$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
251 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Mar 14, 2010

Hawaii

The location and view are amazing but the place needs some TLC. It is an older facility that is in desperate need of some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manofleisure
Maui, Hawaii
Aug 21, 2012

Nothing fancy

The hotel needs renovating from top to bottom. It's clean but old and worn, but the location is fantastic. Just don't expect anything, I mean anything, fancy. The TVs in the rooms are old and clunky, not flat screen. I've stayed there before but this time I was dismayed to find that the hotel charges your credit card $10 per day for amenities (a daily newspaper, a coffee pack in the room daily, use of the computer to print your boarding passes, DVD rental with limited selections) whether you use these things or not. Many other hotels include these amenities in the room rate so it seems like you're getting them as a nice gift from the hotel. Aloha Beach should do the same. The Lydgate Beach behind the hotel is a great place for swimming, walking, and finding peace. The snack bar at the Mailie pool is very good, but avoid the hotel restaurant. I would recommend to a friend only with the complete understanding of what he/she is getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigRan
Hawaii
Nov 5, 2009

Once Great Now Tattered

Great Beach and Kids Park adjacent to Hotel. Helpful Friendly Staff. Poor overall Grounds Maintenance. Water features and Ponds grungy. Room Carpets not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lydgate Park and Salt water pools at your feet. Kamalani playground just next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bee3
Portland, OR
Jan 1, 2014

Affordable but lacking a lot

The location was great and the price seemed good enough. We stayed for 18 days and found the food service and housekeeping to be very poor. The breakfast buffet for 12.00 was too expensive. The food was poor. The toaster was not working. It needs to be replaced so a person can at least toast an English muffin. The wait staff was polite and pleasant but they couldn't compensate for the poor food. The rooms were neat but not necessarily the cleanest. The towels were paper thin, housekeeping neglected to leave soap, lotion as needed. One day we returned to see the room was partially done. Another day we returned to find housekeeping forgot hand towels and a bath mat. I also had some cosmetics disappear. The room had a great view. The grounds were nice. The hot tub was nice. This hotel has potential but we would not return for the reasons I talked about. I feel it needs some TLC and simple upgrades like towels and toasters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lyndgate Park is right outside the hotel grounds. Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bee3
Portland, OR
Dec 27, 2013

Needs to be remodeled

The staff was pleasant and the view from our room was awesome. Our room had many many ants, on the floor, desk, and even on our bed. Even thou the ants were obviously there to the cleaning people, they did nothing to get rid of them. The bathroom towels are super thin, so thin you'd like to use two towels but can't because the only supply you with one per person. I've eaten crepes thicker than their towels! We called the hotel specifically requesting a room with a king size bed yet we received a room with two double beds. Why is this so difficult to get straight? Overall all, the hotel really needs to be remodeled (years ago). From the old tube style TV's, to the old hot tubs and tired swimming pools to the rusted away hand rails. It's sad as you can tell it once was a great hotel. Not anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jeffrie
Spokane, WA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Not the Ritz

Check in at 3. Want something to eat and a beverage. Pool bar closed at 3, dining room not open till 5. First strike. Room in on ground level thank goodness cuz upper rooms don't have balconies. Air conditioner barely worked and dirty. No ceiling fan. Peeling paint, slider almost impossible to open, room safe broken. There is no store so did a lot of walking to town 1/2 mile away. The saving grace was the staff who were great. The view was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Coconut Marketplace is about a mile away. Fun shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joey fuzz
santa cruz, CA
Jun 24, 2012

Adequate for 1 night while waiting for other reservations elsewhere

Looked very old and not well maintained. It appeared to appeal to package tour people from overseas, who didn't know any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
clhoulihan
phoenix, AZ
May 29, 2010

the good and the not so good

i would not recommend this hotel until the air conditioning system is replaced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bhijaz
Chino Hills California
Mar 26, 2013

Would NEVER stay again.

Read the reviews and other guest commented on the "good value for what one pays..." I do NOT see any value in my stay. Just glad I had so much going on outdoors that I did not have to stay much in my room. Absolutely disgusted with the room, I had to shower with flip flops on! My friends were OK with the room but I had to disagree. If you are tight on your budget and OK with much below average then it might be ok for you. However, I will definitely be paying more for a better experience. I just want a clean room, that is it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cream City Kauai
Milwaukee, WI
May 5, 2014

Convenient location

For us, the location of the hotel was great. We were only on Kauai for 3 days so we wanted to see things on both the north and south shores. The lady behind the front-desk (Kai I beleive) was awesome. Super friendly and helpful. As for the bad. The room we got was large, but it had an overwhelming mildew smell. Opening the patio door helped but because we were on the first floor the sign posted told us to keep it locked at night. Overall, the rooms need to be updated. The shower was small, but the water pressure was awesome. Overall, it was a place to sleep at night (which for us being on the go the whole three days was fine). Would I go back... probably not. I's shell out a few more bucks for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in Kapa'a and need a good meal, stop at Mermaids (on the main drag). Its a little hole in the wall with no indoor seating, but the food (ahi tuna specialties) were excellent. Hibiscus tea was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search