$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
372 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (372)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
372 out of 372
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deeswissness
Switzerland
Oct 1, 2012

Much better than expected

We payed around $100.- for the room a night, so we didn't expect much as it is a Hotel on Kauai. But we were taught differently. We had a huge room, with a huge bed. The rooms interieur was nicely done and it was really clean. The staff were really nice and hospitable. Carparking was free of charge, wireless Internet was good by the hotspots, which one was the beautiful lobby. There were movies and games to rent to take to the room, as the room had a Playstation. The only negative thing was that the rooms took forever to be ready. Checking in the room was at 3 pm, but our room wasn't ready. This didn't just happen to us, but also to other guests. But the lady at the frontdesk was so nice and upgrated us in a Oceanview room. We would definately go back there, if one day we would come back to Kauai, as we really felt comfortable and at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GigiTraveler
Pasadena, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Decent for families

I should start by saying that the staff was really nice, and the room was clean. Also the location was great, especially for little kids, it was nice to be so close to not only a quiet lagoon, but also a park. And the pools were nice too. However, the hotel is in serious need of upgrading, it appeared to have been many decades since any work besides landscaping had been done on the property. Even just a coat of paint would make it look better. We stayed in a cottage and it was in desperate need of a new carpet (or at least spot cleaning) and new furniture. The air conditioners and ceiling fans were abysmal, essentially making noise and not much else, which made it difficult to sleep. Although the price was right, I don't think I would stay there again. Also, the additional daily amenity fee was not appreciated, especially since we couldn't use the DVD player as it was in the bedroom, not the living room. I realize that maybe couples might want it in the bedroom, but traveling with a kid, I would have appreciated being able to move it at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dukes at the Marriott was the best dinner we had, truly a masterpiece. It was a short drive from the Aston, and not cheap, but totally worth it.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manofleisure
Maui, Hawaii
Aug 21, 2012

Nothing fancy

The hotel needs renovating from top to bottom. It's clean but old and worn, but the location is fantastic. Just don't expect anything, I mean anything, fancy. The TVs in the rooms are old and clunky, not flat screen. I've stayed there before but this time I was dismayed to find that the hotel charges your credit card $10 per day for amenities (a daily newspaper, a coffee pack in the room daily, use of the computer to print your boarding passes, DVD rental with limited selections) whether you use these things or not. Many other hotels include these amenities in the room rate so it seems like you're getting them as a nice gift from the hotel. Aloha Beach should do the same. The Lydgate Beach behind the hotel is a great place for swimming, walking, and finding peace. The snack bar at the Mailie pool is very good, but avoid the hotel restaurant. I would recommend to a friend only with the complete understanding of what he/she is getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyT
Kailua, Hawaii
Jul 23, 2012

Very relaxing family retreat!!

Very relaxing and welcoming. The architecture is classic Hawaii and very open air. The location is on a great waterfront and beside beautiful Wailua River. Long board surfing, Standup surfing and kayaking are at your doorstep. The required entertainment fee od $10 a day should be done away with. Particularly since the two free DVD's we got each day did not play or stopped half way through!! BUT, we didn't come to watch movies!!! We enjoyed our stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel Bricker
Oakland, CA
Jul 22, 2012

great location

We thought the location with a state park between the hotel and beach was just great...nice vistas...no other high rise hotels around..wildlife. The hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful, especially our housekeeper. The amenities charge of $10.50 per day is a joke!!! You don't get any extra amenities for that. In addition one desk person was going to charge me for a extra coffee packet. What a rip off. The hot tub was not working, we did not use the TV, DVD player, or games player. So, why an extra charge? It's just a way to advertise a lower rate than it really is. They should be honest and include it in the rate up front. We would definitely go back again. Also a great location in terms of getting to other spots on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Dweller
Maui, Hawaii
Jul 10, 2012

Great location, excellent value

We had an excellent 3 night stay at the Aston Aloha. We were given an upgrade to a cottage so i don't know what the regular hotel rooms were like. They seemed to be busier. The cottages are a little outdated and some stains on the carpet and furniture. It was comfortable and we had a fridge and sink and dishes and cutlery. The cottages are very close to Lydgate park so there is a lot of activity there, even in the evening with families enjoying their weekends at the beach. It was very close to the beach and there are some great trails in the park for walking or running. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The wifi in the lobby is not very good and it seems like updating the rooms would be good for the hotel and perhaps bring in more people. We had cocktails in the lounge and with the coupon supplied we received 20% off our lounge snacks. We also ate breakfast there which was great value. We would definitely stay again because of the location and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten by Bed Bugs
Business
Kahului, Maui
Jun 30, 2012

Bed Bugs

The room we were given had bed bugs. We woke up with bites all over, searched around the bed and found over 15 bed bugs living in the bed skirt. We caught some and brought to the front desk. They moved us to another room but did not offer a refund or comp the room the first night, etc. The window and sliding door in our second room wasn't attached to the wall. We are not staying there ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cowabunga2030
San Francisco, CA
Jun 28, 2012

Aloha & Mahalo!

After reading some reviews, I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel, but I was pleasantly surprised! The room was spacious and I'm glad I opted for the Ocean View Room (which was only nominally more expensive). SO wonderful to wake-up with the ocean outside your window! Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and comfortable. Thanks to other reviewers, I knew to expect the MANDATORY Amenity Fee of about $10, but I didn't mind. Room amenities impact my suitcase packing list, so here are some helpful things I didn't see from other reviews.... In the room there are 2 body towels, 2 hand towels, 2 wash towels, 2 face/body soap bars, 1 shampoo bottle, an iron, removable wooden clothes hangars (about 5 for shirts, 5 with clips for pants/skirts), an iron & ironing board, a coffee machine with 2 mugs & instant coffee mix, 3 water glasses, an ice bucket, a fridge (no microwave), a sofa, King Size bed with 3 pillows, coffee table, CRT television, Playstation, alarm clock (easy to use), WAY more dresser & drawer space than one person could ever need, three lamps with 2 outlet plugs each -- nice for recharging mobile devices, and 2 pieces of hotel stationary scratch paper w/ a pen. (Hope that list helps somebody!!) As some reviews noted, the room safe doesn't work (not sure why they just don't remove it), but you can leave your valuables in a safebox at the Front Desk. (I didn't have anything really, other than my phone & camera -- which were on me like all the time.) Some other random notes for travelers who are interested: shower water pressure good and no overly complicated faucet, toilet flush power a little unimpressive, A/C & fan thermostat can be adjusted, no balcony -- just a locked window so people don't fall out, mini-fridge has a "chiller" for extra cold items, but I wouldn't put anything like frozen meat in there (popsicles probably okay if you can fit them), and the elevator is a bit small (can only fit two people and their luggage, so a whole family can't cram in). Water bottles available for sale at Front Desk for $1. None in the soda vending machines. Also the wild roosters and chicks ARE all over the property -- but they are all over the island too. So you can't fault the hotel. And roosters don't only call at sunrise. It's a myth! They call all hours of the day to assert their territory. So earplugs recommended for light sleepers. The hotel lobby has computers. 1 min = $0.25, so a buck gets you 4 minutes. You can pay by credit card, but the machine looked sketchy, so I just got change from the Front Desk and inserted my bills. Felt safer. I was so busy exploring the island that I didn't really explore the hotel until my last night. It's actually pretty cool. There are TWO pools, and the lobby is peaceful with water flowing around the perimeter. The beach is within walking distance, with a lovely gazebo. Parking at night can be challenging in the main lot if you get home late from sightseeing. But there's plenty of room in their "Overflow" lot. Make sure you register your car at the Front Desk, or else they might tow it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Safeway grocery store only about 5 minutes away by car. For any basic needs and quick / cheap food it was a godsend. I fully encourage exploring the local restaurants, but sometimes, you just want something easy, reliable, & familiar, so you can hit up the Safeway Deli or standard aisles with predictable prices.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joey fuzz
santa cruz, CA
Jun 24, 2012

Adequate for 1 night while waiting for other reservations elsewhere

Looked very old and not well maintained. It appeared to appeal to package tour people from overseas, who didn't know any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PatsFan1986
Oahu, Hawaii
Jun 5, 2012

Excellent Time

This was my second time to Kauai and I was very satisfied with the Aston Aloha the beds were nice, there was some great scenery and the breakfast/brunch wasn't bad. I wish the Happy Hour was longer but everything on Kauai always closes too early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top