$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
259 reviews
Good

My experience was great! easy and convinent. Friendly Staff. Nice ocean view from room. I will... See full review

  • Lennylc
  • Nov 22, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Excellent pricing, their in house tour/attractions people were great. Good way to find out things... See full review

  • Mr.DMoore
  • Nov 14, 2014
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 14, 2010

Hawaii

The location and view are amazing but the place needs some TLC. It is an older facility that is in desperate need of some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Island, HI
Jul 21, 2009

Close but not close enough

Just the last night of a week long stay on Kauai, we needed the closest hotel to the airport for a 6:00 a.m. flight and Aston had never disappointed me. Had. Even the elevator in our tower was out of order; good thing our room was lobby level. The furniture in the room looked like it came from a thrift store. The beds were too soft and hard around the edges. I know Aston will renovate the rooms and bring them up to 2000+ quality with in room access to the internet; lobby machines at a minimum of $5.00 to use don't belong in Hawaii hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 7, 2011

A night between 2 timeshare weeks

Elevator sounded like it needed servicing. It was scary! Everything was very basic, plain and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a wonderful lunch at Korean Barbeque and an amazing dinner at Hukilau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elisabeth loves purple
Business
Seattle
Jul 25, 2011

Location is the best part

This hotel is located at Kauai's best beach for children and there is a fabulous park adjacent to the grounds. If the hotel were in better condition it would definitely be expensive. It is a good choice for families that don't mind bugs, dirty floors, and uncomfortable beds. There is a tiny refrigerator (freezer part didn't work)in room and a couple of dishes. Overall, I think the great location and the good price makes this perfect for families willing to overlook shortcomings. We are always thrilled to be back home after staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent park has an area reserved for groups. Each night there was a different event - a luau we were invited to, local dancers practicing for a competition (great fun to watch), and some graduation parties (we weren't invited to these). Also, the park is really fun for kids and has unusual climbing areas, slides, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Craver
Business
Edmonds, WA
Oct 1, 2014

Falling Apart! Surprise Fees!

The website pictures look good, but the actual hotel appears to be falling apart. Half the rooms in our hallway were actually screwed shut because the building is rotting! We couldn't open our sliding door, yet there was a crack big enough to let lizards and the sound of chickens in our room at all hours. The sliding door windows were so dirty that we couldn't even see out our room and this was consistent with all the rooms. The bathroom and room had other people's hair in it and the tiling in the bathroom left much to be desired. Make sure to wear shoes/sandals at all times. The TV was an old-school tube that had bad coloring. The sheets were so used and balled up that it was actually uncomfortable to sleep on them. They also surprised us with an $18 a day amenity fee, which was a joke and actually really annoying. The only thing they offer are free movie rentals, which doesn't make sense since we're there to see the island. The only thing this place has going for it is the location. It has nice access to a beach for the price. We actually switched the the Grand Hyatt mid week, which we highly recommend! To sum it all up, if you don't plan on spending any time at the hotel other than sleeping, this makes for a fairly cheap option. Just make sure your lower your expectations so you aren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
Aug 29, 2009

Not too bad for the price

This hotel could be so much nicer with alittle more care.(new carpets, fix leaks in lobby, etc.) Unfortunately,one unfriendly staff person takes away from all the other pleasant workers. The room we were promised was not available and the clerk did not try very hard to make the situation better. The cabin was nice but smelly and air conditioning very noisy. Good location, Good price, Close to a nice beach, Most staff were fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrankyfromBerlin
Business
Canada or Germany
Nov 25, 2010

beautiful view

The Hotel was good nothing special but no bad surprises, too. It was a nice time. The only bad thing there was no shuttle from the airport to the Hotel and the Hotel Restaurant was very expensive the beach is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you must do the kayaktour it's a walking distance away from the hotel it is very beautiful to the secret Fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crystal Spirit
Business
Ashland, Oregon
Mar 27, 2011

Beautiful Location

This is a quiet, clean hotel in a beautiful location. It is not fancy, just basic, but for the money, it was a great place for my Spring Break away while my kids were with their father. It is probably busier during the summer, but during March, it was very quiet and when I went to the restaurant for a late dinner before 8:30pm, it was closed for the night. I couldn't even get a bite in the bar. Also, only a few rooms have DSL. There are computers in the lobby with internet, but you have to pay by the minute. As I said, for the money it was fine, but I think next time I'll pay more so I can get more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Wahoo Restaurant in Kapaa is incredible. Pricey but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top