$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Big Island, HI
Jul 21, 2009

Close but not close enough

Just the last night of a week long stay on Kauai, we needed the closest hotel to the airport for a 6:00 a.m. flight and Aston had never disappointed me. Had. Even the elevator in our tower was out of order; good thing our room was lobby level. The furniture in the room looked like it came from a thrift store. The beds were too soft and hard around the edges. I know Aston will renovate the rooms and bring them up to 2000+ quality with in room access to the internet; lobby machines at a minimum of $5.00 to use don't belong in Hawaii hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Jun 7, 2011

A night between 2 timeshare weeks

Elevator sounded like it needed servicing. It was scary! Everything was very basic, plain and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a wonderful lunch at Korean Barbeque and an amazing dinner at Hukilau.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elisabeth loves purple
Business
Seattle
Jul 25, 2011

Location is the best part

This hotel is located at Kauai's best beach for children and there is a fabulous park adjacent to the grounds. If the hotel were in better condition it would definitely be expensive. It is a good choice for families that don't mind bugs, dirty floors, and uncomfortable beds. There is a tiny refrigerator (freezer part didn't work)in room and a couple of dishes. Overall, I think the great location and the good price makes this perfect for families willing to overlook shortcomings. We are always thrilled to be back home after staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent park has an area reserved for groups. Each night there was a different event - a luau we were invited to, local dancers practicing for a competition (great fun to watch), and some graduation parties (we weren't invited to these). Also, the park is really fun for kids and has unusual climbing areas, slides, etc.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Aug 28, 2010

Need some improvements

The hotel was in a great location, but the air conditioner in our bedroom in the cabana was extremely noisy. We had to turn it off in order to sleep, but just having the fan on did not keep the room cool enough. I would have loved to have the windows open, but the many roosters roaming the grounds woke us up very early in the morning. All of these problems could have been solved if the air conditioner had been maintained in the main bedroom. The layout of the cabana was great for a family. The front room also had an air conditioner that was in better shape and so that room was good to sleep in. I really liked the location of the hotel and the cabana was great because it was like having your own studio apartment. Also, I liked the lanai and found it nice to sit out on. I would consider staying here again only if the hotel management made changes to the air conditioner situation in the cabanas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the walking path along Lydgate State Park. I like to run so it was great to be able to go on this. Also, it was nice for walks in the evening. Very peaceful.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gilbert, AZ
May 31, 2011

Aloha Beach Hotel

It is one of the Poorly maintained Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ErinRyan
Business
SLC, UT
Feb 18, 2011

Lackluster

Hotel needs updating. The "fitness center" was a ridiculous 3 machine room that proved to be a lawsuit waiting to happen. The service and food at the hotel restaurant were horrendous. Room was fine, clean enough. It is not right on the beach as described, and not one room we saw had a lanai as advertised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Kalalau Trail hike was beautiful.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
Oct 7, 2010

decent value

The hotel was fine for the money...but the transportation we booked with the package, although we confirmed as directed,never showed up, even when called we were just given the run around and ended up having to rent a vehicle at the airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

rent a car and don't book a pakage beyond air and hotel.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HB travelors
Business
California
Dec 28, 2010

Aloha Beach Resort

We have stayed at the Aloha Beach Resort several times and found several things disappointing on this trip. First, the setting is magnificent on the shore of the Waualea River and the Pacific Ocean. The Snack bar looking out over the river, ocean and Lydgate park has a wonderful person, [...] who cooks, cashiers, serves efficiently, competently and always has a smile. She deserves the highest praise since she does everything with this snack shop. The hours could be longer since there is few other places to eat near the hotel.Secondly, the Bartender in the main dining area, [...] deserves the highest praise also. She greets everyone with a friendly smile as they enter the area and makes you feel like you are anxious to see her. She has a great sense of humor and really makes everyone feel welcome. The rest of the dining experience was disappointing especially on Christmas Day. The server who took our order was not friendly, organized nor efficient. I do not believe she had been adequately train to make customers feel this was a special day for them. The crew has a tremendous job to maintain the property since it appears there has been a financial strain over the years. Currently [...] manages the property but should really put effort into it having a standard that would make you want to stay again. We have stayed several times in the cottages next to Lydgate park and found that they are rustic however this time it was difficult to excuse the buckling in the carpeting, the mattresses that are uncomfortable and the furniture that seems as if it was there since the hotel opened in 1966.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top