$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
541 reviews
jarek

Great time in this hotel ,this is 3 times we visited ,very convenient location to North side and... See full review

  • jarek h.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great stay

Nice hotel a little dated. Friendly staff. Nice for the price See full review

  • Ron R.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (541)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
541 out of 541
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JTGR
Wisconsin
Jan 4, 2013

Lovely time

The Aston Islander on the Beach is a lovely place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabox82
Business
Tijuana, México
Aug 17, 2012

Very enjoyable experience

We arrived at the hotel after a 10 minute taxi cab ride from the airport (very convenient location). We were very happy on the size and look of the hotel, it was nicer than what we had originally expected. Upon registering we were informed that we received a slight upgrade to a semi-ocean view room, which was nice. Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. Big, comfortable bed with sofa, ample bathroom, kitchenette and a balcony. The only negative thing I would say about the hotel would be the fact that we needed to bring a laptop in order to make use of internet access in our room. We needed to go to the lobby and make use of the wifi there on our phones. Not too big of a deal but still a tad annoying. Very pleasantly surprised was the fact that the bathroom had a closet with some helpful extras (I imagine some of them were provided by the hotel and others were left by previous guests) like travel guides, dishes, boogie board, aloe vera, sunscreen, etc. While the beach was not the best one we experienced in our stay in Kauai (rough waves, lots of rocks) it was still great that we had such easy access to our own beach. Do bring watershoes along though! Overall, we were very satisfied with our hotel and our experience there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If staying in Islander on the Beach, a visit to the Hukilau Lanai restaurant is a must. Very short distance from the hotel, this fancy restaurant offers great food and setting. Just make sure to make reservations before you get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erijen
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 13, 2012

Awesome resort!

Great resort right on the beach, friendly staff, close to stores, famers markets with fresh fruit and souvenier shopping! Only 15 mins to the Lihue airport and close to adventure excursions like tubing, ziplining, luaus and more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter for a few days and travel the island, its slower but you get great views of the island and can drive past all the traffic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Team V
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 12, 2012

Family Vacation

The hotel was in a great location to see the entire island. Hotel had a market place next door which was nice. Hotel staff at front desk were not friendly or helpful at all. We had read about the front desk staff before our trip so we expected this. Another big point for us was that none of the ice machines at the hotel ever worked, kind of important when in a area that drinks get cold very quickly. Parking was challenging when arriving late to hotel. Probably would find another hotel for our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evil S
Business
Portland, Oregon
Jul 29, 2012

Clean but not well kept.

The grounds and surrounding area of the hotel are immaculate however the rooms are old and visible rust and mold/mildew on the curtains and air conditioner make you question the upkeep. The location is the best in Kapaa and the staff, for the most part is very nice. We did have a issue with the resort fee not being credited after paying but that was worked out. They were upgrading the rooms to wi-fi while we were staying and they came in the room once and called 3 times?! to try to come in to do the install. Not sure what the resort fee actually covers, in anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Al Pastor in Kapaa (a food cart) has the best, by far, Ahi tacos we've ever eaten.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Expatriate in Hawaii
Business
O'ahu
Jul 13, 2012

Great short break

Visited here from a neighbor island. Second experience at this hotel and was not disappointed. Far superior to Waikiki and much more low key. Ideal place just to relax and centrally located for trips to both ends of the island. Welcoming staff, quiet location, and good facilities. Small but lovely pool, hot tub, and poolside bar. I was upgraded to an ocean front room which was great but have stayed in garden view room before which are also good. Great value for money. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oregon Vacationer
Business
Oregon
Jun 7, 2012

Great Value Getaway

The hotel was clean and well kept. The pool was good and kept neat and tidy. The staff was pleasant and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Emsav
Business
Verona, Italy
Jun 4, 2012

Very nice place to stay

My wife and me stayed at this accomodation on May 2012. We felt like home, and the location was strategic. If we'll go to Kauai, another time Aston Islander !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A senior traveler
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 1, 2012

A nice place to stay.

Nice grounds, on the ocean, decent room. Not great, but would certainly recommend and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice shopping next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the Hikers
Business
orange, California
May 28, 2012

great location and price

Friendly staff. Liked that dishes, silverware and cleaning supplies were provided. Microwave was very handy. Kapa'a is in the center if everything so the drive to our destination was never long. The coconut marketplace is handy for lunches and extra coffee. The $10 amenities resort fee is bogus - didn't even use the TV or DVD rentals. Pool, hot tub and BBQ area was always clean. We paid the extra $ for ocean view and technically didn't have one - you need 3rd floor or one if the 2 beach facing buildings. Overall - we will be staying here again and again. Its very convenient and for the price - i can't really complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kileau fish market and pono market place - best ahi wrap and poke ever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ExplorersJPCD
Business
Portland, OR
May 12, 2012

Great Stay

We stayed for a week and really enjoyed having coffee/toaster/refrigerator/microwave in the room - saved money on not having to eat out every meal. Met friendly travelers at the community grills. Great place for those not looking for the full resort package. Oceanfront was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top