$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
253 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Dweller
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Jul 10, 2012

Great location, excellent value

We had an excellent 3 night stay at the Aston Aloha. We were given an upgrade to a cottage so i don't know what the regular hotel rooms were like. They seemed to be busier. The cottages are a little outdated and some stains on the carpet and furniture. It was comfortable and we had a fridge and sink and dishes and cutlery. The cottages are very close to Lydgate park so there is a lot of activity there, even in the evening with families enjoying their weekends at the beach. It was very close to the beach and there are some great trails in the park for walking or running. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The wifi in the lobby is not very good and it seems like updating the rooms would be good for the hotel and perhaps bring in more people. We had cocktails in the lounge and with the coupon supplied we received 20% off our lounge snacks. We also ate breakfast there which was great value. We would definitely stay again because of the location and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten by Bed Bugs
Business
Kahului, Maui
Jun 30, 2012

Bed Bugs

The room we were given had bed bugs. We woke up with bites all over, searched around the bed and found over 15 bed bugs living in the bed skirt. We caught some and brought to the front desk. They moved us to another room but did not offer a refund or comp the room the first night, etc. The window and sliding door in our second room wasn't attached to the wall. We are not staying there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cowabunga2030
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 28, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo!

After reading some reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was spacious and I'm glad I opted for the Ocean View Room (which was only nominally more expensive). SO wonderful to wake-up with the ocean outside your window! Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and comfortable. Thanks to other reviewers, I knew to expect the MANDATORY Amenity Fee of about $10, but I didn't mind. Room amenities impact my suitcase packing list, so here are some helpful things I didn't see from other reviews.... In the room there are 2 body towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash towels, 2 face/body soap bars, 1 shampoo bottle, an iron, removable wooden clothes hangars (about 5 for shirts, 5 with clips for pants/skirts), an iron & ironing board, a coffee machine with 2 mugs & instant coffee mix, 3 water glasses, an ice bucket, a fridge (no microwave), a sofa, King Size bed with 3 pillows, coffee table, CRT television, Playstation, alarm clock (easy to use), WAY more dresser & drawer space than one person could ever need, three lamps with 2 outlet plugs each -- nice for recharging mobile devices, and 2 pieces of hotel stationary scratch paper w/ a pen. (Hope that list helps somebody!!) As some reviews noted, the room safe doesn't work (not sure why they just don't remove it), but you can leave your valuables in a safebox at the Front Desk. (I didn't have anything really, other than my phone & camera -- which were on me like all the time.) Some other random notes for travelers who are interested: shower water pressure good and no overly complicated faucet, toilet flush power a little unimpressive, A/C & fan thermostat can be adjusted, no balcony -- just a locked window so people don't fall out, mini-fridge has a "chiller" for extra cold items, but I wouldn't put anything like frozen meat in there (popsicles probably okay if you can fit them), and the elevator is a bit small (can only fit two people and their luggage, so a whole family can't cram in). Water bottles available for sale at Front Desk for $1. None in the soda vending machines. Also the wild roosters and chicks ARE all over the property -- but they are all over the island too. So you can't fault the hotel. And roosters don't only call at sunrise. It's a myth! They call all hours of the day to assert their territory. So earplugs recommended for light sleepers. The hotel lobby has computers. 1 min = $0.25, so a buck gets you 4 minutes. You can pay by credit card, but the machine looked sketchy, so I just got change from the Front Desk and inserted my bills. Felt safer. I was so busy exploring the island that I didn't really explore the hotel until my last night. It's actually pretty cool. There are TWO pools, and the lobby is peaceful with water flowing around the perimeter. The beach is within walking distance, with a lovely gazebo. Parking at night can be challenging in the main lot if you get home late from sightseeing. But there's plenty of room in their "Overflow" lot. Make sure you register your car at the Front Desk, or else they might tow it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Safeway grocery store only about 5 minutes away by car. For any basic needs and quick / cheap food it was a godsend. I fully encourage exploring the local restaurants, but sometimes, you just want something easy, reliable, & familiar, so you can hit up the Safeway Deli or standard aisles with predictable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joey fuzz
Business
santa cruz, CA
Jun 24, 2012

Adequate for 1 night while waiting for other reservations elsewhere

Looked very old and not well maintained. It appeared to appeal to package tour people from overseas, who didn't know any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatsFan1986
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Jun 5, 2012

Excellent Time

This was my second time to Kauai and I was very satisfied with the Aston Aloha the beds were nice, there was some great scenery and the breakfast/brunch wasn't bad. I wish the Happy Hour was longer but everything on Kauai always closes too early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marlaina
Business
Petaluma,ca
Jun 2, 2012

A good deal.

This hotel is in a good location and is a good deal for the price.If you use your iPhone for navigation to get there you will get lost the dash in the address messes things up. The hotel is a older one that could use some updating. The hotel staff is very polite and very helpfull I really enjoy when people go out of there way to help you as they did. Caution where you park. Be carefull not to park near the palm trees where a coconut can land on your carn from the wind. If you did not get the car insurance on your rental be very carefull where you park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Bubba burger have a burger and shake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbies
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 27, 2012

Great Budget Getawy

We love this hotel due to the location and ease of access to a good "starter" snorkeling beach. It's definitely budget, but with some nice amenities. We upgraded to a junior suite with our last stay and had two mini refrigerators, a microwave, cutting board, toaster, plates, bowls, glassware, etc in the room. We also had a nice ocean view. Regular rooms have an fridge but no microwave. They give shampoo in the bathroom but no conditioner or body lotion. Beware this hotel if you are kid intolerant. We had a baseball team of unruly eight-year-old boys take over the hotel on our last day here, doing back flips into the pool, running around, screaming, etc, with little or no adult supervision, as if it were their home town rec center or something. We like the dvd rental kiosk which lets you take out two movies at a time. The hotel is close to Safeway which makes meal planning super easy as well and saves you a lot of money. Great Mai Tais! Early morning rooster wake up calls included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brick Oven Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hannigan Family
Business
Kauai, Hawaii
May 23, 2012

A Really Nice Hotel

Place looked fantastic and would recommend as a hotel to stay to anyone visiting this island. Great, but expensive breakfast buffet with really good tasting cherry and orange juice. Fruit selection at breakfast was good. Very nice pool and ocean view. Only bad thing from that happened was a large noise came from the bathroom vent 1 out of 5 nights we spent in Hawaii. Hotel staff gave us a free breakfast because of the noise that came on about 5 in the morning and lasted about 1 hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Walking around outside the hotel was beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vish
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 20, 2012

Great hotel at great location

We enjoyed the close proximity to everything we did on this island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama Connie
Business
Kauai, HI
May 18, 2012

Kauai Ohana!

Had a great visit! We had a problem with our first room but the staff upgraded us at no extra cost!! We will stay again...Great location and price. We will recommend to all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top