$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
257 reviews
Good

My experience was great! easy and convinent. Friendly Staff. Nice ocean view from room. I will... See full review

  • Lennylc
  • Nov 22, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Excellent pricing, their in house tour/attractions people were great. Good way to find out things... See full review

  • Mr.DMoore
  • Nov 14, 2014
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unclej2k
Business
seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere

Liked the hotel pools and beach area (although couldn't swim in winter so only could walk along the beach). Had cockroach turn up in our room, not good. Room was too small for us for family of 4 to stay for so long. Location is difficult since you have to drive to get any non-resort food which get's pricey pretty quickly. Wasn't happy they charged $14/day for the parking - should just cover this IMO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Getaway Student
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Mar 6, 2013

Tucked in Get-A-Way

Although the shower was super small... the king sized bed gave me a good night's rest. I did not receive the ocean front view I paid for though. Not really sure what happened there. Furthermore, my sweater went missing after our room was cleaned. Nonetheless, this location was closest to alot of places we wanted to drive to Kauai - so no complaints. The hot tub is small, by the way. But, that's why you should skip along outside and enjoy the Kauai water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brick House Pizza is just down the road! They make their own pizzas and have an option for wheat bread crust with a glaze of garlic sauce. Delicious. Support small business!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimer32013
Business
Gulf Coast in MS
Mar 18, 2013

First time in Kauai

This hotel had a great location on the SE shore of the island. We were close to shopping, snorkeling, etc and a drive to Port Allen wasn't too far away. We had an ocean view room and it had a great view of the bay. The room was small but clean. My only issue was that the room was freezing and there was no thermostat to adjust the temperature! The "complimentary breakfast" that they offer is small, but you can upgrade for $10 each. It's convenient to eat there, but I would only do this once and then venture out and try other places for breakfast. All in all, a great place for the price. I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Eat breakfast off property to get more for your money :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Train Spouse
Business
Payson, AZ
Apr 11, 2013

Good young family location

"Emenities Cost" is NOT optional so room price is very misleading; Hotel needs some updating but its location is convenient to just about everything including very nice park on way to beach area for young children. Would recommend to young family with very limited budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Located very near island's hub to do just about everything. North and south shores only about 30 minutes away and airport only 110-15 mins. away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pshosh
Business
San Francisco, California
Apr 23, 2013

Comfortable and affordable, if a bit frayed around the edges

Our hotel was mainly used for sleeping and winding down the last hour of each day during our 4 night stay, and this hotel was perfect for that. Walking to Lydgate Park to snorkel for the first time was easy, only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Pool and hot tub access was near too, both very clean. We didn't go to a luau, but the hotel was also a 5 minute drive from one of the very popular ones, and also close to the Wailua River, which we did tour. Great proximity to Kapaa, nice food and shopping there - quite spacious for a couple too (couch, bed, desk, lots of open area). Negatives? Well the hotel has seen better days. The tub was a bit leaky, the bathroom ceiling puckered from moisture, and bits of tile were missing from the closet. The old CRT television was also partially broken, some horizontal lines across the top of the screen, and the PS2 in the room for playing DVDs/games was not functional at all (made loud cracking noises when spinning up, something misaligned with the tray maybe). Wireless access was part of the $15/day fee, however lots of ports were blocked and the HotelWifi wireless service would attempt to redirect even normal Google queries (like where to eat) through their site. Very malicious behavior from them and a nuisance for us as heavy internet users. Overall, this hotel is a good value when staying in Kauai. It's not fancy at all, but it worked for a comfy bed and climate controlled environment (AC was great) that my girlfriend and I needed to recharge after a long hike or swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car when coming to Kauai, it gives access to the variety the island has to offer. You can see Waimea Canyon to the southwest and things like Hanalei and the beaches on the north side without spending too much time in transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain Swedish
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
May 24, 2013

Okay for a budget hotel

At first I was really excited that this hotel was so close to a little tide pool to swim in. But then we got there, we realized it's right next to a water treatment plant and the area around the hotel smells like poo. The tide pool also totally smells like poo and it's really gross. I'm surprised so many people were swimming in it! Other than this, it's a good location to get to other sites on Kauai. I was really disappointed when we tried to get the continental breakfast in the morning though. We waited at the front of the restaurant for about 10 minutes and no one seated us. I even approached some poor German lady and tried to give her our vouchers, thinking that she worked there. We were hungry so just finally helped ourselves and sat down and started eating. At the end of our meal I handed the lady serving our beverages our tickets and then she gives me back a bill for $32! Apparently the continental breakfast is not part of the buffet. I tried to explain that we had waited a long time and no one sat us or explained how the breakfast worked. They gave us a few dollars off, but I was really upset. I wish I had stuffed my purse with peanut butter packets in retrospect. Room was clean, I really fell in love with the cat that lives in the lobby, and most of the staff were nice. Housekeeping had a tendency to knock on the door every couple of hours - still not sure why. Also, if you're above the ground floor, your balcony door will not open as your balcony does not exist. Luckily we were on the bottom floor and our door opened. Air conditioning is tricky and is controlled by a hidden wall panel - we spent a couple freezing nights before we figured this out. Overall, hotel was okay, and good for a budget hotel if it's busy and you can't find anything else, but you could probably do better normally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the road is the restaurant Wahoo's and it is excellent! We had no reservations for Valentine's Day and they still got us in for a romantic, goat-watching evening and divine food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
From Sunny Colorado
Business
Colorado
May 23, 2013

Get what you pay for

We booked a room in the cottage. After 5 minutes in the room, we went to the front desk and asked to be moved. Just felt gross and not comfortable at all. Front desk told us we would have to wait till next day. Next day we checked with front desk and they told us to come back after 2 when they would know what they had available. When we came back they had given away all rooms except for double bed rooms, which we took. This room was much nicer, and had been recently updated. Had pool/ocean view. To get to the beach, you have to go to a public beach which is a short walk. The cottages are right next to the park, which we didn't care for. Has a great protected area at the beach for kids. We enjoyed our stay here and would probably come back again. Location was good, right in the middle of the island, so both North and South end were about same drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rickcbo
Business
Washington
Jul 2, 2013

Average place to go

Stay was good, this was our second time and the motel seam to be getting a little more run down each time. Will stay again, good value, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VF10
Business
Indiana
Aug 30, 2013

Convenent location but older hotel

Older hotel that needs some updating but good location and cheap. Staff was underwhelming to rude at times. Didn't eat at the resturants. Stayed here for last night to be close to the airport for an early flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reirei
Business
East bay, California
Sep 18, 2013

What you pay is what you get

The hotel was very average. Old tv, old beds. Not the place to go if your looking for a beautiful resort Where you plan on staying the whole time in the hotel eating or playing golf. However, if you just need a decent place to sleep this is the place. It's fairly cheap with a great location. There's also a beach right outside the hotel and complimentary movie rentals which Is a bonus. One thing to keep in mind if you stay here would be to stay in the actual hotel and not their Cottages. The cottages are outside with loose doors so a lot of bugs such as cockroaches, spiders and geckos sneak in. To sum it all up, it was a decent place but would probably look for somewhere else to stay for my next trip to Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top