$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
291 reviews
OK

As always, it a nice stay... Wish late checkout would be considered for Individuals flight out on... See full review

  • Hugo B.
  • Apr 8, 2015
A Later Arrival

I book room for 1 day --- My question I travel to Kauai Hawaii for 1 night, simply to pick up my... See full review

  • Hugo B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 291
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelerGirl14
Business
East
Sep 1, 2014

The Hawaiian version of the Bates Hotel

Not sure what Aston is planning for this hotel, but it really needs a massive overhaul or to be torn down! The room was dirty and outdated. We had an "ocean view" room, but the windows were too dirty to see the ocean clearly. My favorite was the lobby (it looked sooo nice in the picture) - expect badly stained seating and a sign that warns you from leaning on the badly decomposed, rusty railing overlooking a pond. Seriously Aston? This hotel only hurts your brand reputation - don't fool with people's vacations and be more up front about the hotel (i.e. pictures). Please note-your staff was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jcanfix
Business
Anaheim, California
Nov 20, 2014

Room was not great but price was good.

The room had lizards/geckos running around in it. The cleanliness was not so great. The location was great for walking distance to Lydgate Beach Park, 3 min walk. The staff was great. Hotel needs a major cleaning or makeover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lusoprince
Business
Kearny, NJ, USA
Apr 26, 2014

Review from a frequent traveler

Needs a complete update. 20 yrs ago it would have been ok. Today, it cannot complete. The location is great. Must have ocean view room to distract you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maple Valley, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Garden Rooms

The Aloha Beach Hotel in Kauai, The room I was in was old, thats ok but the smell of old, not ok, I probley wont stay with them again, as for the chickens, they did not bother me,..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maple Valley, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Garden Rooms

The Aloha Beach Hotel in Kauai, The room I was in was old, thats ok but the smell of old, not ok, I probley wont stay with them again, as for the chickens, they did not bother me,..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FCB328
Business
Burlingame, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2014

By the River Hotel

Aston is located just by the banks of Wailua River just before the river meets the sea. Coming from the airport , it shares the road that goes to Lydgate Park/Beach . So it can be tricky if you don't slow down and be attentive. Same thing if you are coming from the north going back to the hotel. Traffic can be heavy during commute hours. They have counter flow lanes in the mornings on weekdays. The place is indeed in need for some major improvements. You can notice that even the towels are worn down. The exercise room was really unusable. The free fruit plate for breakfast was consist of 4 small pieces of fruit. The location is indeed good. Just 7 minutes from the airport and it is sort of an ideal starting point of you travel north or south of the island. If you like long beach walks and then this is a good place to be. Lydgate park has a long stretch of beach access. Around 3 miles going south. The enclosed protected beach with rock barriers is good for the kids .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue is not too far for take outs. Approximately 3 miles driving north. Free Hula shows at the Coconut Plantation (Also a Whalers Store in the shopping center). Location is on the right side if you are driving north before L&L Hawaiian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal Spirit
Business
Ashland, Oregon
Mar 27, 2011

Beautiful Location

This is a quiet, clean hotel in a beautiful location. It is not fancy, just basic, but for the money, it was a great place for my Spring Break away while my kids were with their father. It is probably busier during the summer, but during March, it was very quiet and when I went to the restaurant for a late dinner before 8:30pm, it was closed for the night. I couldn't even get a bite in the bar. Also, only a few rooms have DSL. There are computers in the lobby with internet, but you have to pay by the minute. As I said, for the money it was fine, but I think next time I'll pay more so I can get more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wahoo Restaurant in Kapaa is incredible. Pricey but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L001
Business
Texas
Oct 12, 2012

A/C and amenities

I made a point to get A/C. It's not as easy to change as I'm accustomed to on the mainland, but I guess they set the thermostat at 85°F. Temperature was a tad cooler in the room when I returned in the afternoon. I'd open the window to the fresh tropical air. A $10/day fee was added for soap, newspaper, DVDnow, Playstation and WiFi. I wasn't in Hawaii for those anyway. The Wi-Fi in the lobby never worked for me. Those were not worth the additional fee. I did use the coffee maker and mini-fridge regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of making a left turn from the hotel during busy traffic, I'd turn right and use the next crossover.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top