$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
887 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (887)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UNCCasey
Durham, NC
Jun 24, 2013

Honeymooners delight!

Great hotel! One of the few affordable hotels on the island with direct beach access. Since it is located on the east coast, there are beautiful sunrises and you are conveniently located between the north and south shores, making it easy to get to either. Room was spacious and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful! No elevator in our building so we had to carry our luggage up three flights of stairs, but this was our only very minor complaint. Overall, had a fantastic stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rangeer Rick
Long Beach
Jun 7, 2013

Construction Zone

The Islander was undergoing major reconsruction. There was consruction equipment every where. My first floor room ratio looked out on bare ground littered with netting covering construction materials. There was no view. . There was construction noise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Curlyeeyore
Pacifica, ca
May 14, 2013

Don't waste your money

The hotel staff was rude, the grounds are not kept up. I have stayed in Hawaii many times and was surprised at the lack of hospitality on this island. From the rental car sputtering the whole week, to rude people working at the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malaysian Mundo Meanderer
Flagstaff, Arizona
May 11, 2013

Good location on Kauai

The hotel room itself was average but comfortable. The room was about a 10 second walk from a decent beach, and the available amenities were sufficient. Really, though, the Aston Islander location (just south of Kapaa and north of Lihue) is excellent. Not only are the north and west shores about the same distance (maybe an hour) from the hotel, but most of Kauai's best restaurants are situated on the east side of the island. All in all, this was a good value hotel to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren P
Las Vegas
May 7, 2013

Second time here, NO REGRETS!!

This was our second trip to the hotel and we still love the hotel and staff! Front desk staff was warm with aloha spirit! Hotel has a beautiful location and beautiful grounds. Centrally located on the island in Kapaa, which is great because its close to most outdoor activities and sites! There's no restaurant on property but a lot of great restaurants in walking distance or a very short drive. The pool bar is a great attraction on the island!! Best piña coladas on the island... Trust me. Jason our bartender is definately the best we've ever come across in our 8 trips to the islands over the past 4 years! Stay here! you'll love it, especially if you want that local feel and charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of good eats nearby

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forrest Mars
Denver
Apr 14, 2013

POOR staffing at best

I tried to fix issues by speaking with the manager and I left several messages for her to call me. She never did call me back. We had to move out of the rooms in the middle of the night. (I took my mother of 73 years old, and I had to move two rooms without any warning due to the fact the owner was coming in and I had to move out (Heck they locked us out of the rooms.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont be cheap and stay at the hotel next door. (they bent over backward to make the trip good.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two J's
Stevens Point, WI
Apr 5, 2013

Would stay again!

Wonderful location. Comfortable and clean. An overall enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Starr Ray
Madeira Beach, Florida
Mar 26, 2013

Aston Islander on Beach

Good location and based on cost met expectations. Need to heat pool. Too cold to enjoy due to chilly weather in Kauai. Really had no use of it. Jacuzzi great. Overall a good hotel to use at an affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MichiC
Fremont, ca
Mar 25, 2013

Great stay

We had a wonderful stay. Had lovely meals at nearby restaurants. The hotel was centrally located so that we were able to explore the island and participate in the activities we had scheduled. Grounds are well cared for. Pool area needs some updating, but is well kept. Walls are a little thin, but since we spent minimal time in our room, it didn't become an issue. Parking spaces become sparse after 5pm or so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eggbert's in the Coconut Marketplace has the best pancakes and eggs Benedict we have ever had. Our eggs were perfectly cooked every time

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfa1six4
Newnan, Ga
Mar 25, 2013

Very nice location

Nice hotel in a great location. Kapaa is centrally located to go either north or south for the day. The hotel is beachfront and the rooms with an ocean view are very nice to watch the beach and sunrise. Truthfully, we didn't spend much time at the hotel. We were always out doing stuff. So I can't comment on everything the hotel has to offer, but it was fine for our purpose. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The rooms have a mini kitchen with a fridge and microwave. You can buy breakfast items at the supermarket in Kapaa and save on your dining expenses.

Back to menu Return to top