$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
257 reviews
Good

My experience was great! easy and convinent. Friendly Staff. Nice ocean view from room. I will... See full review

  • Lennylc
  • Nov 22, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Excellent pricing, their in house tour/attractions people were great. Good way to find out things... See full review

  • Mr.DMoore
  • Nov 14, 2014
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan ND
Business
Marina, CA
Apr 24, 2013

Never again

We booked for 5 days but left after two. Probably the worst place i've ever stayed in my life. It's not so much that the place is outdated, but it has paint peeling/chipping, weird stains on walls, the beds were uncomfortable.... this hotel nickel and dimes everything. The continental breakfast was ridiculous. Sure you can upgrade for $5 and $10 but listening to the staff explain this over and over and over to each new guest is a waste of time. It would be cheaper to just provide a better breakfast. The best thing about this place? The staff. They are friendly. Will never stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Find any other place that has a kitchenette. You'll save more money in the long run and eat better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ardmore, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Kauai Aloha Beach Hotel

Room wasn't clean when we checked in. Housekeeping came at all hours of the day, from 9:30am to 3pm to after 4pm. Cleaning was sub-par, toiletries were NOT replaced. It's ridciulous that they will not print out boarding passes for guests! This is why Aloha Beach Hotel is an awful hotel, which I will recommend that my friends and family NEVER visit when they are in Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Dirty Old and Out of Date "Motel"

I don't know how this place got rated so high by some travelers. This place is no better than a Motel 6 in terms of cleanliness and decor. The hallways were filled with trash and dirt. We stayed for 3 days and the same trash and dirt were in the hallway. The first room that we got was horrible, the shower head was coming off, the beds were old and smelly. Worst than some of the 1 star inn that I stayed in college. I would not recommend this place to anyone, especially those travelling with young kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Sep 16, 2009

aston aloha hotel

the hotel was filthy dirty. the pools where filthy. horrible not clean at all. the dining room was filthy. the whole hotel was absolutely digusting. entirely unkept hotel. the aston aloha beach hotel should not be on a travel website the hotel should be shut down by the board of health. i was very angry that i was charged for the hotel and very upset that this hotel was an option on your website. it needs to be removed from the options of hotels. it was horrible!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
belgium,europe
May 10, 2010

dead zone

The hotel is dead there is nothin to do at all the food is very bad and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

nothin in the night just sleeping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilya
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Aston Cockroach Beach Resort

we walked in the cottage and were unpleasantly shocked - dirty popped carpet, older kitchen cabinets and small appliances, weird smell... refrigerator freezes stuff up, bathroom is dirty. we do not usually complain, just take everything as is, but 3 HUGE COCKROACHES running around our room made our stay absolutely unbearable. we called the front desk to report this problem. and you know what they did? they sent a guy with bug spray, who filled our room with this spray so we couldn't breath till the end of the day and he DIDN'T EVEN REMOVE COCKROACH BODIES!!! this is just gross. they didn't even apologize for that. seems like it is an OK event there. we would not go there again. i regret we picked this hotel. it is overpriced for the look you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelerGirl14
Business
East
Sep 1, 2014

The Hawaiian version of the Bates Hotel

Not sure what Aston is planning for this hotel, but it really needs a massive overhaul or to be torn down! The room was dirty and outdated. We had an "ocean view" room, but the windows were too dirty to see the ocean clearly. My favorite was the lobby (it looked sooo nice in the picture) - expect badly stained seating and a sign that warns you from leaning on the badly decomposed, rusty railing overlooking a pond. Seriously Aston? This hotel only hurts your brand reputation - don't fool with people's vacations and be more up front about the hotel (i.e. pictures). Please note-your staff was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bee3
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 1, 2014

Affordable but lacking a lot

The location was great and the price seemed good enough. We stayed for 18 days and found the food service and housekeeping to be very poor. The breakfast buffet for 12.00 was too expensive. The food was poor. The toaster was not working. It needs to be replaced so a person can at least toast an English muffin. The wait staff was polite and pleasant but they couldn't compensate for the poor food. The rooms were neat but not necessarily the cleanest. The towels were paper thin, housekeeping neglected to leave soap, lotion as needed. One day we returned to see the room was partially done. Another day we returned to find housekeeping forgot hand towels and a bath mat. I also had some cosmetics disappear. The room had a great view. The grounds were nice. The hot tub was nice. This hotel has potential but we would not return for the reasons I talked about. I feel it needs some TLC and simple upgrades like towels and toasters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lyndgate Park is right outside the hotel grounds. Very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lusoprince
Business
Kearny, NJ, USA
Apr 26, 2014

Review from a frequent traveler

Needs a complete update. 20 yrs ago it would have been ok. Today, it cannot complete. The location is great. Must have ocean view room to distract you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cream City Kauai
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 5, 2014

Convenient location

For us, the location of the hotel was great. We were only on Kauai for 3 days so we wanted to see things on both the north and south shores. The lady behind the front-desk (Kai I beleive) was awesome. Super friendly and helpful. As for the bad. The room we got was large, but it had an overwhelming mildew smell. Opening the patio door helped but because we were on the first floor the sign posted told us to keep it locked at night. Overall, the rooms need to be updated. The shower was small, but the water pressure was awesome. Overall, it was a place to sleep at night (which for us being on the go the whole three days was fine). Would I go back... probably not. I's shell out a few more bucks for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in Kapa'a and need a good meal, stop at Mermaids (on the main drag). Its a little hole in the wall with no indoor seating, but the food (ahi tuna specialties) were excellent. Hibiscus tea was good too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top