Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
373 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lilya
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Aston Cockroach Beach Resort

we walked in the cottage and were unpleasantly shocked - dirty popped carpet, older kitchen cabinets and small appliances, weird smell... refrigerator freezes stuff up, bathroom is dirty. we do not usually complain, just take everything as is, but 3 HUGE COCKROACHES running around our room made our stay absolutely unbearable. we called the front desk to report this problem. and you know what they did? they sent a guy with bug spray, who filled our room with this spray so we couldn't breath till the end of the day and he DIDN'T EVEN REMOVE COCKROACH BODIES!!! this is just gross. they didn't even apologize for that. seems like it is an OK event there. we would not go there again. i regret we picked this hotel. it is overpriced for the look you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
belgium,europe
May 10, 2010

dead zone

The hotel is dead there is nothin to do at all the food is very bad and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

nothin in the night just sleeping.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Sep 16, 2009

aston aloha hotel

the hotel was filthy dirty. the pools where filthy. horrible not clean at all. the dining room was filthy. the whole hotel was absolutely digusting. entirely unkept hotel. the aston aloha beach hotel should not be on a travel website the hotel should be shut down by the board of health. i was very angry that i was charged for the hotel and very upset that this hotel was an option on your website. it needs to be removed from the options of hotels. it was horrible!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kauai Hawii
Jun 6, 2009

tired

Staff was very friendly. we enjoyed our breakfast. Front lobby was very nice bu rooms and halls were very tired and needed updated. location was great. Small beds Mrs.Crabtree

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RbhA
San Jose, CA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Roches

Hotel had roaches. I vacated in two days instead of 5 days I booked. Room had bad Oder. Beds springs makes your back soar. No one should stay in this hotel for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jrexy
Davis, CA
May 18, 2012

Ew.

Wanted to sleep standing up. Old and outdated and generally defunct...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
belgium,europe
May 10, 2010

dead zone

The hotel is dead there is nothin to do at all the food is very bad and expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

nothin in the night just sleeping.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Sep 16, 2009

aston aloha hotel

the hotel was filthy dirty. the pools where filthy. horrible not clean at all. the dining room was filthy. the whole hotel was absolutely digusting. entirely unkept hotel. the aston aloha beach hotel should not be on a travel website the hotel should be shut down by the board of health. i was very angry that i was charged for the hotel and very upset that this hotel was an option on your website. it needs to be removed from the options of hotels. it was horrible!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ardmore, PA
Aug 18, 2009

Kauai Aloha Beach Hotel

Room wasn't clean when we checked in. Housekeeping came at all hours of the day, from 9:30am to 3pm to after 4pm. Cleaning was sub-par, toiletries were NOT replaced. It's ridciulous that they will not print out boarding passes for guests! This is why Aloha Beach Hotel is an awful hotel, which I will recommend that my friends and family NEVER visit when they are in Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler33425
space coast, FL
Jan 19, 2013

Aston, the Queen of Deferred Maintenance

There is so much maintenace to be done, it's hard to start. The lock on my sliding door was removed and covered with duct tape,that's it! pool moldy with tile falling off, no hot water only tepid, a/c burned up, nothing as advertised, reservation grade not honored, no crib as reserved. No working safe in any rm, took all the electronics and jewelry with us everywhere we went. Party of 7,all had the same problems. Free breakfast was 2 slices of fruit, 1 cup of coffee and a pastry the size of a half dollar. Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top