$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Aston Islander on the Beach

3 stars
View map of 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa (Kauai), HI 96746 - 1495

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
494 reviews
Awesome, simply Awesome

Want to sit on a beach with no one around and watch turtles play in the surf? Do you like a local... See full review

  • BILLBENS
  • Jun 24, 2015
Hawaii Trip

The Aston Islander on the Beach was a great hotel. The staff upon arrival was very friendly and the... See full review

  • Zachary S.
  • May 30, 2015
Vacationers looking for nice, affordable beachfront digs in one of the top locations on Kauai will find much to love at Aston Islander on the Beach. Low-key and peaceful, the resort sits on six landscaped acres along a strand of golden sand. Strolling the beach and lounging poolside are pleasant ways to while away vacation days, and sunrise doesn't get much better. Grills are available for guests and the hotel rooms and one-bedroom suites offer home-away-from-home conveniences. The adjacent Coconut Marketplace has dozens of shops and restaurants.
Location
Kauai's Coconut Coast is the most central and convenient for vacationers who want to explore all that the Garden Isle has to offer -- which is to say, a lot. Aston Islander on the Beach is located almost mid-way between Waimea Canyon to the west and the riveting cliffs and dramatic topography of the Na Pali coast to the north. Poipu Beach is about 15 miles southwest. The eastern shore has its own compelling sights, too. Peaceful Wailua River, Wailua Falls, and Kauai Backcountry Adventure's Lihue tubing are just a short drive away.
Dining
There are no on-site restaurant but grills on property offer family cookouts. Guests can walk to restaurants at Coconut Marketplace.
Rooms
Teak furnishings, private lanais, air conditioning and free Internet access give accommodations an inviting island ambiance with contemporary appeal. Aston Islander on the Beach offers 198 units -- hotel rooms to one-bedroom suites -- in the low-rise, walk-up buildings set around the pleasant property.
Property features
The beach at Aston Islander on the Beach is perfect for strolling and sunning and the pool is a peaceful respite from the frenetic world. But sports, sights and restaurants are nearby, allowing guests to choose how to spend their time. Lydgate Beach Park, for example, draws swimmers and snorkelers of all ages to its protected, sandy lagoon, and nearby Wailua Golf Course was named by Golf Digest as one Hawaii's 15 best courses.
Highlights
  • Relaxed oceanfront setting
  • Walking distance to Coconut Marketplace
  • Free in-room Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
Nearby attractions
  • Lydgate Beach Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Kauai Backcountry Adventures (5 mi/8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (9.6 mi/15.5 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (31.4 mi/50.5 km)
  • Waimea Canyon State Park (36.9 mi/59.4 km)
Business
Complimentary Internet access in rooms keeps working guests connected.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (6.2 mi/10 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Islander on the Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Aston Islander on the Beach Rooms

Partial Ocean View Room
Hotel Room Partial Ocean View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Ocean View
Hotel Room Ocean View has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Garden View
Hotel Room Garden View has bedding configuration of 2 double beds and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.
Oceanfront
Hotel Room Oceanfront has bedding configuration of 1 queen bed and 1 sofa bed, and can accommodate up to 4 persons. Rate is for 1-2 guests. Average room size is 372 square feet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Pool Bar
Open 2-8pm, casual, serving beverages and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Islander on the Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
494 out of 494
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BILLBENS
Business
San Diego
Jun 24, 2015

Awesome, simply Awesome

Want to sit on a beach with no one around and watch turtles play in the surf? Do you like a local bar by a pool with nice people surrounding you? Like to hear the ocean all night long as a background noise? If this sounds good to you then book here! If u want 200 people by the pool, a huge lobby, and lots of people on the beach? Then don't book here. We loved every minute here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zachary S.
Business
Saint Peters
May 30, 2015

Hawaii Trip

The Aston Islander on the Beach was a great hotel. The staff upon arrival was very friendly and the rooms were very spacious and clean. It was a great location and I would recommend this hotel as a great deal!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew S.
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

great trip!

best stay, highly recommended! we have been staying for the past ten years and have never been let down. sometimes we come twice a year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Will P.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

The perfect hotel

This was the second time we stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach and it won't be the last time. We love this hotel, they really do make you feel like ohana and I honestly wouldn't stay anywhere else. The bar is great (and there are some awesome characters there too) and they just continue the feeling of enjoying the island. Perfect in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leo
Business
San Jose
Mar 9, 2015

A week long trip

The hotel is decent for the price and is conveniently located. Nothing super fancy there but it's quite enough to stay overnight and keep exploring the island. Cleanliness was generally ok, but I did have to kill a roach in the bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra V.
Business
Harvard
Feb 28, 2015

Clean, safe, well located!

Had a most enjoyable time with our family of four! Had to wait well past check-in time for room to be ready. Other than that, we were very happy with our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ron R.
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great stay

Nice hotel a little dated. Friendly staff. Nice for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time On Kauai
Business
Aston Islander On The Beach, Kauai
Nov 29, 2014

First time stay at Aston Islander on the Beach in Kauai Island

I was charged in full for amenities, the pool and hot tub were out-of-ordered for the entire time I was there. Advertised as High-Speed Internet access & Wi-Fi was too slow to connect to my phone (never get connect). Without the beach I would ask for my full refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach saves my stay. Shopping, grocery store and the beach were walking distance.

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aprilorissa
Business
Wyoming, USA
Nov 23, 2014

Best value

This is our third time staying here. Great value, even with the added per day fee. I challenge you to find a cheaper room that is as nice. Sink, fridge microwave, and grills at the pool keep eating costs down. Great location close to the airport and easy to get to. The staff was pleasant, helpful. I will stay here on my next vacation to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizards
Business
New York, New York
Nov 23, 2014

Ideal for short stays

We stayed here for a night, and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very nice and welcoming. Our room was on the ground floor close to the pool, which was really convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top