$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
256 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (256)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 256
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten by Bed Bugs
Business
Kahului, Maui
Jun 30, 2012

Bed Bugs

The room we were given had bed bugs. We woke up with bites all over, searched around the bed and found over 15 bed bugs living in the bed skirt. We caught some and brought to the front desk. They moved us to another room but did not offer a refund or comp the room the first night, etc. The window and sliding door in our second room wasn't attached to the wall. We are not staying there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marlaina
Business
Petaluma,ca
Jun 2, 2012

A good deal.

This hotel is in a good location and is a good deal for the price.If you use your iPhone for navigation to get there you will get lost the dash in the address messes things up. The hotel is a older one that could use some updating. The hotel staff is very polite and very helpfull I really enjoy when people go out of there way to help you as they did. Caution where you park. Be carefull not to park near the palm trees where a coconut can land on your carn from the wind. If you did not get the car insurance on your rental be very carefull where you park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Bubba burger have a burger and shake.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bend,OR
Nov 25, 2010

just ok

Basic accomodations. The staff was nice until I realized I had left my cell phone charger in the room. I went back to the hotel before my plane left to retrieve my charger. They informed me "to come back tomorrow" (that would'nt work since I was about to catch a plane) They said it is the hotel's policy to lock up the lost and found after 5PM everyday and that no one currently on site had a key! That is the most ridiculous thing I've ever heard! To make matters worse, as it turned out, One of my flights back home was canceled due to weather and I was stuck with a dead cell phone trying to make other arraingments to get back to Bend,OR. This simple reason and for the simplest of basic hotel functions I definitely would not return. I travel to Kauai 3-4 time a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hi
Oct 25, 2010

It was Okay!

We attended 2 football games!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
golden rod
Business
bend oregon
Sep 10, 2010

top notch

super nice for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua, HI
Apr 8, 2010

Nice location and good value for the $

Have stayed here a few times over recent years and found it consistently good and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nice location with beautiful gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LC 3006
Business
Austin TX
Aug 20, 2009

About what I expected

Really great place to rest your head and sleep. Hotel is under new ownership and the grounds and building need alot of work. Location is good. You get what you pay for and $85 a night for a good bed isn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Solo Traveler Debi
Business
Seal Beach, CA
Jun 3, 2009

Great first night

Traveling alone and in the area for the first time, this hotel was a great place to stay. Convenient from the airport and in a beautiful setting. The friendly staff made the stay a perfect first night on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sedona
Jun 29, 2008

Great value in great location

Aloha Beach Resort has rooms that are generous in size for the cost. There was a large bed, sleeper sofa area and desk area. The shower was small but powerful and the separate dressing area is always a plus. I first stayed at it about 35 years ago and was pleasantly surprised how well it has been kept and updated. The furnishings are outstanding and the little refrigerator was nice to have for cold drinks. The location on the edge of Lydgate Park give it a real edge on other properties in the busy Kapa'a area as views look out to the park and beach and a pleasant walk across the park grounds rather than a dash across a busy highway take you to a lovely public beach with a sheltered swimming area and a walking/biking path along a stretch of lovely beach. The restaurant has a lovely view of the ocean and reasonably priced meals. There are two pools that I saw on property and both are well-maintained. There are also sort of cottages on the property that looked intriguing. It is a good choice for a short stay being mid the north shore and the Waimea Canyon. It is also a good choice for a portion of a longer trip. It is located in the most-populated area of the island with nearby shopping and restaurants without feeling you are in a busy location. When combined with a stay in either or both Poipu and Princeville area, it allows time to see all Kauai offers without long drives/big gas bills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 23, 2008

BEST HOTEL

THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL I HAVE STAYED IN FOR AWHILE. THE ROOM WAS MORE THAN I EXPECTED. THE STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FABULOUS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. OH, BY THE WAY....IT IS A NON-SMOKING HOTEL. WHAT A BREATH OF FRESH AIR!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

IT IS RIGHT ON THE BEACH!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search