$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA44
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Great Stay!

Had a great stay here. The place has a vintage Hawaiian feel to it, like from movies you grew up with, which I like. I visited the more expensive resorts and if you want luxury and resort life, then maybe it's not the place for you. But if you want a fun place to stay while you spend most of your day exploring the island, this is a good, reasonably priced place. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The only nightlife on the island is at Trees Lounge just down the road.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LC 3006
Business
Austin TX
Aug 20, 2009

About what I expected

Really great place to rest your head and sleep. Hotel is under new ownership and the grounds and building need alot of work. Location is good. You get what you pay for and $85 a night for a good bed isn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vacation Craver
Business
Edmonds, WA
Oct 1, 2014

Falling Apart! Surprise Fees!

The website pictures look good, but the actual hotel appears to be falling apart. Half the rooms in our hallway were actually screwed shut because the building is rotting! We couldn't open our sliding door, yet there was a crack big enough to let lizards and the sound of chickens in our room at all hours. The sliding door windows were so dirty that we couldn't even see out our room and this was consistent with all the rooms. The bathroom and room had other people's hair in it and the tiling in the bathroom left much to be desired. Make sure to wear shoes/sandals at all times. The TV was an old-school tube that had bad coloring. The sheets were so used and balled up that it was actually uncomfortable to sleep on them. They also surprised us with an $18 a day amenity fee, which was a joke and actually really annoying. The only thing they offer are free movie rentals, which doesn't make sense since we're there to see the island. The only thing this place has going for it is the location. It has nice access to a beach for the price. We actually switched the the Grand Hyatt mid week, which we highly recommend! To sum it all up, if you don't plan on spending any time at the hotel other than sleeping, this makes for a fairly cheap option. Just make sure your lower your expectations so you aren't disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orange Juice Tang
Business
San Jose
Jul 25, 2014

Kauai Trip

Hotel location is good and it's proximity to Lihue airport is a plus. Hotel room cleanliness needs a lots of improvement. Bed is sagging and comfort level is far from satisfactory. Although breakfast is provided in my package but please do not be overly joy because only coffee and a plate with no more than 4 slices of fruit was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maple Valley, WA
Jun 21, 2011

Garden Rooms

The Aloha Beach Hotel in Kauai, The room I was in was old, thats ok but the smell of old, not ok, I probley wont stay with them again, as for the chickens, they did not bother me,..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a car

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Molly
Business
Chinle
Jun 18, 2015

Great location for families

We loved being by a kid friendly beach but the quality of the hotel kind of felt like a motel 6 on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JO3.0
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2014

Weekend getaway

Location was good if you are traveling around island. Not walking distance to many restaurants and bars. The room was very clean. Pool needs some major work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FCB328
Business
Burlingame, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2014

By the River Hotel

Aston is located just by the banks of Wailua River just before the river meets the sea. Coming from the airport , it shares the road that goes to Lydgate Park/Beach . So it can be tricky if you don't slow down and be attentive. Same thing if you are coming from the north going back to the hotel. Traffic can be heavy during commute hours. They have counter flow lanes in the mornings on weekdays. The place is indeed in need for some major improvements. You can notice that even the towels are worn down. The exercise room was really unusable. The free fruit plate for breakfast was consist of 4 small pieces of fruit. The location is indeed good. Just 7 minutes from the airport and it is sort of an ideal starting point of you travel north or south of the island. If you like long beach walks and then this is a good place to be. Lydgate park has a long stretch of beach access. Around 3 miles going south. The enclosed protected beach with rock barriers is good for the kids .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue is not too far for take outs. Approximately 3 miles driving north. Free Hula shows at the Coconut Plantation (Also a Whalers Store in the shopping center). Location is on the right side if you are driving north before L&L Hawaiian restaurant.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cool Cat MEOW
Business
Oahu
Apr 11, 2014

It's good enough :)

The plus is it's inexpensive. We were just looking for a place to sleep since we'll be out most of the time. Bed was comfy, staff friendly, & great location next to the beach. The drive is only 11 mins away from the airport. The only warning would be the roosters waking you up at 5 am ( I didn't mind since we had things to do anyways) and the extra charges for amenities was $70. The continental breakfast was just four pieces of fruits and coffee. The hotel is run down, but I don't mind as long at the room was nice. The pool was falling apart, but it didn't keep my husband and I from swimming. It was actually pretty funny swimming around and finding loose tiles at the bottom. :) Overall I liked it. We had fun at Kauai.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lemongrass Restaurant

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia pa
Aug 29, 2009

Not too bad for the price

This hotel could be so much nicer with alittle more care.(new carpets, fix leaks in lobby, etc.) Unfortunately,one unfriendly staff person takes away from all the other pleasant workers. The room we were promised was not available and the clerk did not try very hard to make the situation better. The cabin was nice but smelly and air conditioning very noisy. Good location, Good price, Close to a nice beach, Most staff were fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FrankyfromBerlin
Business
Canada or Germany
Nov 25, 2010

beautiful view

The Hotel was good nothing special but no bad surprises, too. It was a nice time. The only bad thing there was no shuttle from the airport to the Hotel and the Hotel Restaurant was very expensive the beach is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

you must do the kayaktour it's a walking distance away from the hotel it is very beautiful to the secret Fall.

Back to menu Return to top