$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
239 reviews
OK

As always, it a nice stay... Wish late checkout would be considered for Individuals flight out on... See full review

  • Hugo B.
  • Apr 8, 2015
A Later Arrival

I book room for 1 day --- My question I travel to Kauai Hawaii for 1 night, simply to pick up my... See full review

  • Hugo B.
  • Apr 6, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.

Location

The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.

Rooms

The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.

Property features

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.

Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Nearby attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Policies
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily.
  • The property will be under exterior and interior building and pool renovation project from Sep 2015 to Jan 2016. Works will be done from 8 AM to 5:30 PM.

 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 495 reviews
★★★
$95
3.9 / 5 20 reviews
★★★★
$176
4.2 / 5 322 reviews
★★★
$129
4.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$69
3.0 / 5 13 reviews
★★★
$155
4.1 / 5 59 reviews
★★★
$119
3.9 / 5 47 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.1 / 5 176 reviews
★★★★
$229
4.2 / 5 230 reviews

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA44
Friends
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Great Stay!

Had a great stay here. The place has a vintage Hawaiian feel to it, like from movies you grew up with, which I like. I visited the more expensive resorts and if you want luxury and resort life, then maybe it's not the place for you. But if you want a fun place to stay while you spend most of your day exploring the island, this is a good, reasonably priced place. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The only nightlife on the island is at Trees Lounge just down the road.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned Canuck
Family
Alberta, Canada
Mar 10, 2014

Buyer Beware

The staff are friendly, location is nice but the hotel is very rundown. The pools are small and missing tiles, roof in main building has a major leak with large buckets holding water. It has been a long term leak because the mould smell is strong. My room on the second floor had a old bar fridge with a warped seal. Pillows had a strong sweat smell. Overall it was very disgusting. The Chamber maids were spraying scented spray to mask the smell on the beds and in the rooms. What ever happened to washing everything each time?the Fish Pond was green, cottage roofs are missing tiles and the entire facility has rotting wood that has been painted over or just left. I would Strongly not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
exploring family with kid
Family
riverside,ca
Apr 5, 2014

not too expensive,but do not expect anything either!

worn of and old,nothing is fixed,price is ok,location is great,some employees are friendly and helpfull but others are rude ,lazy and do not want to help,there is no free breakfast or fruit like they promised unless you go sit and eat in their restaurant (so what is so free about that!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

good location

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jrexy
Family
Davis, CA
May 18, 2012

Ew.

Wanted to sleep standing up. Old and outdated and generally defunct...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten by Bed Bugs
Business
Kahului, Maui
Jun 30, 2012

Bed Bugs

The room we were given had bed bugs. We woke up with bites all over, searched around the bed and found over 15 bed bugs living in the bed skirt. We caught some and brought to the front desk. They moved us to another room but did not offer a refund or comp the room the first night, etc. The window and sliding door in our second room wasn't attached to the wall. We are not staying there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler33425
Family
space coast, FL
Jan 19, 2013

Aston, the Queen of Deferred Maintenance

There is so much maintenace to be done, it's hard to start. The lock on my sliding door was removed and covered with duct tape,that's it! pool moldy with tile falling off, no hot water only tepid, a/c burned up, nothing as advertised, reservation grade not honored, no crib as reserved. No working safe in any rm, took all the electronics and jewelry with us everywhere we went. Party of 7,all had the same problems. Free breakfast was 2 slices of fruit, 1 cup of coffee and a pastry the size of a half dollar. Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vbgirl
Family
Las Vegas
Jan 18, 2013

Don't waste your precious vacation here

This hotel was extremely disappointing in every direction-sad-tired-worn out and run down. It seems criminal to charge a resort fee for amenities as there are no amenities and this is certainly no resort. The only food option on property was mediocre at best while charging retail pricing-there are no options within walking distance so a car is necessary. The beach area of the property was so littered with debris that it almost seemed like garbage floating in the water. The mattress smelled of urine, the fixtures were worn and tired, and the 1960's style television with poor reception was useful only when watching a DVD which viewed clearly. Don't waste your time or money here. Only plus was the DVD rentals were free-and with no amenities-that was the only option after 8pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Susan ND
Family
Marina, CA
Apr 24, 2013

Never again

We booked for 5 days but left after two. Probably the worst place i've ever stayed in my life. It's not so much that the place is outdated, but it has paint peeling/chipping, weird stains on walls, the beds were uncomfortable.... this hotel nickel and dimes everything. The continental breakfast was ridiculous. Sure you can upgrade for $5 and $10 but listening to the staff explain this over and over and over to each new guest is a waste of time. It would be cheaper to just provide a better breakfast. The best thing about this place? The staff. They are friendly. Will never stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Find any other place that has a kitchenette. You'll save more money in the long run and eat better.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ardmore, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Kauai Aloha Beach Hotel

Room wasn't clean when we checked in. Housekeeping came at all hours of the day, from 9:30am to 3pm to after 4pm. Cleaning was sub-par, toiletries were NOT replaced. It's ridciulous that they will not print out boarding passes for guests! This is why Aloha Beach Hotel is an awful hotel, which I will recommend that my friends and family NEVER visit when they are in Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pasadena, CA
Jun 8, 2009

Dirty Old and Out of Date "Motel"

I don't know how this place got rated so high by some travelers. This place is no better than a Motel 6 in terms of cleanliness and decor. The hallways were filled with trash and dirt. We stayed for 3 days and the same trash and dirt were in the hallway. The first room that we got was horrible, the shower head was coming off, the beds were old and smelly. Worst than some of the 1 star inn that I stayed in college. I would not recommend this place to anyone, especially those travelling with young kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new york city
Sep 16, 2009

aston aloha hotel

the hotel was filthy dirty. the pools where filthy. horrible not clean at all. the dining room was filthy. the whole hotel was absolutely digusting. entirely unkept hotel. the aston aloha beach hotel should not be on a travel website the hotel should be shut down by the board of health. i was very angry that i was charged for the hotel and very upset that this hotel was an option on your website. it needs to be removed from the options of hotels. it was horrible!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top