$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
887 reviews
Great place!

We got derailed from our camping plans due to rain & lucked out getting a room here. The staff is... See full review

  • MGray
  • Feb 23, 2014
Wonderful stay.

Room was as described. Nice partial ocean view. Easy access to the beach. Two double beds. Quite... See full review

  • Dog 22
  • Nov 18, 2013
Utterly relaxing condo haven on the east shore of Kauai
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)
Attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Policies and fees
Aston Islander on the Beach is under roofing enhancement project until July 25. Work is from Monday through Friday, 9am - 4pm. The project includes replacing the roof and lanai columns. Construction schedules will be staggered to minimize disruption. Guests will not be placed in buildings undergoing renovation.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0549 -159.3295
Area served
Kapaa-Kauai HI
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Municipal
Area description
Located adjacent to popular Coconut Marketplace for shopping and dining. Nearby recreational and leisure activities include, golfing, snorkeling, tennis and more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 311 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (887)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
887 out of 887
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CMC928
Seattle, WA
Apr 9, 2012

Beautiful grounds, spacious rooms

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The garden-like grounds were a treat, and the rooms were spacious, with plenty of clothing storage, fridge, microwave, and coffee maker with free coffee. The bathroom was large, clean, and had a huge storage cabinet. It is in a great centralized location, so you can head north or south/west easily. Located next to a cool little shopping center, with inexpensive tasty little places to eat, and near a Safeway so you can buy groceries. I'm very surprised this rates only a 3-star average with others!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunrisehonuboy
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Great getaway

We booked 5 days before we took off and had a great trip. The hotel was great! This is a condo style place that had very economical room that were beautiful, clean, and close to the water. We barbecued almost every night with the folks tha we met there and had a blast. The staff was generally nice bit had a little attitude when we asked if they would unclog our toilet. From our parial ocean view room we heard the sound of the waves crashing on the shore. It put us asleep every night. The only thing that would keep me from coming back is that the ocean in front is too rough for swimming and that there are rocks everywhere. I like to swim in the mornings and snorkel. Kapaa is a great town. Go too Pono market for good polo and mermaids for great seared ahi wraps. Overall an amazing trip! Aloha

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy drinks at cost u less and mix your own at the hotel. The bar is expensive!

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larsondmj
Lakeville, MN
Apr 4, 2012

Nice quiet location

We really liked this hotel and didn't want to leave. It was so quiet! All we heard in the morning were the birds and the waves (birds not chickens). We watched the whales from the balcony each morning from our oceanfront room. The pool was a little small but we didn't have much time to spend there anyway. Everyone was very nice and helpful. The grounds were very clean and well kept. The room was just what we needed, nothing fancy, but it was a great location to visit all parts of the island. It was right behind the coconut mrktplc which was handy for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a little shopping. There is a store that has a few grocery items if needed. They had outdoor grills you can use and a nice little bar. You can't swim on the beach there, but it was still nice to walk on or sunbathe. Would definately stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The nearby luau was really a fun evening. The location, food and entertainment were really good. There are two or three grocery stores about 1 1/2 miles to the east of the hotel, plus shopping and a few restraunts.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Arashh
Hawaii, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Medium hotel

We didn't have hot water for 3 days, and the power was gone for one whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are some dining places in Kappa close to hotel by Foodland and Safeway.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dindin
Salt Lake City , Utah
Mar 23, 2012

Good value

Clean, comfortable bed, liked small fridg, microwave, sink and dishes. Beach not much, but like most others. BBQ available at poolside. Resort fee is simply an increased per day cost. Never used included DVD rental, used newspaper to catch sand from shoes. Missed carpeted floor, but understand about the sand from the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fish hut in coconut shopping center (200 feet away)was recommended by a local, and we agree. Nothing special, but good

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grig
NJ
Mar 22, 2012

Good value on Kauai

Hotel located in a great spot and is a terrific value for families. The staff is very friendly and rooms are big. However, it clearly needs upgrading,especially bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellah
Lindstrom, MN
Mar 14, 2012

March at the Islander

We stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach for 8 nights. Overall I would recommend this hotel. For the money you cannot beat this hotel. It is centrally located between the north and south shores. The hotel is older, but well kept. They do not have all the amenities you would find at a Hyatt, but who needs them. The rooms are equipped with a small kitchenette area that includes silverware, plates, bowls, knives, cutting boards, etc. This was nce to have as we ate at the hotel a few nights. I would recommend paying the extra money and getting an ocean front. It's not too much more money, and definitely worth it! I liked the fact the hotel was much quieter compared to your larger resorts. It was easy to kick back and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Whatsup
MN
Mar 13, 2012

Not that great!

This hotel was not that great. The room smelled very musty even after we turned on the air conditioner. The room cleanliness was also not great. I had to wipe down everything in the room since there was an inch of dust upon check in. They do have laundry facilities on site, however, they are very strict on when they open and close the room. They were down 1 washing machine and 2 dryers so you had to wait for machines. I had laundry in the dryer and was told to leave it so they could lock the door at 10pm. I would recommend staying in poipu for a much better experience. Better hotels and better restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
photo guy
Lititz, PA 17543, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Comfortable and convenient location

I would stay at this hotel again when visiting Kauai. It is on a a quiet and very nice beach. It is centrally located, making it very convenient to all island points of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to bring along your Costco membership card. It will save you a lot of money on snacks, light meals, alcohol purchases and hawaiian shirts.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FancyDan
Petaluma, C
Feb 20, 2012

Fabulous Kauai Vacation

Great Resort even though no restaurant there. Great ones nearby, Trees and Hukilau, plus Coconut Marketplace Fish Hut and BBQ Hut. Sandi Kato the Resort Gen Mgr most accomodating, gracious host. Fabulous room (205) with direct ocean view overlooking the meticulously kept-up grounds and pool which has drink bar from 1:00pm to 9PM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Town of Kapaa is low-key neat country town. If you want quiet commuinity this is the place with lots of good restaurants and grocery stores handy. Trees Restaurant/lounge great food, live entertainment nightly and happy hour every day 5-7pm. Nearby Coconut Market Place has great fresh fish at Fish Hut, plus BBQ Hut also good. Farmers market Tues and Sat, plus Hulu show Weds evening.

Back to menu Return to top