Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
373 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (373)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
373 out of 373
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
clhoulihan
phoenix, AZ
May 29, 2010

the good and the not so good

i would not recommend this hotel until the air conditioning system is replaced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bhijaz
Chino Hills California
Mar 26, 2013

Would NEVER stay again.

Read the reviews and other guest commented on the "good value for what one pays..." I do NOT see any value in my stay. Just glad I had so much going on outdoors that I did not have to stay much in my room. Absolutely disgusted with the room, I had to shower with flip flops on! My friends were OK with the room but I had to disagree. If you are tight on your budget and OK with much below average then it might be ok for you. However, I will definitely be paying more for a better experience. I just want a clean room, that is it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 28, 2007

Early Riser

Although the hotel was passable as budget hotels go, something seemed amis here. I read the reviews posted for Aloha Beach, and found an odd mix. The cleaning staff was outstanding, our room was immaculatly cleaned each day. On the other hand we noticed room service trays that lingered for days on end. One I noted for three consecutive days, until I mentioned it to the front desk. The carpets could use a good cleaning, the recent (circa 2006) extensive renovation was not evident to this long time remodeler. Either they did an outstanding job with a sow's ear, or the updates were cosmetic at best. The biggest irritation (many roosters)was no fault of the hotel, however, a decided lack of same was noted at other equally priced accomodations on this island. After a week of being awakened to barnyard banter starting typ at 3:30am, we were more than ready to fly the coop. Handicapped access to the restraunt was laughable. One must exit the hotel to the parking lot, and re-enter through what is best described as a sercice entrance, stacked with extra tables and the like in order to utilize the handicapped ramp provided. On the surface, it looks ok, but just didn't feel right. The Hotel sign is on canvas, they haven't put up a permanant sign even after taking ownership some three years ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lygate park is directly ajacent to the property, lots of free entertainment, e.g. a nice hula troop practices there. Snorkeling at the park was fairly bland, but as good as anywhere on the island. If your kids like chasing chickens, this is the place for you.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigRan
Hawaii
Nov 5, 2009

Once Great Now Tattered

Great Beach and Kids Park adjacent to Hotel. Helpful Friendly Staff. Poor overall Grounds Maintenance. Water features and Ponds grungy. Room Carpets not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lydgate Park and Salt water pools at your feet. Kamalani playground just next door.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cream City Kauai
Milwaukee, WI
May 5, 2014

Convenient location

For us, the location of the hotel was great. We were only on Kauai for 3 days so we wanted to see things on both the north and south shores. The lady behind the front-desk (Kai I beleive) was awesome. Super friendly and helpful. As for the bad. The room we got was large, but it had an overwhelming mildew smell. Opening the patio door helped but because we were on the first floor the sign posted told us to keep it locked at night. Overall, the rooms need to be updated. The shower was small, but the water pressure was awesome. Overall, it was a place to sleep at night (which for us being on the go the whole three days was fine). Would I go back... probably not. I's shell out a few more bucks for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're in Kapa'a and need a good meal, stop at Mermaids (on the main drag). Its a little hole in the wall with no indoor seating, but the food (ahi tuna specialties) were excellent. Hibiscus tea was good too.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Elsinore,Ca.
Mar 3, 2009

Aloha Beach Hotel

When we walked into the Lobby it looked very nice, The staff was friendly and everyone seemed helpful. When we got to the room and you walked in , it had a musty , moldy smell in the room, but it was clean. The hot water is non-existant and all you could hope for was luke warm. The bed was HORRIBLE. Our backs hurt so bad we won't stay here again. I needed to do Laundry before we left it cost me $10.00 for 2 loads. When I got in the elevator, the certificate on it had expired and it looked very torn up inside. The washing machine took $1.75 and the dryers took $1.50 but you have to dry it twice to get things dry. I would not recommend staying here, pay a little extra and stay in a nicer place, you will be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fixing your own food to save money doesn't work here . The groceries are more expensive than if you went out to eat. A gallon of Milk was $7.95

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB travelors
California
Dec 28, 2010

Aloha Beach Resort

We have stayed at the Aloha Beach Resort several times and found several things disappointing on this trip. First, the setting is magnificent on the shore of the Waualea River and the Pacific Ocean. The Snack bar looking out over the river, ocean and Lydgate park has a wonderful person, [...] who cooks, cashiers, serves efficiently, competently and always has a smile. She deserves the highest praise since she does everything with this snack shop. The hours could be longer since there is few other places to eat near the hotel.Secondly, the Bartender in the main dining area, [...] deserves the highest praise also. She greets everyone with a friendly smile as they enter the area and makes you feel like you are anxious to see her. She has a great sense of humor and really makes everyone feel welcome. The rest of the dining experience was disappointing especially on Christmas Day. The server who took our order was not friendly, organized nor efficient. I do not believe she had been adequately train to make customers feel this was a special day for them. The crew has a tremendous job to maintain the property since it appears there has been a financial strain over the years. Currently [...] manages the property but should really put effort into it having a standard that would make you want to stay again. We have stayed several times in the cottages next to Lydgate park and found that they are rustic however this time it was difficult to excuse the buckling in the carpeting, the mattresses that are uncomfortable and the furniture that seems as if it was there since the hotel opened in 1966.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
May 31, 2011

Aloha Beach Hotel

It is one of the Poorly maintained Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top