$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
373 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Venice, CA
Sep 17, 2009

Basic Hotel, Great Location

Basic hotel, with great access to Lydgate Beach & Park. Our other hotel was in Poipu so it was nice staying in Kapaa because it is a shorter drive to the North Shore. Small bathroom, sleeper sofa is kinda small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free Parking.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robynbird
sc
Nov 21, 2009

could be the best with a little effort

We have stayed here 3 times and we love the location the staff are friendly and the rooms are clean,but the ground are being let go and it is a shame because the flowers and shrubs could be gorgeous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Getaway Student
Oahu, Hawaii
Jan 22, 2013

Toss Up at the Aston Aloha

Just came back from a three day, two night stay at the hotel for the MLK weekend. Granted, while this was a last minute booked getaway from Oahu, I still hoped to actually get the things I paid for. So, I'm not sure who to place the blame on here. I paid a few dollars more with the ocean view and I did not have an ocean view, at all. In fact, they put me toward the poolside view... Nope. The continental breakfast is minimal: juice, a few slices of fruit, and a small pastry... UNLESS you decide to pay the extra $10 for the rest of the selection made available which included sausage, scrambled eggs, cereal, guava juice, orange juice, et cetera. There were some flies around the pastry selection so that sort of freaked me out. My boyfriend and I stuck with the eggs, meat, yogurt, and cereal. I did like the king sized bed! It was just a bummer for us to only find out when we were cleaning out before check out that here were extra pillows in the drawers! Finally, I am not sure where my grey sweater went off to. I had it in the room before the room was cleaned on Sunday and come Sunday afternoon/Monday morning... my piece of clothing was gone. I turned the room upside down hoping to find it, and nothing. Since we were rushing out in the morning, I just didn't want to spend the time of day to ask about who might have taken it... As far as location, I did like how the hotel was reasonably close to both the North and South shore. It took us 25-40 minutes either way. Waimea Canyon is a bit farther but we decided to do that trip first anyway. The parking attendant was awesome! Especially coming back to the hotel later in the evening, they were willing to let us park in the bus parking lots. I sincerely appreciated that. I guess I just paid with my missing grey sweater... However, next time, I would probably stay in the South Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
boise idaho
Jun 8, 2011

great location

Location was great! Room was large - Check-in person was NOT very helpful or overly friendly. However staff on later shift were great. Charges for everything extra, including morning coffee/tea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Sep 3, 2010

Great location/service, Hotel just OK

Good for tourists to relax at night and planning to spend there day outside. Definitely not for people on honeymoon. Surprisingly we found one small flying cockroach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good number of restaurants.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bend,OR
Nov 25, 2010

just ok

Basic accomodations. The staff was nice until I realized I had left my cell phone charger in the room. I went back to the hotel before my plane left to retrieve my charger. They informed me "to come back tomorrow" (that would'nt work since I was about to catch a plane) They said it is the hotel's policy to lock up the lost and found after 5PM everyday and that no one currently on site had a key! That is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard! To make matters worse, as it turned out, One of my flights back home was canceled due to weather and I was stuck with a dead cell phone trying to make other arraingments to get back to Bend,OR. This simple reason and for the simplest of basic hotel functions I definitely would not return. I travel to Kauai 3-4 time a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time Kauai visitor
Sandpoint, ID
Jan 17, 2011

good value for money

The employees were very polite and helpful and I would consider staying there again. The room was kept clean every day. Very close proximity to Lydgate Beach which is wonderful, especially if you have children as it has 2 pools to play, snorkel, etc. without having to worry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickcbo
Washington
Jul 2, 2013

Average place to go

Stay was good, this was our second time and the motel seam to be getting a little more run down each time. Will stay again, good value, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central Illinois
May 30, 2009

Good place for value

Staff very friendly and very helpful when we needed any information. The only thing I wasn't happy with was they charged for the in room coffee, other than that our stay was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Western Canadian
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Feb 1, 2012

Good for the price

Good location, close to Wailua River, close to the beach, windy at the pool, hard and old beds, old and very noisy fridge, heavy window to open, housekeeper ladies were nice and friendly,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top