$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Elsinore,Ca.
Mar 3, 2009

Aloha Beach Hotel

When we walked into the Lobby it looked very nice, The staff was friendly and everyone seemed helpful. When we got to the room and you walked in , it had a musty , moldy smell in the room, but it was clean. The hot water is non-existant and all you could hope for was luke warm. The bed was HORRIBLE. Our backs hurt so bad we won't stay here again. I needed to do Laundry before we left it cost me $10.00 for 2 loads. When I got in the elevator, the certificate on it had expired and it looked very torn up inside. The washing machine took $1.75 and the dryers took $1.50 but you have to dry it twice to get things dry. I would not recommend staying here, pay a little extra and stay in a nicer place, you will be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fixing your own food to save money doesn't work here . The groceries are more expensive than if you went out to eat. A gallon of Milk was $7.95

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 14, 2010

Hawaii

The location and view are amazing but the place needs some TLC. It is an older facility that is in desperate need of some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Island, HI
Jul 21, 2009

Close but not close enough

Just the last night of a week long stay on Kauai, we needed the closest hotel to the airport for a 6:00 a.m. flight and Aston had never disappointed me. Had. Even the elevator in our tower was out of order; good thing our room was lobby level. The furniture in the room looked like it came from a thrift store. The beds were too soft and hard around the edges. I know Aston will renovate the rooms and bring them up to 2000+ quality with in room access to the internet; lobby machines at a minimum of $5.00 to use don't belong in Hawaii hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 7, 2011

A night between 2 timeshare weeks

Elevator sounded like it needed servicing. It was scary! Everything was very basic, plain and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a wonderful lunch at Korean Barbeque and an amazing dinner at Hukilau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elisabeth loves purple
Business
Seattle
Jul 25, 2011

Location is the best part

This hotel is located at Kauai's best beach for children and there is a fabulous park adjacent to the grounds. If the hotel were in better condition it would definitely be expensive. It is a good choice for families that don't mind bugs, dirty floors, and uncomfortable beds. There is a tiny refrigerator (freezer part didn't work)in room and a couple of dishes. Overall, I think the great location and the good price makes this perfect for families willing to overlook shortcomings. We are always thrilled to be back home after staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent park has an area reserved for groups. Each night there was a different event - a luau we were invited to, local dancers practicing for a competition (great fun to watch), and some graduation parties (we weren't invited to these). Also, the park is really fun for kids and has unusual climbing areas, slides, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Craver
Business
Edmonds, WA
Oct 1, 2014

Falling Apart! Surprise Fees!

The website pictures look good, but the actual hotel appears to be falling apart. Half the rooms in our hallway were actually screwed shut because the building is rotting! We couldn't open our sliding door, yet there was a crack big enough to let lizards and the sound of chickens in our room at all hours. The sliding door windows were so dirty that we couldn't even see out our room and this was consistent with all the rooms. The bathroom and room had other people's hair in it and the tiling in the bathroom left much to be desired. Make sure to wear shoes/sandals at all times. The TV was an old-school tube that had bad coloring. The sheets were so used and balled up that it was actually uncomfortable to sleep on them. They also surprised us with an $18 a day amenity fee, which was a joke and actually really annoying. The only thing they offer are free movie rentals, which doesn't make sense since we're there to see the island. The only thing this place has going for it is the location. It has nice access to a beach for the price. We actually switched the the Grand Hyatt mid week, which we highly recommend! To sum it all up, if you don't plan on spending any time at the hotel other than sleeping, this makes for a fairly cheap option. Just make sure your lower your expectations so you aren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
Aug 29, 2009

Not too bad for the price

This hotel could be so much nicer with alittle more care.(new carpets, fix leaks in lobby, etc.) Unfortunately,one unfriendly staff person takes away from all the other pleasant workers. The room we were promised was not available and the clerk did not try very hard to make the situation better. The cabin was nice but smelly and air conditioning very noisy. Good location, Good price, Close to a nice beach, Most staff were fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrankyfromBerlin
Business
Canada or Germany
Nov 25, 2010

beautiful view

The Hotel was good nothing special but no bad surprises, too. It was a nice time. The only bad thing there was no shuttle from the airport to the Hotel and the Hotel Restaurant was very expensive the beach is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you must do the kayaktour it's a walking distance away from the hotel it is very beautiful to the secret Fall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top