$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
257 reviews
Good

My experience was great! easy and convinent. Friendly Staff. Nice ocean view from room. I will... See full review

  • Lennylc
  • Nov 22, 2014
Great Vacation Spot

Excellent pricing, their in house tour/attractions people were great. Good way to find out things... See full review

  • Mr.DMoore
  • Nov 14, 2014
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RINGTOSS
Business
SAN DIEGO, CA
Feb 1, 2013

ONE NIGHT STAY

UPON ARRIVING IT LOOKED VERY INVITING. VIEW WAS BEAUTIFUL FROM OUR ROOM. STAFF WAS NICE. THE ROOMS NEEDED UPDATING. STUFF WAS OLD & IN NEED OF REPAIR. FOOD & PRICES WAS HORRIBLE. MOST EVERYONE HAD NOTHING GOOD TO SAY ABOUT IT. EVEN THE COFFEE WAS AWFUL. THE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST WAS A JOKE. WE WERE ONLY THERE ON A ONE NIGHT STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

HILO HATTIES WAS JUST WONDERFUL. WHAT A SELECTION & PRICES WERE OK. ALL VERY FRIENDLY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah Ariel
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jan 23, 2013

Relazing couples retreat

Just returned from a 2 night romantic stay at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. The location was perfect for us, being roughly equal distance from Waimea Canyon and the Na Pali Coast (our two main destinations). The property itself is outdated but well maintained and right on the beach. Staff was friendly and helpful, though perhaps a bit sparse. Upon arrival we had no towels in the room, but housekeeping was prompt in fixing the problem. Perhaps not the finest resort on the island, but you get what you pay for and it was well worth the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Getaway Student
Business
Oahu, Hawaii
Jan 22, 2013

Toss Up at the Aston Aloha

Just came back from a three day, two night stay at the hotel for the MLK weekend. Granted, while this was a last minute booked getaway from Oahu, I still hoped to actually get the things I paid for. So, I'm not sure who to place the blame on here. I paid a few dollars more with the ocean view and I did not have an ocean view, at all. In fact, they put me toward the poolside view... Nope. The continental breakfast is minimal: juice, a few slices of fruit, and a small pastry... UNLESS you decide to pay the extra $10 for the rest of the selection made available which included sausage, scrambled eggs, cereal, guava juice, orange juice, et cetera. There were some flies around the pastry selection so that sort of freaked me out. My boyfriend and I stuck with the eggs, meat, yogurt, and cereal. I did like the king sized bed! It was just a bummer for us to only find out when we were cleaning out before check out that here were extra pillows in the drawers! Finally, I am not sure where my grey sweater went off to. I had it in the room before the room was cleaned on Sunday and come Sunday afternoon/Monday morning... my piece of clothing was gone. I turned the room upside down hoping to find it, and nothing. Since we were rushing out in the morning, I just didn't want to spend the time of day to ask about who might have taken it... As far as location, I did like how the hotel was reasonably close to both the North and South shore. It took us 25-40 minutes either way. Waimea Canyon is a bit farther but we decided to do that trip first anyway. The parking attendant was awesome! Especially coming back to the hotel later in the evening, they were willing to let us park in the bus parking lots. I sincerely appreciated that. I guess I just paid with my missing grey sweater... However, next time, I would probably stay in the South Shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler324
Business
Oahu
Jan 22, 2013

Average

A loud concert at the hotel made it impossible to sleep the first night until the event ended at 1:00 AM. The staff was friendly and waived the resort fee, though resort fees should not be there in the first place as they are a deceptive way to charge you for things that most hotels include in the room price and they are usually forced on the customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Brickhouse Pizza. Good Pizza is hard to find in Hawaii but this was a good one.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
traveler33425
Business
space coast, FL
Jan 19, 2013

Aston, the Queen of Deferred Maintenance

There is so much maintenace to be done, it's hard to start. The lock on my sliding door was removed and covered with duct tape,that's it! pool moldy with tile falling off, no hot water only tepid, a/c burned up, nothing as advertised, reservation grade not honored, no crib as reserved. No working safe in any rm, took all the electronics and jewelry with us everywhere we went. Party of 7,all had the same problems. Free breakfast was 2 slices of fruit, 1 cup of coffee and a pastry the size of a half dollar. Never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will Gonzales
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Jan 18, 2013

Great Locations

Great location a little outdated but great value in Kauai

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vbgirl
Business
Las Vegas
Jan 18, 2013

Don't waste your precious vacation here

This hotel was extremely disappointing in every direction-sad-tired-worn out and run down. It seems criminal to charge a resort fee for amenities as there are no amenities and this is certainly no resort. The only food option on property was mediocre at best while charging retail pricing-there are no options within walking distance so a car is necessary. The beach area of the property was so littered with debris that it almost seemed like garbage floating in the water. The mattress smelled of urine, the fixtures were worn and tired, and the 1960's style television with poor reception was useful only when watching a DVD which viewed clearly. Don't waste your time or money here. Only plus was the DVD rentals were free-and with no amenities-that was the only option after 8pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lolocat
Business
Seaside, CA
Jan 10, 2013

Good location

The resort is interesting but more appropriate for families with children. The Japanese gardens are well maintained and beautiful. I found the pool and jacuzzi area to be noisy especially with little kids and their mother coming in the jacuzzi with a boogie board and a big ball. Apparently the pool area is closed at 1000pm but people were in the jacuzzi and pool at midnight, talking loudly without respect for those in the rooms around. This seems unacceptable since the ocean is but 5 minutes away. Our room was shabby and needs to be renovated: old stained rug, stained lamp shades, dirty windows. The view is beautiful and the staff was exceptionally courteous and helpful. despite the fact that they were short staffed during new years time, they worked hard to serve us well and with a smile. On our last day, there was a problem in the kitchen and the only breakfast available was the buffet at full price. I think it would have been appropriate to at least offer the buffet at a discounted price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A boat cruise to the Napali Coast is well worth it. It's very rugged and majestic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomochano
Business
Denver
Jan 6, 2013

Exceptional location

We loved being in this hotel. It was very comfortable and close to the beach. Very good quality-price ratio. Location was perfect because it was half way from the north and south of the island, considering thar the island's main road is discontinued just in the oposite side of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a protected snorkeling area perfect for children or bad weather conditions very close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucia as lovly wife
Business
Nyack, New York
Jan 5, 2013

Great for everyone

Everything was so perfect, and went so smooth. That was wonderful !! Thank You!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Smith"s Family Garden Luau in the Tropical Paradise

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top