$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
583 out of 583
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPR310
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 16, 2011

Pretty Good Value

We only stayed at the hotel for one day, but found our room to be clean, functional and pretty darn close to the beach. When the price is considered, I think the hotel is a pretty decent value, especially when one is on a tighter budget. However, if you are looking for luxury, ultra modern accommodations and loads of amenities, this really isn't your place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Dining in Kauai - food in Kauai ranges from edible to terrible. There is very little good food to be had on the island. So, think like a local. Local's generally aren't wealthy, so they eat plate lunches (slow cooked pork, rice, etc) and from food trucks. This is the good stuff on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dean
Business
Texas
Aug 16, 2011

Great hotel for a good price

We loved the Islander's location and the staff. The view to the ocean is second-to-none. Combined with the price, we are very satisfied with our hotel choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out Cakes by Kristin in Kapaa on the east side of Kuhio Hwy in Kinipopo Shopping Village. It just opened and she makes the best chocolate cakes. She took the time to describe the cake and its ingredients in detail and her experience as a pastry chef. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blessed by Splendor of Kauai
Business
Maryland
Aug 8, 2011

A Beautiful, Peaceful Getaway.

Right from the beginning we were awestruck by the colors of the plants and flowers on the grounds. The sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep at night. Despite, many other guests we felt we had our own little island. The hotel was used and our room showed wear but was clean and neat. The service was prompt and the staff helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu/Nepal and Boston/Honolulu/Italy
Jul 26, 2011

An "Okay" place to stay

Restaurant for breakfast at nearby Cocoanut Market Place was good, the other restaurants were just so-so. We didn't use the pool or swim at the beach at the hotel. We mostly used the hotel for sleeping - went kayaking on the Wailua River, swimming and snorkeling up on the North Shore, and took an incredible helicopter ride over on the west side. The hotel was near the airport, which was handy. There wasn't much in the way of hotel amenities - one prepackaged coffee for 4 cups. We did get orange juice, bagels, etc. to bring back to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kayaking on the Wailua River nearby. Swam at the waterfall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oahu, hi
Jul 25, 2011

Great Relaxing little hotel

Great little hotel, modernized rooms, microwave, fridge and sink in our room was nice so we didnt have to eat out every nite. GREAT central location to everything. i saw alot of people "dis" this hotel cause you "couldnt swim on the beach" its not just this hotel, Kauai in general has VERY very rough waters since it is not sheltered from the other islands, you pretty much cant swim at any beach on kauai. its a great little beach for hanging out and getting a tan, in the evening my husband and i laid out on the louge chairs on the beach and sipped our champain it was WONDERFUL. BRING a Sweater though Kauai gets breezy at night :) HAVE A GREAT STAY at this hotel, were already looking to go back ourselves :) (the only reason i didnt give this hotel 5 stars was the construction going on and the lack of pool towels. if you werent there right at 9 am when they started handing them out you didnt get a clean one. we had our pool towels for 3 days)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do the Captian Andy's zodiac tour of the na pali coast line. SERIOUSLY it was the most fun we had and we did alot of activities, WELL WORTH THE MONEY!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 18, 2011

Wonderful

The room was just fine for us. As a senior, they upgraded us to a first floor room that faced the pool and the ocean. We grilled out at the pool gas grill and the hotel even provided utensils for the grill. We really enjoyed our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fremont, CA
Jul 18, 2011

Perfect Place to call home in Kauai

Second time we've stayed here, would definitely stay again. The kitchenettes are crucial for avoiding eating out every meal, BBQs near pool available to guests free of charge (they even have seasonings!). Not a over-the-top resort and spa, just a clean and comfortable place to rest after a day exploring the most beautiful island in hawaii!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Bobby V's, rent a beach cruiser and surfboards from Eastside Cruisers, and do a Na Pali Coast tour through Captain Andy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel Young
Business
Idaho falls ,ID
Jul 12, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price"

had a great time would go back loved the little bar at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Every thing was within driving or walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jul 7, 2011

Great Location

Housekeeping did a great job. Room cleaned daily. I felt very safe, hotel staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farrellfam
Business
Union, MO
Jul 1, 2011

Nice Location

My husband and I hopped over to Kaui from visiting family on Oahu for an overnight trip. We drove from one end of the island to the other so we spent very little time at the hotel. The pool was small but nice and the bar at the pool served good drinks. The beach and ocean scenery were beautiful and the grounds were well kept and clean. The room smelled a little musty but it was very clean and had a nice little kitchen area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top