enjoy your stay !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Courtyard Marriott restaurant or lounge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bright side of life
Business
Honolulu
Sep 2, 2013

Great to be on the water, really run down lobby and beach chairs were unacceptable,

The proximity to the beach was absolutely wonderful, the room was immaculately clean and the lanai was lovely. The lobby was very run down and the state of the loungers were so poor it was rather unacceptable (totally falling apart). I had a positive experience but I had to reach for the positives and really look at the bright side , the state of the hotel was not accurately displayed on the website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noalani
Business
Brooklyn, New york
Sep 1, 2013

vacation

The staffs are friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast consist of donuts, crossaints, mini muffins, fruits, and coffee-on weekends they have bagels with cream cheese. You have access to DVD machine and laundry room. The beach is not safe for swimming due to strong currents. However it is a short drive to nearly beaches, where you can swim. The location is also close to shopping center if you are driving-a car is a must. The shopping centers are located in downtown Kapaa-they have great food trucks and coconut shopping center, which is literally next door to the Aston Islander.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wags from Wyoming
Business
Gillette, Wyoming
Aug 21, 2013

Great location for the money.

Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Aston Islander. Beautiful sunrises with the Coconut Market within walking distance. Clean rooms and grounds, made it pleasant to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coconut Market had a variety of shoppIng opportunities...clothes, jewelry, groceries and liquor, as well as dining and activities all an easy walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Aug 20, 2013

A Great PLACE

THIS WAS OUR FOURTH STAY AT THE ISLANDER ON THE BEACH. THERE IS A REASON WHY WE KEEP COMING THERE. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE $210 EXTRA CHARE THAT IS ADDED TO THE BILL AT CHECKOUT ($15/DAY). APPARENTLY ALL PLACES NOW DO THIS. SIMPLY, IT IS A RIP OFF. FOR THAT YOU RECEIVE A DAILY NEWSPAPER AND UNLIMITED MOVIES. WHO WANTS TO WATCH MOVIES AT A LOCATION LIKE KAUAI? WE MAY NOT RETURN. BILL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blessed by Splendor of Kauai
Business
Maryland
Aug 17, 2013

Kauai Revisited

We stayed at the Islander for the second time and enjoyed our experience. We were disappointed when we found out we had to upgrade in order to be at the ocean. An "ocean view" does not mean you have an "ocean front" but rather that you can be located anywhere as long as you can see a bit of the ocean. We had travelled too long not to be at the ocean so we ended up paying for an upgrade. We also had to pay $15 a day in fees supposedly so we could rent unlimited videos and have internet access in the room. However, we discovered we could not use the DVD player despite several attempts from the staff to fix it. So much for watching movies. As far as the internet access we did not bring a computer thinking we could go online in the lobby. That turned out to be a wrong move because the internet access in the lobby was not free as had been told to us. Despite these inconveniences we love Kauai and hope to be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try to see the Na Pali Coast line either hiking or on a boat ride. It is absolutely worth everything. Do not miss the Waimea Canyon. It will take you breath away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top