$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 30, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
531 reviews
Great location

This hotel was a great location to explore the island. It was clean and the staff was great. The... See full review

  • Newest
  • Sep 9, 2014
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired dcor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make the Aston Islander on the Beach the most enticing retreat on Kauai. Free parking and high speed internet in all rooms available.

Aston Islander on the Beach will be undergoing roofing enhancement project from March 3 to November 21,2014. The Aston Islander on the Beach team will do everything possible to ensure your comfort. The following measures will be taken to minimize the impact of this project on the guest experience: Work will be done Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. " 4:00 p.m. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (531)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
531 out of 531
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hippy2981
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Quite good for the money

since hotel is in kapaa which is located to the east, north shore and west shore drives take same time (highways do not loop the island). room itself is clean but the lanai was not. rusty AC and filled with bird feces. Nihau & Kauai buildings very close to the beach. awesome view for sunrise. Nihau building does not have obstructing trees, Kauai building might have some. Molokai might have somewhat good views. higher floors have better views (3rd floor is highest). no elevators though. free wifi, microwave, fridge. no free breakfast but get some from nearby foodland or walmart. this is still fine sunrise can be enjoyed from the lanai. housecleaning does not do dishes. overall, it's a quite good for the money. 4/5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
5541 John
Business
Prescott, AZ, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Good Time

A great place to stay. Good location. It is starting to show some age, which is OK with me. Parking was free. Only cloud was an "optional Resort fee". I'm sure by next year it will be required.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go up the road at Foodland or Safeway and get some Ahi Tuna and make it on the grill at the hotel. It doesn't get any better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Hawaii
Business
Sun City, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Fun in the sun...

We upgraded to an oceanfront room just feet from the ocean. The room was nice and we had a kitchenette area with a microwave, toaster, coffee pot and sink. The bed was very comfortable. We had a table with two chairs on our lanai. The air conditioner was remote controlled and worked great. We also went to The Sand Bar by the pool for drinks a few nights. We wanted to go in the jacuzzi but some couples would take it over for 2 hours each night. Time should be limited there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Scotty's Barbeque by the Sea. The food is wonderful. It is open air with a great view of the ocean. We also liked Chicken in a Barrel and took it back to the hotel and ate on our lanai next to the ocean. For just a great burger go to Bubba's. They have more than one location around the Island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
howiek6
Business
Grand Haven, MI, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Kauai is beautiful

The hotel it self was comfortable but nothing really out standing about it. On the other hand a comfortable bed is all you need, the island is GREAT and little time will be spent at the hotel. There are the most beautiful sun rises to view from the ocean view rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The resort to the north has the best food and mai tai's ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Dec 8, 2011

Affordable With Above and Beyond Location

This is our seventh visit at the Islander. We have enjoyed each time...thus, the return. Reason? Quiet, ON the beach, near everything commercial you could want, very restful. My wishes... newer lawn furniture; towel access made a bit easier.... pretty minor concerns, however. IF we can return to Kauai, plan to call the Islander again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent pizza... Brick Oven in Kapa'a

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sydney NSW, Australia
Oct 29, 2011

25th Anniversary Getaway

Not a bad place except for the parking. Once you had parked your car you didn't want to move your car in fear that you wouldn't find another one. Which put a dampener on the exploration of the island. Grounds were well kept but the buildings were in need of tender loving care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kauai lover
Business
Texas
Oct 25, 2011

We'll be back!

This was our second stay at Aston Islander. This is a comfortable place that is very budget friendly. It is clean, neat and well appointed, although it is not extravagant by any means. The grounds are lovely and there is easy beach access with a nice walking trail along the beach. What we enjoy most is that it is centrally located on the island. It's an easy drive to Hanalei or Waimea. We will definitely stay there again, and we have sent numerous friends there as well. Parking is the only problem, but the staff is very accommodating and we never had a problem finding a spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This trip we found "Trees". A cute bar that also serves very good food. Has live music too. It's very close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJones
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Kauai Trip

This hotel is nothing fancy, but it has a great location on the east side and had a wonderful bar and pool area. Sunrise was great along the beach and the marketplace next to the hotel was a great place to shop and grab a quick bite to eat. Staff was helpful and Teena at the hospitality desk had valuable hints on what to do and suggestions for activities throughout the island. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Scotty's Beachside BBQ- Kapaa. Great view and fantastic food and drinks Staff was the best on the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quiconque
Business
Oakland, California
Oct 9, 2011

Nice hotel in a good location, but...

In a good location on Kauai. Although the adjoining beach is not swimmable, you don't have to go far to find a great one. Room was nice and had a fantastic view of the ocean. But parking was completely inadequate. The patrons of a nearby nightclub and restaurant completely monopolized on all the parking Friday, Saturday, and Sunday nights during my stay. (Even though guests receive a free parking pass, it doesn't guarantee a spot. And the staff does not enforce the guests-only parking rules).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Whaler's General Store in the Coconut Marketplace next to the hotel is open late and has just about everything you could need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
queyuri
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 8, 2011

good for sweet date

nice location and reflex! !!!_ we love to come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top