$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
258 reviews
Good

My experience was great! easy and convinent. Friendly Staff. Nice ocean view from room. I will... See full review

  • Lennylc
  • Nov 22, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Excellent pricing, their in house tour/attractions people were great. Good way to find out things... See full review

  • Mr.DMoore
  • Nov 14, 2014
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (258)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 258
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yvetall Lennox
Business
Orange County, California
Dec 7, 2014

Conveniently located by airport, cozy, nothing special

The title sums is up. As soon as you walk in, you're taken back in time by 10 years. There's no HVAC in the actual hotel rooms as the building structures are not completely enclosed. However, you do have HVAC in the rooms. AMENITIES: The main amenity I used was the DVD during night time since the island pretty much shuts down after sunset. It's nice that the room has a Playstation 3 you can play the DVDs in but it is connected to a tube television prior to the flat screen revolution. You get two DVD rentals per day by using the machines in the lobby, which were pretty cool. Broken ice machine in one floor, but I didn't care. I didn't get to check out their pools, jacuzzi, whatever they have since you're in frickin' Hawaii! ROOM CLEANLINESS & COMFORT: Don't expect a 5-star hotel. This place does its job, it's slightly lower than a Holiday Inn I am used to staying in. Ultimately, the rooms could probably use some renovation (the HVAC system and vent is quite funky looking). STAFF: Friendly, I didn't get to interact with them as much. VALUE: Overall, you get what you paid for, just don't expect something fancy. Comfy bed, shower, privacy, this is your place in Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Pono Market for some good poke. Heads-up, if you want to try specific items, it is available on certain days of the week only.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TravelerGirl14
Business
East
Sep 1, 2014

The Hawaiian version of the Bates Hotel

Not sure what Aston is planning for this hotel, but it really needs a massive overhaul or to be torn down! The room was dirty and outdated. We had an "ocean view" room, but the windows were too dirty to see the ocean clearly. My favorite was the lobby (it looked sooo nice in the picture) - expect badly stained seating and a sign that warns you from leaning on the badly decomposed, rusty railing overlooking a pond. Seriously Aston? This hotel only hurts your brand reputation - don't fool with people's vacations and be more up front about the hotel (i.e. pictures). Please note-your staff was nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lusoprince
Business
Kearny, NJ, USA
Apr 26, 2014

Review from a frequent traveler

Needs a complete update. 20 yrs ago it would have been ok. Today, it cannot complete. The location is great. Must have ocean view room to distract you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FCB328
Business
Burlingame, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2014

By the River Hotel

Aston is located just by the banks of Wailua River just before the river meets the sea. Coming from the airport , it shares the road that goes to Lydgate Park/Beach . So it can be tricky if you don't slow down and be attentive. Same thing if you are coming from the north going back to the hotel. Traffic can be heavy during commute hours. They have counter flow lanes in the mornings on weekdays. The place is indeed in need for some major improvements. You can notice that even the towels are worn down. The exercise room was really unusable. The free fruit plate for breakfast was consist of 4 small pieces of fruit. The location is indeed good. Just 7 minutes from the airport and it is sort of an ideal starting point of you travel north or south of the island. If you like long beach walks and then this is a good place to be. Lydgate park has a long stretch of beach access. Around 3 miles going south. The enclosed protected beach with rock barriers is good for the kids .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue is not too far for take outs. Approximately 3 miles driving north. Free Hula shows at the Coconut Plantation (Also a Whalers Store in the shopping center). Location is on the right side if you are driving north before L&L Hawaiian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L001
Business
Texas
Oct 12, 2012

A/C and amenities

I made a point to get A/C. It's not as easy to change as I'm accustomed to on the mainland, but I guess they set the thermostat at 85°F. Temperature was a tad cooler in the room when I returned in the afternoon. I'd open the window to the fresh tropical air. A $10/day fee was added for soap, newspaper, DVDnow, Playstation and WiFi. I wasn't in Hawaii for those anyway. The Wi-Fi in the lobby never worked for me. Those were not worth the additional fee. I did use the coffee maker and mini-fridge regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of making a left turn from the hotel during busy traffic, I'd turn right and use the next crossover.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cowabunga2030
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 28, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo!

After reading some reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was spacious and I'm glad I opted for the Ocean View Room (which was only nominally more expensive). SO wonderful to wake-up with the ocean outside your window! Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and comfortable. Thanks to other reviewers, I knew to expect the MANDATORY Amenity Fee of about $10, but I didn't mind. Room amenities impact my suitcase packing list, so here are some helpful things I didn't see from other reviews.... In the room there are 2 body towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash towels, 2 face/body soap bars, 1 shampoo bottle, an iron, removable wooden clothes hangars (about 5 for shirts, 5 with clips for pants/skirts), an iron & ironing board, a coffee machine with 2 mugs & instant coffee mix, 3 water glasses, an ice bucket, a fridge (no microwave), a sofa, King Size bed with 3 pillows, coffee table, CRT television, Playstation, alarm clock (easy to use), WAY more dresser & drawer space than one person could ever need, three lamps with 2 outlet plugs each -- nice for recharging mobile devices, and 2 pieces of hotel stationary scratch paper w/ a pen. (Hope that list helps somebody!!) As some reviews noted, the room safe doesn't work (not sure why they just don't remove it), but you can leave your valuables in a safebox at the Front Desk. (I didn't have anything really, other than my phone & camera -- which were on me like all the time.) Some other random notes for travelers who are interested: shower water pressure good and no overly complicated faucet, toilet flush power a little unimpressive, A/C & fan thermostat can be adjusted, no balcony -- just a locked window so people don't fall out, mini-fridge has a "chiller" for extra cold items, but I wouldn't put anything like frozen meat in there (popsicles probably okay if you can fit them), and the elevator is a bit small (can only fit two people and their luggage, so a whole family can't cram in). Water bottles available for sale at Front Desk for $1. None in the soda vending machines. Also the wild roosters and chicks ARE all over the property -- but they are all over the island too. So you can't fault the hotel. And roosters don't only call at sunrise. It's a myth! They call all hours of the day to assert their territory. So earplugs recommended for light sleepers. The hotel lobby has computers. 1 min = $0.25, so a buck gets you 4 minutes. You can pay by credit card, but the machine looked sketchy, so I just got change from the Front Desk and inserted my bills. Felt safer. I was so busy exploring the island that I didn't really explore the hotel until my last night. It's actually pretty cool. There are TWO pools, and the lobby is peaceful with water flowing around the perimeter. The beach is within walking distance, with a lovely gazebo. Parking at night can be challenging in the main lot if you get home late from sightseeing. But there's plenty of room in their "Overflow" lot. Make sure you register your car at the Front Desk, or else they might tow it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Safeway grocery store only about 5 minutes away by car. For any basic needs and quick / cheap food it was a godsend. I fully encourage exploring the local restaurants, but sometimes, you just want something easy, reliable, & familiar, so you can hit up the Safeway Deli or standard aisles with predictable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leecarltoncruz
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Great value!

Very comfortable room, tastefully decorated, clean, affordable. Convenient to airport and not far from central Kapaa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4winds
Business
Northern Wisconsin
Oct 26, 2011

A good place for home base.

The hotel is next to Lydgate Park and has beautiful grounds It is only a short distance from Lihue Airport as well. Two pools and a snackbar are available in addition to the restaurant and lounge. The staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dinner hour seems to run from 6:00 to 9:00 PM in most cases. If you arrive later pick up some food before you check in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Great suring vacation!

I was greeted on arrival by a very friendly desk clerk! The room wad comfortable with an amazing view of the ocean and the Waimaia River. The staff there is excellent and very helpful:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bartender at the Kuhio lounge makes a great maitai!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top