$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
540 reviews
jarek

Great time in this hotel ,this is 3 times we visited ,very convenient location to North side and... See full review

  • jarek h.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great stay

Nice hotel a little dated. Friendly staff. Nice for the price See full review

  • Ron R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (540)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
540 out of 540
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manzhi
Business
Shanghai, China
Feb 5, 2012

excellant choice for family

The rooms are equipped with a mini pantry, providing microwave oven, toast oven, and a big fridge, which made it very convenient if you just want to prepare your own breakfast or dinner. Would definitely recommend it! The only down side is that the beach is not really suitable for swimming (not sure if it is because of the winter season though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
we love Kauai
Business
Canton, GA, USA
Feb 1, 2012

Wonderful Vacation

This hotel is in the perfect spot to quickly get to both the north and south shore of the island. It is located right behind the Coconut Market Place which has some nice shops, a farmers market on Tuesday, a free hula show on Wednesday night, and Eggberts (which is a great place for pancakes!) We strongly recommend doing the Napalali Coast tour by Catamaran, Port Allen is only 45 minutes away from this hotel. Thankfully we booked early enough that we avoided the $10 per night amenity fee, but overall we enjoyed our experience at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kauai Traveler
Business
Maryland
Jan 29, 2012

Nice Resort, Parking limited

Very nice resort but experience spoiled by lack of parking in the evening. Ample parking available in neighboring resort but you will need to find security personnel to issue temp parking pass every evening. Recommend resort issue parking pass for overflow parking upon arrival since they are aware that parking is an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elaine M
Business
Bend,Oregon
Jan 27, 2012

Repeat visit

Same great room as last year(by request) Staff was great,love the location.Maybe you could heat the pool for us older visiters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't need to go to fancy restaurants for great food. Lots of great little places close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls Trip 2012
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Jan 16, 2012

Girls Trip

Very quiet, comfortable, relaxing Hotel. Lot's of shopping and dining within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of different places to eat within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robot1
Business
SFO
Jan 9, 2012

Stay was nice

Hotel is pretty close to the beach, but ofcourse beach is not so great. Food options are close by. Free WIFI. Overall good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thanh
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Perfect place for a family vacation.

Convenience location. Close to the beach. I will come back again with my family. I like it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
thesilk1
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

our piece of paradise

we returned to islander on the beach, as we honeymooned here six years ago our room was one floor below the room we had then this time,. Both have the best "partial ocean view" imaginable. The place to come for a romantic tranquil, vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bobby v's pizzeria's, delicious extensive all you can eat breakafast buffet only $6.99 . His Italian fare was also excellent .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cuz'n Eddie
Business
Aurora, CO, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Pure Relaxation

I paid a little extra for an ocean front room, and I was thrilled that I did! I spent many hours just sitting and letting the sounds and sights of the magnificent Pacific soothe me. The location of the hotel was truly convenient. I was checked into my room within an hour of landing on Kauai, and both west and north coasts were within an hour's drive. There were quite a few excellent hikes and other activities close by as well. The staff were all helpful and friendly; they truly seemed to want me to enjoy my stay. All in all, I had a fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend the Aston Islander on the Beach to friends or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hippy2981
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Quite good for the money

since hotel is in kapaa which is located to the east, north shore and west shore drives take same time (highways do not loop the island). room itself is clean but the lanai was not. rusty AC and filled with bird feces. Nihau & Kauai buildings very close to the beach. awesome view for sunrise. Nihau building does not have obstructing trees, Kauai building might have some. Molokai might have somewhat good views. higher floors have better views (3rd floor is highest). no elevators though. free wifi, microwave, fridge. no free breakfast but get some from nearby foodland or walmart. this is still fine sunrise can be enjoyed from the lanai. housecleaning does not do dishes. overall, it's a quite good for the money. 4/5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top