$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
253 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (253)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
253 out of 253
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arnoldtom
Business
San Francisco
Oct 27, 2012

five days in Kauai

Great location, between the beautiful North side and the sunny South beaches. Excellent value for the price !!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jerry Doo
Business
Dubuque, Iowa
Oct 27, 2012

Good for family stay

Wonderful staff, right next to the wonderful Lidgate Park to enjoy the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joyce and larry
Business
moreno valley calif
Oct 24, 2012

best of times always

have stayed there for many years,have yet to have any bad experiences.hotel employes always going out they way to help you.really do have a great place.walk right down to the beach,great beach for children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L001
Business
Texas
Oct 12, 2012

A/C and amenities

I made a point to get A/C. It's not as easy to change as I'm accustomed to on the mainland, but I guess they set the thermostat at 85°F. Temperature was a tad cooler in the room when I returned in the afternoon. I'd open the window to the fresh tropical air. A $10/day fee was added for soap, newspaper, DVDnow, Playstation and WiFi. I wasn't in Hawaii for those anyway. The Wi-Fi in the lobby never worked for me. Those were not worth the additional fee. I did use the coffee maker and mini-fridge regularly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of making a left turn from the hotel during busy traffic, I'd turn right and use the next crossover.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Babi Ali
Business
Lake Elsinore, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Great 40-th aniversary

We were very pleased with the staff, the hotel is older and need some up-grades, but overall we had a pleasant time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deeswissness
Business
Switzerland
Oct 1, 2012

Much better than expected

We payed around $100.- for the room a night, so we didn't expect much as it is a Hotel on Kauai. But we were taught differently. We had a huge room, with a huge bed. The rooms interieur was nicely done and it was really clean. The staff were really nice and hospitable. Carparking was free of charge, wireless Internet was good by the hotspots, which one was the beautiful lobby. There were movies and games to rent to take to the room, as the room had a Playstation. The only negative thing was that the rooms took forever to be ready. Checking in the room was at 3 pm, but our room wasn't ready. This didn't just happen to us, but also to other guests. But the lady at the frontdesk was so nice and upgrated us in a Oceanview room. We would definately go back there, if one day we would come back to Kauai, as we really felt comfortable and at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GigiTraveler
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Decent for families

I should start by saying that the staff was really nice, and the room was clean. Also the location was great, especially for little kids, it was nice to be so close to not only a quiet lagoon, but also a park. And the pools were nice too. However, the hotel is in serious need of upgrading, it appeared to have been many decades since any work besides landscaping had been done on the property. Even just a coat of paint would make it look better. We stayed in a cottage and it was in desperate need of a new carpet (or at least spot cleaning) and new furniture. The air conditioners and ceiling fans were abysmal, essentially making noise and not much else, which made it difficult to sleep. Although the price was right, I don't think I would stay there again. Also, the additional daily amenity fee was not appreciated, especially since we couldn't use the DVD player as it was in the bedroom, not the living room. I realize that maybe couples might want it in the bedroom, but traveling with a kid, I would have appreciated being able to move it at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dukes at the Marriott was the best dinner we had, truly a masterpiece. It was a short drive from the Aston, and not cheap, but totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manofleisure
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Aug 21, 2012

Nothing fancy

The hotel needs renovating from top to bottom. It's clean but old and worn, but the location is fantastic. Just don't expect anything, I mean anything, fancy. The TVs in the rooms are old and clunky, not flat screen. I've stayed there before but this time I was dismayed to find that the hotel charges your credit card $10 per day for amenities (a daily newspaper, a coffee pack in the room daily, use of the computer to print your boarding passes, DVD rental with limited selections) whether you use these things or not. Many other hotels include these amenities in the room rate so it seems like you're getting them as a nice gift from the hotel. Aloha Beach should do the same. The Lydgate Beach behind the hotel is a great place for swimming, walking, and finding peace. The snack bar at the Mailie pool is very good, but avoid the hotel restaurant. I would recommend to a friend only with the complete understanding of what he/she is getting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyT
Business
Kailua, Hawaii
Jul 23, 2012

Very relaxing family retreat!!

Very relaxing and welcoming. The architecture is classic Hawaii and very open air. The location is on a great waterfront and beside beautiful Wailua River. Long board surfing, Standup surfing and kayaking are at your doorstep. The required entertainment fee od $10 a day should be done away with. Particularly since the two free DVD's we got each day did not play or stopped half way through!! BUT, we didn't come to watch movies!!! We enjoyed our stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel Bricker
Business
Oakland, CA
Jul 22, 2012

great location

We thought the location with a state park between the hotel and beach was just great...nice vistas...no other high rise hotels around..wildlife. The hotel staff was quite friendly and helpful, especially our housekeeper. The amenities charge of $10.50 per day is a joke!!! You don't get any extra amenities for that. In addition one desk person was going to charge me for a extra coffee packet. What a rip off. The hot tub was not working, we did not use the TV, DVD player, or games player. So, why an extra charge? It's just a way to advertise a lower rate than it really is. They should be honest and include it in the rate up front. We would definitely go back again. Also a great location in terms of getting to other spots on Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top