$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
536 reviews
Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and... See full review

  • Lizards
  • Nov 23, 2014
Nice and clean, free parking

Very nice place to stay in. We had an ocean view room which was amazing for having breakfast on the... See full review

  • Sofiene B
  • Oct 22, 2014
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (536)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
536 out of 536
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rolling Stones
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 11, 2012

Great hotel for the frequent traveler

This hotel is an average, beachfront, comfortable hotel for couples. The beach is not generally a swimming beach unless ocean conditions are very calm. Closest good swimming beaches are Anini Beach which is reef protected but has few ammenities and Kalapaki beach in front of the Marriott between the airport and Nawiliwili harbor. However, my wife and I are no longer intereseted having a excellent swimming beach at our doorstep. The beach is nice for lounging and the hotel pool area is beachfront and quite nice. Our room, 336 in the Lanai building had a pool and oceanview. Avoid the Molokai building as it backs up to a large hedge and another, not so nice, hotels balconies. The other builings have wide open space around them and the grounds are very well kept and tropical. The room was clean and comfortable for 2 people. We may have just had very respectful people around us but we never heard noise from the adjoining rooms. The water pipes are another thing. They are quite loud. We were on the 3rd floor so we avoided and noise from above. No elevators though. The sofa would make into a bed as well but the room would be quite cramped for more than two. There is only one small closet and dresser. The bed was a pedestal type so there was no where to store the empty suitcases. A mico, refer and sink were nice for small in room meals. Food is quite expensie on the Island. There are no large grocery stores excpt for Costco or Wal-mart but you can find everything needed. The hotel location is ideal if you plan to explor the Island. Since the road doesn't go all the way around the Island, being in the middle allows the best access as traffic can sometimes be bad on the one main road. The parking is free but very limited at night. For a good meal and great beach just head down to the Kaui Marriott and Kalapaki Beach. The beach is protected and great for swimming and stand up paddle boarding. There is grass, palm tress and sand. Don't miss Happy Hour at Duke's right there on the beach. 4-6 pm, Cheap drinks and $8 burgers with an incredible view. Or after 5 pm, eat upstairs at Duke's with an even better view. They have a great Salad Bar for 14.99 but all meals include the salad bar and for just $4 more you get the Hawaiian chicken entree and salad bar. Food is expensive as I said before and trust me for the atmosphere and view this is a great bargain. Make a 5pm reservation, check-in 5 or 10 min before 5 and request a table right on the balcony edge!! Reserv. recommend as this deal is no secret, even among the locals, and this is also part of the Marriott which is very big and busy. You can park up top in the Marriott lot for free as long as you don't leave your car overnight and Duke's has free Valet in the back as well. We ate there 3 times. We never found a great breakfast place. They were all just average or good food but bad service as in the "Ferral Pig". Even the local places were just ok and they all had about the same prices. $8 to $14. The cheapest breakfast buffet we found was $19 and not worth the money for the few items. The Marriott was $24 but we didn't even go look at it. If your staying at your hotel all day and have to have a swimming beach, you may want a nicer place but you'll pay dearly for it. However, if your off exploring the Na Pali coast, kayaking, swimming, shopping, like us, this is a great value. We rarely interacted with the front desk but when we did they were nice and helpful. Beach towels have to be checked out and if your leaving early on an excursion, get them the night before. They only have towels from 9am to 6pm. and can run out early. Those who like to complain can always fiind something wrong at any hotel this one is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

As I said before, Happy Hour at Duke's 4-6pm is a great bargain for drinks and food right on the beach. Dinner upstairs with a fantastic view was also worth the money. Parking free at Marriott.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vanessa425
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 11, 2012

Stay here if you don't want to stay in!

On our vacation to Kauai, my husband and I had a goal to not get stuck at our hotel and to get out every day and explore the island, hike, enjoy the local beaches, and really just take in the experience for the week. This hotel is a perfect match if you want this type of vacation. It's not fancy and there are few amenities (small pool and you can't swim at the ocean there), so you aren't stuck at a big resort all day. We also liked that this place had a kitchenette and outdoor grills. We spent one night cooking out and just enjoying the weather. The location is also great, you can be anywhere on the island in a short period of time, and it's convenient to many restaurants, unlike most of the resort areas. That being said, if you want the big resort experience and just to live at a manicured beach or pool, this hotel probably isn't the place for you. It's probably not the best with kids either since the pool is small and there aren't many kid friendly activities on property. However, if you want to enjoy the island and are just looking for a small hotel in an excellent location, this is a great value. I gave it 4 stars because it was perfect for the type of vacation we had in mind, and not necessarily the amenities or the property itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ono Family Restaurant and Kountry Style Kitchen, both in Kapaa, serve amazing and inexpensive breakfasts. Try the pancakes with coconut syrup!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CMC928
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 9, 2012

Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The garden-like grounds were a treat, and the rooms were spacious, with plenty of clothing storage, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with free coffee. The bathroom was large, clean, and had a huge storage cabinet. It is in a great centralized location, so you can head north or south/west easily. Located next to a cool little shopping center, with inexpensive tasty little places to eat, and near a Safeway so you can buy groceries. I'm very surprised this rates only a 3-star average with others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunrisehonuboy
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great getaway

We booked 5 days before we took off and had a great trip. The hotel was great! This is a condo style place that had very economical room that were beautiful, clean, and close to the water. We barbecued almost every night with the folks tha we met there and had a blast. The staff was generally nice bit had a little attitude when we asked if they would unclog our toilet. From our parial ocean view room we heard the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. It put us asleep every night. The only thing that would keep me from coming back is that the ocean in front is too rough for swimming and that there are rocks everywhere. I like to swim in the mornings and snorkel. Kapaa is a great town. Go too Pono market for good polo and mermaids for great seared ahi wraps. Overall an amazing trip! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy drinks at cost u less and mix your own at the hotel. The bar is expensive!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larsondmj
Business
Lakeville, MN
Apr 4, 2012

Nice quiet location

We really liked this hotel and didn't want to leave. It was so quiet! All we heard in the morning were the birds and the waves (birds not chickens). We watched the whales from the balcony each morning from our oceanfront room. The pool was a little small but we didn't have much time to spend there anyway. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The grounds were very clean and well kept. The room was just what we needed, nothing fancy, but it was a great location to visit all parts of the island. It was right behind the coconut mrktplc which was handy for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a little shopping. There is a store that has a few grocery items if needed. They had outdoor grills you can use and a nice little bar. You can't swim on the beach there, but it was still nice to walk on or sunbathe. Would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby luau was really a fun evening. The location, food and entertainment were really good. There are two or three grocery stores about 1 1/2 miles to the east of the hotel, plus shopping and a few restraunts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arashh
Business
Hawaii, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Medium hotel

We didn't have hot water for 3 days, and the power was gone for one whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some dining places in Kappa close to hotel by Foodland and Safeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dindin
Business
Salt Lake City , Utah
Mar 23, 2012

Good value

Clean, comfortable bed, liked small fridg, microwave, sink and dishes. Beach not much, but like most others. BBQ available at poolside. Resort fee is simply an increased per day cost. Never used included DVD rental, used newspaper to catch sand from shoes. Missed carpeted floor, but understand about the sand from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish hut in coconut shopping center (200 feet away)was recommended by a local, and we agree. Nothing special, but good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grig
Business
NJ
Mar 22, 2012

Good value on Kauai

Hotel located in a great spot and is a terrific value for families. The staff is very friendly and rooms are big. However, it clearly needs upgrading,especially bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellah
Business
Lindstrom, MN
Mar 14, 2012

March at the Islander

We stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach for 8 nights. Overall I would recommend this hotel. For the money you cannot beat this hotel. It is centrally located between the north and south shores. The hotel is older, but well kept. They do not have all the amenities you would find at a Hyatt, but who needs them. The rooms are equipped with a small kitchenette area that includes silverware, plates, bowls, knives, cutting boards, etc. This was nce to have as we ate at the hotel a few nights. I would recommend paying the extra money and getting an ocean front. It's not too much more money, and definitely worth it! I liked the fact the hotel was much quieter compared to your larger resorts. It was easy to kick back and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatsup
Business
MN
Mar 13, 2012

Not that great!

This hotel was not that great. The room smelled very musty even after we turned on the air conditioner. The room cleanliness was also not great. I had to wipe down everything in the room since there was an inch of dust upon check in. They do have laundry facilities on site, however, they are very strict on when they open and close the room. They were down 1 washing machine and 2 dryers so you had to wait for machines. I had laundry in the dryer and was told to leave it so they could lock the door at 10pm. I would recommend staying in poipu for a much better experience. Better hotels and better restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top