$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
clhoulihan
Business
phoenix, AZ
May 29, 2010

the good and the not so good

i would not recommend this hotel until the air conditioning system is replaced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2007

Early Riser

Although the hotel was passable as budget hotels go, something seemed amis here. I read the reviews posted for Aloha Beach, and found an odd mix. The cleaning staff was outstanding, our room was immaculatly cleaned each day. On the other hand we noticed room service trays that lingered for days on end. One I noted for three consecutive days, until I mentioned it to the front desk. The carpets could use a good cleaning, the recent (circa 2006) extensive renovation was not evident to this long time remodeler. Either they did an outstanding job with a sow's ear, or the updates were cosmetic at best. The biggest irritation (many roosters)was no fault of the hotel, however, a decided lack of same was noted at other equally priced accomodations on this island. After a week of being awakened to barnyard banter starting typ at 3:30am, we were more than ready to fly the coop. Handicapped access to the restraunt was laughable. One must exit the hotel to the parking lot, and re-enter through what is best described as a sercice entrance, stacked with extra tables and the like in order to utilize the handicapped ramp provided. On the surface, it looks ok, but just didn't feel right. The Hotel sign is on canvas, they haven't put up a permanant sign even after taking ownership some three years ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lygate park is directly ajacent to the property, lots of free entertainment, e.g. a nice hula troop practices there. Snorkeling at the park was fairly bland, but as good as anywhere on the island. If your kids like chasing chickens, this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
May 27, 2007

Just Alright

There were mored negatives than positives staying at the Aloha Beach Resort. The positive was the ocean view, very nice. Negative was, the ocean view was also over the pool. Other travelers were very rude and were out at the pool/jacuzzi after 10:00 p.m. smoking and partying, making a lot of noise. We were forced to keep the door closed because of the smoke being carried up into our room as well as the noise most of the time there. Positive, the room was cleaned well. Negative we had to constantly call the front desk for 2 sets of bath towels even though we asked the maid day 1. Another negative, the bed are extremely hard. Mattresses were very uncomfortable. The worst experience was our last night when rude travelers in the next room had a group of people over and were partying in their room from midnight to 4:00 a.m. We called the front desk and they sent someone up, but it was quiet only 20 minutes before they started up again. Security is very lacking. Traffic on the main road by this hotel was really bad. The restaurant food was good. Overall the hotel experience was disappointing at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BigRan
Business
Hawaii
Nov 5, 2009

Once Great Now Tattered

Great Beach and Kids Park adjacent to Hotel. Helpful Friendly Staff. Poor overall Grounds Maintenance. Water features and Ponds grungy. Room Carpets not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lydgate Park and Salt water pools at your feet. Kamalani playground just next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Elsinore,Ca.
Mar 3, 2009

Aloha Beach Hotel

When we walked into the Lobby it looked very nice, The staff was friendly and everyone seemed helpful. When we got to the room and you walked in , it had a musty , moldy smell in the room, but it was clean. The hot water is non-existant and all you could hope for was luke warm. The bed was HORRIBLE. Our backs hurt so bad we won't stay here again. I needed to do Laundry before we left it cost me $10.00 for 2 loads. When I got in the elevator, the certificate on it had expired and it looked very torn up inside. The washing machine took $1.75 and the dryers took $1.50 but you have to dry it twice to get things dry. I would not recommend staying here, pay a little extra and stay in a nicer place, you will be happier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Fixing your own food to save money doesn't work here . The groceries are more expensive than if you went out to eat. A gallon of Milk was $7.95

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 14, 2010

Hawaii

The location and view are amazing but the place needs some TLC. It is an older facility that is in desperate need of some sprucing up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Island, HI
Jul 21, 2009

Close but not close enough

Just the last night of a week long stay on Kauai, we needed the closest hotel to the airport for a 6:00 a.m. flight and Aston had never disappointed me. Had. Even the elevator in our tower was out of order; good thing our room was lobby level. The furniture in the room looked like it came from a thrift store. The beds were too soft and hard around the edges. I know Aston will renovate the rooms and bring them up to 2000+ quality with in room access to the internet; lobby machines at a minimum of $5.00 to use don't belong in Hawaii hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 7, 2011

A night between 2 timeshare weeks

Elevator sounded like it needed servicing. It was scary! Everything was very basic, plain and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a wonderful lunch at Korean Barbeque and an amazing dinner at Hukilau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top