$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler324
Business
Oahu
Jan 22, 2013

Average

A loud concert at the hotel made it impossible to sleep the first night until the event ended at 1:00 AM. The staff was friendly and waived the resort fee, though resort fees should not be there in the first place as they are a deceptive way to charge you for things that most hotels include in the room price and they are usually forced on the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brickhouse Pizza. Good Pizza is hard to find in Hawaii but this was a good one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Ariel
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 23, 2013

Relazing couples retreat

Just returned from a 2 night romantic stay at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. The location was perfect for us, being roughly equal distance from Waimea Canyon and the Na Pali Coast (our two main destinations). The property itself is outdated but well maintained and right on the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful, though perhaps a bit sparse. Upon arrival we had no towels in the room, but housekeeping was prompt in fixing the problem. Perhaps not the finest resort on the island, but you get what you pay for and it was well worth the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RINGTOSS
Business
SAN DIEGO, CA
Feb 1, 2013

ONE NIGHT STAY

UPON ARRIVING IT LOOKED VERY INVITING. VIEW WAS BEAUTIFUL FROM OUR ROOM. STAFF WAS NICE. THE ROOMS NEEDED UPDATING. STUFF WAS OLD & IN NEED OF REPAIR. FOOD & PRICES WAS HORRIBLE. MOST EVERYONE HAD NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT IT. EVEN THE COFFEE WAS AWFUL. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS A JOKE. WE WERE ONLY THERE ON A ONE NIGHT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

HILO HATTIES WAS JUST WONDERFUL. WHAT A SELECTION & PRICES WERE OK. ALL VERY FRIENDLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
entee
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 22, 2013

Mother-daughter get away

had coffee pot, stir rod, creamer, sugar, but no coffee pk to brew with it.. Free pre-set breakfast plate was small, eating at same dinning room where everyone else can get better food if pay additional $10- kinda funny feeling! sink was licking with water everywhere. rooster was noisy & waking people up at 3, 4, 5,6 am No wi-fi, connection was poor only few hot spot at lobby ... other then that it was ok... may not book there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unclej2k
Business
seattle, wa
Feb 22, 2013

Nice atmosphere

Liked the hotel pools and beach area (although couldn't swim in winter so only could walk along the beach). Had cockroach turn up in our room, not good. Room was too small for us for family of 4 to stay for so long. Location is difficult since you have to drive to get any non-resort food which get's pricey pretty quickly. Wasn't happy they charged $14/day for the parking - should just cover this IMO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Getaway Student
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Mar 6, 2013

Tucked in Get-A-Way

Although the shower was super small... the king sized bed gave me a good night's rest. I did not receive the ocean front view I paid for though. Not really sure what happened there. Furthermore, my sweater went missing after our room was cleaned. Nonetheless, this location was closest to alot of places we wanted to drive to Kauai - so no complaints. The hot tub is small, by the way. But, that's why you should skip along outside and enjoy the Kauai water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brick House Pizza is just down the road! They make their own pizzas and have an option for wheat bread crust with a glaze of garlic sauce. Delicious. Support small business!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FirstTimer32013
Business
Gulf Coast in MS
Mar 18, 2013

First time in Kauai

This hotel had a great location on the SE shore of the island. We were close to shopping, snorkeling, etc and a drive to Port Allen wasn't too far away. We had an ocean view room and it had a great view of the bay. The room was small but clean. My only issue was that the room was freezing and there was no thermostat to adjust the temperature! The "complimentary breakfast" that they offer is small, but you can upgrade for $10 each. It's convenient to eat there, but I would only do this once and then venture out and try other places for breakfast. All in all, a great place for the price. I'd stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Eat breakfast off property to get more for your money :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Train Spouse
Business
Payson, AZ
Apr 11, 2013

Good young family location

"Emenities Cost" is NOT optional so room price is very misleading; Hotel needs some updating but its location is convenient to just about everything including very nice park on way to beach area for young children. Would recommend to young family with very limited budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Located very near island's hub to do just about everything. North and south shores only about 30 minutes away and airport only 110-15 mins. away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pshosh
Business
San Francisco, California
Apr 23, 2013

Comfortable and affordable, if a bit frayed around the edges

Our hotel was mainly used for sleeping and winding down the last hour of each day during our 4 night stay, and this hotel was perfect for that. Walking to Lydgate Park to snorkel for the first time was easy, only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Pool and hot tub access was near too, both very clean. We didn't go to a luau, but the hotel was also a 5 minute drive from one of the very popular ones, and also close to the Wailua River, which we did tour. Great proximity to Kapaa, nice food and shopping there - quite spacious for a couple too (couch, bed, desk, lots of open area). Negatives? Well the hotel has seen better days. The tub was a bit leaky, the bathroom ceiling puckered from moisture, and bits of tile were missing from the closet. The old CRT television was also partially broken, some horizontal lines across the top of the screen, and the PS2 in the room for playing DVDs/games was not functional at all (made loud cracking noises when spinning up, something misaligned with the tray maybe). Wireless access was part of the $15/day fee, however lots of ports were blocked and the HotelWifi wireless service would attempt to redirect even normal Google queries (like where to eat) through their site. Very malicious behavior from them and a nuisance for us as heavy internet users. Overall, this hotel is a good value when staying in Kauai. It's not fancy at all, but it worked for a comfy bed and climate controlled environment (AC was great) that my girlfriend and I needed to recharge after a long hike or swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car when coming to Kauai, it gives access to the variety the island has to offer. You can see Waimea Canyon to the southwest and things like Hanalei and the beaches on the north side without spending too much time in transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Captain Swedish
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
May 24, 2013

Okay for a budget hotel

At first I was really excited that this hotel was so close to a little tide pool to swim in. But then we got there, we realized it's right next to a water treatment plant and the area around the hotel smells like poo. The tide pool also totally smells like poo and it's really gross. I'm surprised so many people were swimming in it! Other than this, it's a good location to get to other sites on Kauai. I was really disappointed when we tried to get the continental breakfast in the morning though. We waited at the front of the restaurant for about 10 minutes and no one seated us. I even approached some poor German lady and tried to give her our vouchers, thinking that she worked there. We were hungry so just finally helped ourselves and sat down and started eating. At the end of our meal I handed the lady serving our beverages our tickets and then she gives me back a bill for $32! Apparently the continental breakfast is not part of the buffet. I tried to explain that we had waited a long time and no one sat us or explained how the breakfast worked. They gave us a few dollars off, but I was really upset. I wish I had stuffed my purse with peanut butter packets in retrospect. Room was clean, I really fell in love with the cat that lives in the lobby, and most of the staff were nice. Housekeeping had a tendency to knock on the door every couple of hours - still not sure why. Also, if you're above the ground floor, your balcony door will not open as your balcony does not exist. Luckily we were on the bottom floor and our door opened. Air conditioning is tricky and is controlled by a hidden wall panel - we spent a couple freezing nights before we figured this out. Overall, hotel was okay, and good for a budget hotel if it's busy and you can't find anything else, but you could probably do better normally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Just down the road is the restaurant Wahoo's and it is excellent! We had no reservations for Valentine's Day and they still got us in for a romantic, goat-watching evening and divine food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top