$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
536 reviews
Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and... See full review

  • Lizards
  • Nov 23, 2014
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (536)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
536 out of 536
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Central Wisconsin
Business
WI
Jan 19, 2014

Great place to stay

Nice place for someone on a budget. Since we don't spend that much time in our room this was perfect. Don't expect too many amenities and the parking can be a little tough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kilauea Fish Market - Basically in the parking lot and they have awesome food, especially after a long day of hiking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cuteella
Business
palatine, il
Dec 24, 2013

great location and nice view

It is by the beach with great view. It is also besides a shopping center,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are 2 local small restaurants having authentic food in the shopping center which is just besides the hotel. Great food and good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Forrest Mars
Business
Denver
Dec 8, 2013

Go Next door

we were kicked out of the rooms we had because the owner was coming into town. (its the way they moved us out that upset us) we were not told anything until we were locked out of the rooms at 11:00 PM. we were told to move and had to be out NOW, no time to pack and move rooms. I asked to speak to a manager and she dogged me all week long as to avoid my conversation. NEVER going back to this place. Next door is a much nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FancyDan
Business
Petaluma, CA
Nov 27, 2013

Stayed several times 4-5 yrs

We've stayed here 5-6 years in Feb and will return in Feb 2014. Hoorah for Kauai and Aston Islander on the Beach. We've always had a partial ocean view except last year when the manager upgraded us to Ocean View. Hoorah, again. The town of Kapaa is small but has most everything one needs within a mile or so of the hotel. TREES, a restaurant and lounge with nightly entertainment is within about 50 yards of the hotel front. hoorah for Trees - no kidding we've been most pleased with our stays here. Only problem is occasionally the parking lot is full, requiring a slip from Security to park next door. HONESTLY, We're anxious for Feb 2014 to arrive. We stayed at their Sister hotel at the other end of Coconut market Place and it was nice, but two large of buildings.- Islander on the Beach is quaint and the grounds are impeccable. The beach is stoney, but right there next to the property. Love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TREES, is owned and operated by a young couple who have entertainment for us elderly from 5:15 to 8:30, then it changes for a younger crowd, about the time we're ready to go to our room. Great food. No kidding, the best Crème Brulee we've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dog 22
Business
Coarsegold,CA
Nov 18, 2013

Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moreforyourmoney
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2013

Very nice spot in Kau'i

We needed a place to stay for one night before heading off to our timeshare, and this was practically perfect--close to the airport, reasonable price, excellent staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wkkk
Business
ohio
Oct 23, 2013

Welldone

Great location. Do not like the added per night charge for so called perks by the hotel..apparently they are all doing it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuan Lin
Business
Taiwan
Oct 20, 2013

reasonable price

the price is quite reasonable and the location is close to the airport. The staff is very helpful, but the reception is closed at 11pm... not professional at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuan Lin
Business
Taiwan
Oct 20, 2013

reasonable price

price is reasonable and staff is very helpful. The location is very close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rj..
Business
Madison, WI
Oct 11, 2013

Kauai Honeymoon

My wife and I recently stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach and were very pleased with the hotel. The room was nice, bed was comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. Parking was very limited and we usually had to park in the overflow parking lot. We did get a free room upgrade to an ocean view room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top