$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reirei
Business
East bay, California
Sep 18, 2013

What you pay is what you get

The hotel was very average. Old tv, old beds. Not the place to go if your looking for a beautiful resort Where you plan on staying the whole time in the hotel eating or playing golf. However, if you just need a decent place to sleep this is the place. It's fairly cheap with a great location. There's also a beach right outside the hotel and complimentary movie rentals which Is a bonus. One thing to keep in mind if you stay here would be to stay in the actual hotel and not their Cottages. The cottages are outside with loose doors so a lot of bugs such as cockroaches, spiders and geckos sneak in. To sum it all up, it was a decent place but would probably look for somewhere else to stay for my next trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ihrtdvntr
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Sep 24, 2013

Good enough for the price.

The location is close to the airport and it's in the middle of the NorthEast (Waimea Canyon) and NorthWest (Princeville & Na Pali Coast) attraction spots. Plus, it is close to the South attraction spots which is Poipu Beach and Old Historic Koloa Town. The hotel is 2 minutes walking distance to a swimmable sea pool at Lydgate Beach Park. The park is very well maintained and clean. It also has 2 miles bike path which is where I ran. The lobby of the hotel is open and no AC but I liked that because you can feel the Kauain breeze and the humid plus it's fresh air. That's the best thing about Kauai; less pollution. The hotel's pool looks clean but the pool floor looked a little nasty because the cement is broken and it seemed like there was mold in it. Why swim at at the pool when the sea is literally a minute away? We booked a prepaid garden view but when we checked in I asked the receptionist if there was an open room for a free upgrade and we got upgraded to an ocean view room. Our room was a decent size. The most important part for us is that as long as the bed is comfortable and clean as well as the restroom. It's good. The room had a fridge with a mini freezer, iron, and coffee maker. No microwave but they said you can rent it. It has a safe box but you have to pay $2. We just placed ours in out luggage and locked it. Nothing was stolen. The bed was very big and comfortable. The sheets were clean and the pillows were soft. I like the white linens. However, the couch and couch pillows looked dirty, moldy and stained. The restroom had enough space between the toilet and the shower. The sink is a one person sink. The shower had good water flow. There was a string in the shower where you can hang your wet clothes. Pretty cool and much needed. There were no stains in the bath stub or sink and the shower curtains were clean. The downside of this stay was that the room smelled moldy. We had to turn off the AC and open the sliding door because it was moistening everything. I think the couch had mold stains too so watch out for that. Another one is that you have to drive out to buy good if u don't want to keep eating at the same restaurant but the drive was not bad because everything was close. Just yelp places to eat. Overall, it was good for the cheap price. A place to sleep into and shower before and after a days hike or an island activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lydgate Beach Park has safe swimming area and bike and running path.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I have the best wife ever
Business
Hawaii
Nov 11, 2013

Wonderful

Staff is Great very helpful very friendly. Rooms are clean. Next to a park and beach. Free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honolulu Cousin
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Nov 18, 2013

For a family get together

We visit Kauai for family gatherings. We usually end up here since it is inexpensive and close to family. The rooms are generally clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. With each visit, we have noticed that they never have enough linens in the room. We always have to call the front desk for more towels and sheets. The reservation asks for the number of people, you would think this information would be used by the hotel to provide the guest with a positive experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Itsypooh62
Business
Waipahu, HI, USA
Nov 19, 2013

Prime Location!!

This Aston property could really be a GEM! It's situated along the Lyndgate Beach Park which is absolutely gorgeous and family friendly. Needs some investment in basic room upkeep such as touch up paint, fumigation (baby roach in bathroom counter second night), tile repaired where safe was taken out. Porte Cochere is rotting away although the lobby is truly hawaiian atmosphere. Awesome ALOHA spirit by staff...... Loved the free movies and internet included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must do: Wailua River / Hike tour........beautiful!! Would definitely do it again.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aimee mom needed a break
Business
Idaho
May 25, 2014

Honeymoon getaway

My husband and i stayed at the aston aloha beach hotel for 13 nights. We upgraded to the ocean view room. It was awsome to be able to open the door and see and hear the ocean. The beach is just a little way from the hotel you can walk down with your stuff. It is a nice beach with tables and bbq stands. There is outdoor showers,and also restrooms. They have a nice big pool sectioned off with rocks so you can swim and snorkle safely also a smaller pool with rock for small children. The hotel employees are very nice. They helped us find our way to some really nice shopping and eating areas. The "free fruit plate" that you got for breakfast was a bit disapointing. But it was good fruit. Breakfast prices were very reasonable though. We enjoyed our stay very much. You have to drive around and find all the little resturants. There is one called tc grill in the coconut market place that is awsome. We ate there several times. It was great food and prices were good to. I would suggest using a travel planner either at the hotel or the one at the coconut marketplace to help you plan your day trips out. They will book them for you. We went on the snorkle boat trip on with blue dolphin charters. It was so awsome. You have to do it. They are great. Feed you we'll and free drinks. We saw dolphins. I loved it. I cant wait to go back again. It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The coconut market place has lots of cheap and really good places to eat. Its close to the hotel also.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AZ Anniversary Couple
Business
Marana, AZ
Jun 7, 2014

great location and staff

The location was perfect and the staff treated us wonderfully. The hotel could use some TLC but the bathroom was clean, and the bed was comfortable and clean. Those were the most important things to us since we didn't spend much time in the room. We were upgraded to an ocean view junior suite for no extra charge so that was really nice and unexpected. The location made it easy to get anywhere on the island so that was great too. For the price, we were happy with this hotel and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Pono Market in Kapaa for spam musubi, sushi and other local foods for a great price!

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thanks Kauai
Business
Portland, Oregon
Feb 24, 2011

Some security issues, but nice staff

Paid for upgrade to an ocean view room. It was ground floor, courtyard with a partial ocean view. The first night someone entered our room while we were sleeping and stole my purse out of a drawer. The hotel did upgrade our room and moved us to the 3rd floor. They bent over backwards to make things pleasant for the rest of our stay. It's not reasonable to expect people to come to Hawaii and keep their doors closed to the fresh air. Some added security measures to the ground floor sliding doors would help others avoid the problem we had. I would not recommend ground floor rooms. We loved being right next to Lydgate Park, but others may find it too close to public activities and noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

91.9 community access radio station was wonderful

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dirt Kahuna
Business
Corunna, Michigan
Dec 7, 2009

Kauai: Close to Heaven On Earth!

The hotel is difficult to locate because there is no clear signage. Once we found it, we were very pleased with the accommodations. The rooms are big, and they each have a refrigerator. The beach is a short walk away,but you really can't swim there because of the debris that blows in from being on the windward side of the island. The hotel location is convenient though, as you are situated right in the middle of everything the island has to offer. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby, but you must pay $1.50 for coffee to use in your in-room coffee maker. Overall, we were pleased with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

During rush-hour, the traffic around the hotel is a nightmare! If you travel before 7:30 am or after 6 pm on weekdays, you will have no trouble getting around. It is only an hour in any direction to the far sides of the island.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Man with a Plan
Business
Florida
Mar 27, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great Location for couples or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Poolside Restaurant/Grill

Back to menu Return to top