$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
exploring family with kid
Business
riverside,ca
Apr 5, 2014

not too expensive,but do not expect anything either!

worn of and old,nothing is fixed,price is ok,location is great,some employees are friendly and helpfull but others are rude ,lazy and do not want to help,there is no free breakfast or fruit like they promised unless you go sit and eat in their restaurant (so what is so free about that!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

good location

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JO3.0
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Apr 3, 2014

Weekend getaway

Location was good if you are traveling around island. Not walking distance to many restaurants and bars. The room was very clean. Pool needs some major work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FCB328
Business
Burlingame, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2014

By the River Hotel

Aston is located just by the banks of Wailua River just before the river meets the sea. Coming from the airport , it shares the road that goes to Lydgate Park/Beach . So it can be tricky if you don't slow down and be attentive. Same thing if you are coming from the north going back to the hotel. Traffic can be heavy during commute hours. They have counter flow lanes in the mornings on weekdays. The place is indeed in need for some major improvements. You can notice that even the towels are worn down. The exercise room was really unusable. The free fruit plate for breakfast was consist of 4 small pieces of fruit. The location is indeed good. Just 7 minutes from the airport and it is sort of an ideal starting point of you travel north or south of the island. If you like long beach walks and then this is a good place to be. Lydgate park has a long stretch of beach access. Around 3 miles going south. The enclosed protected beach with rock barriers is good for the kids .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

L&L Hawaiian Barbecue is not too far for take outs. Approximately 3 miles driving north. Free Hula shows at the Coconut Plantation (Also a Whalers Store in the shopping center). Location is on the right side if you are driving north before L&L Hawaiian restaurant.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GG77
Business
California
Mar 25, 2014

Overall Good Experience

The Staff was pretty friendly and offered some recommendations on where to eat. The location is nice. Very close to the beach and local restaurants and grocery stores. We got a great view of the ocean from our room. The hotel needs some improvements such as the pool and updated bathroom & shower. Also, the only thing that I really wish the hotel offered, that would have made it so much better in my opinion, would be kitchen for those that would prefer to cook. What does the resort fee include? Other than that, it was an overall good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

L&L Hawaiian

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawaii on a budget
Business
Oregon
Mar 23, 2014

Great place

Was a nice place to stay. Nice staff, good food, great location. nothing to complain about. Great price for what they have to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It's in the middle of everything Spend a day one direction, another the other direction.

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Concerned Canuck
Business
Alberta, Canada
Mar 10, 2014

Buyer Beware

The staff are friendly, location is nice but the hotel is very rundown. The pools are small and missing tiles, roof in main building has a major leak with large buckets holding water. It has been a long term leak because the mould smell is strong. My room on the second floor had a old bar fridge with a warped seal. Pillows had a strong sweat smell. Overall it was very disgusting. The Chamber maids were spraying scented spray to mask the smell on the beds and in the rooms. What ever happened to washing everything each time?the Fish Pond was green, cottage roofs are missing tiles and the entire facility has rotting wood that has been painted over or just left. I would Strongly not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J L Newly Weds
Business
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Feb 18, 2014

Simple but nice

The hotel is in a great location, centrally located on the Island and close to the airport. It's an older hotel but seemed to be in good condition. Typical of the Island chickens and cats were abundant, darn roosters!!! The restaurant leaves a bit to be desired, not much selection and disorganized. There's a nice sidewalk that goes to town so we were able to walk to dinner. We didn't want a luxury resort because we wanted to see the Island so this was perfect. We would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vaca2243
Business
New Jersey
Jan 16, 2014

Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bead
Business
Fishersville, Va
Jan 8, 2014

Very nice hotel

The staff was very friendly and the value was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bee3
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 1, 2014

Affordable but lacking a lot

The location was great and the price seemed good enough. We stayed for 18 days and found the food service and housekeeping to be very poor. The breakfast buffet for 12.00 was too expensive. The food was poor. The toaster was not working. It needs to be replaced so a person can at least toast an English muffin. The wait staff was polite and pleasant but they couldn't compensate for the poor food. The rooms were neat but not necessarily the cleanest. The towels were paper thin, housekeeping neglected to leave soap, lotion as needed. One day we returned to see the room was partially done. Another day we returned to find housekeeping forgot hand towels and a bath mat. I also had some cosmetics disappear. The room had a great view. The grounds were nice. The hot tub was nice. This hotel has potential but we would not return for the reasons I talked about. I feel it needs some TLC and simple upgrades like towels and toasters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lyndgate Park is right outside the hotel grounds. Very nice.

Back to menu Return to top