$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
583 out of 583
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ween
Business
Idaho
Oct 6, 2011

Great price for a hotel on the beach

We stayed here for nine nights on our honeymoon. The staff upgraded us to an ocean view room. We loved the central location of the hotel: close to stores and restaurants, and the east shore location made both Poipu and Hanalei not too far of a drive. We appreciated having the hotel on the beach. We could watch sunrises, sunbathe, go to the pool, go to the room to take a nap...everything was right there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JW00
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 1, 2011

Basic, but works as an inexpensive getaway

Nothing special but it's an inexpensive place to crash on Kauai. As other reviews have said, make it your base of operations for exploring the island. Only thing about the room that drove us a bit nuts was the tiled floor...there seemed to always be sand on it, no matter how many times the room service folks vacuumed or mopped it...and with barefeet the sand stuck, and, well, it can get everywhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tutu's ...fresh, pure goodness... best breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPandNP
Business
Morristown, TN, USA
Sep 30, 2011

Great Motel Without the Fuss

I have no complaints about this deal. The grounds and room were well maintained and nice. We were happy to get a super great value by choosing this hotel with no restaurant. We had an empty frig and a microwave. The coffee they provided was excellent and we could walk across the parking lot to the coconut mkt. place for eateries, shopping, and supplies. The location on the east shore was perfect for us. I would stay here again . Staff was helpful and prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The safeway market is just a few red lights away, A great stop for cooler fill ups on the way to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sparkygirl68
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Sep 28, 2011

Location

Great spot in the middle of the island. Cheap and fairly comfortable. Beach sucks tho but most do on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Wahooo restaurant..great service, fair prices and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deezel
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 23, 2011

great room, great price

Our first priority: a clean room (I've been let down so many times before) was met. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We got the ocean front rooms and the ocean was so close it sang us to sleep at night. The tiki bar was convenient for drunkening without risks of driving back to the hotel. The price was stunningly low given all the above. The only down side was the bar closed at 10pm and there was no restaurant in the hotel (though there were several in walking distance).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RomanH
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Awesome!

Clean. Beautiful. Our second stay at Islander. We'll go again for sure! Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
solstice777
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 8, 2011

Great hotel, prime and quitet location

Hotel was right on the beach, very clean, even though furniture was a bit old. Very quiet rooms. Grounds were perfectly landscaped and maintained, pool was great, staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The ocean could be a little rough for swimming, but most days was OK. Plenty of dining and shopping options around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel had an Aloha book with great discounts. We scored a 2-for-1 island Air Tour and several restaurant coupons.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunky
Business
Boston, ma
Sep 1, 2011

Kapaa Vacation

Very friendly staff, room right on the beach. I would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SSKrebs
Business
Corvallis, OR, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Last night in Kaua'i

We checked into this hotel for our last night in Kaua'i and at first the front lady seemed kind of short w/ us b/c I was under the impress that we had a full ocean view but in fact we only had a partial. But our stay there was nice and checking out was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a fantastic sushi place down the street call Kintaro. If you are a sushi lover you will have to go and try their sushi! The best one is call Bali High Bomb which is a sushi not a drink! It's the best!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DreDay
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

2nd stay; even better than the 1st! Excellent Value!

This was my 2nd stay at the Islander, and it was even better than my first stay several years ago. The hotel is "centrally" located to all the sights (North, South, West sides) of the island. It's oceanfront grounds are well maintained, and the pool area is very nice as well. They also have outdoor stainless grills they can be utilized by guests, for a fun and relaxing outdoor meal. Don't forget the "The Sand Bar" by the pool; great drinks and good times! This hotel is very nice, and very comfortable. Don' t get me wrong; this is not a deluxe resort; but an excellent value for a very nice, centrally located, oceanfront property. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monico's Taqueria - ood solid mexican food; Small Town Cafe - coffee and light breakfast; Kountry Kitchen - hawaiian greasy spoon diner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top