$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

3 stars
3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, HI 96746
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
251 reviews
Best hotel for the money!

Great hotel for the inexpensive cost. Beautiful area with private beach and great amenities. See full review

  • Vaca2243
  • Jan 16, 2014
Very good

WE were very impressed with the staff, especially at the desk. All were very helpful. I... See full review

  • retired mom and son
  • Oct 22, 2013
Resort beckons families and couples to Kauai's sweet side on Wailua Bay
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel is a super choice for families in part because of its setting -- above one of the most child-friendly beaches on Kauai. The boulder-encircled lagoon of Lydgate Beach Park offers families and others a sweet beach and protected waters for wading, floating, swimming or snorkeling. Resort accommodations include spacious one-bedroom cottages, and there are two pools, two restaurants and a lounge on property.
Highlights
  • Location by Lydgate Beach Park and Wailua River
  • Hotel rooms, suites and one-bedroom cottages to choose from
  • Ten acres of landscaped grounds with two pools and a tennis court
Location
The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel overlooks Wailua Bay on the Coconut Coast of Kauai. Less than five miles from Lihue Airport, the resort is central to all there is to do on Kauai, from kayaking the Na Pali Coast and hiking Koke'e State Park to playing golf and dining out in Poipu.
Rooms
The 190 rooms and suites and 26 one-bedroom cottages at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel evoke old Hawaii with rattan accents and fabrics that recall patterns stitched into Hawaiian quilts. Air conditioning and a small refrigerator are among the room niceties. Cottages offer a dining area, microwave and toaster for quick snacks and meals. Request adjoining rooms prior to arrival.
Features
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel combines the service of a hotel and convenience of a condo resort. A full complement of services, including an on-site event and catering staff ready to help with wedding celebrations, makes vacation life easy. Activity options include a tennis court and fitness room. The resort's 10 acres lie along peaceful Wailua River and adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park, where lifeguards watch over a superb snorkel spot. The hotel's airy lobby showcases Hawaiian artifacts and quilts for an unmistakably Hawaiian ambiance.
Transportation
  • Lihue Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • Smith's Fern Grotto Wailua River Cruise (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Wailua Golf Course (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Wailua Falls (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Na Pali Coast State Park (32.4 mi/52 km)
  • Koke'e State Park (42.9 mi/69 km)
Business
  • Offers 13,562 square feet of indoor space, including venues for small receptions or banquets of 300
  • Includes 7,047 square feet of outdoor function space
  • Business Center with Internet access, four computer terminals and a printer
  • On-site meeting/convention specialists
Policies and fees
  • All Aston Hotels & Resorts managed hotels and condominiums are non-smoking.
  • Amenity Fee: $15 plus 4.416% Hawaii State General Excise daily. Resort Amenities covered by this fee include Playstation 2 console in each unit, Unlimited access to DVD movies and Playstation 2 games, Continental Breakfast, WiFi, In-room safe usage, Daily newspaper and In-room coffee and tea provided daily

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

22.0417 -159.3388
Area served
Kapaa.
Nearby airports
LIH-Lihue Airport-6 miles North.
Area description
Located 8 mls from city of Lihue- Near beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aston Aloha Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Rooms

Garden View
This Garden View Room has One King or Two Double or Two Queen beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.
Ocean View
Over looking the Wailua Bay or Lydgate Beach Park the Ocean View Rooms has one King or Two Double or Two Queen Beds and is equipped with: Air Conditioning, Cable TV with Remote, Refrigerator, Radio/Alarm Clock, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer & Safe.

Amenities

  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Kuhio Lounge
Cuisine Drinks and Pupus, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 5:30pm-8:30pm.
The Palms Restaurant
Cuisine American and Hawaii Regional, Casual Dress, Open Daily from 6:30am-10am for Breakfast 11:00am-2:00pm for lunch 5:30pm-8:30pm for Dinner and Tuesday nights only from 6:00pm the Ali'i Lani Dinner Show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elisabeth loves purple
Seattle
Jul 25, 2011

Location is the best part

This hotel is located at Kauai's best beach for children and there is a fabulous park adjacent to the grounds. If the hotel were in better condition it would definitely be expensive. It is a good choice for families that don't mind bugs, dirty floors, and uncomfortable beds. There is a tiny refrigerator (freezer part didn't work)in room and a couple of dishes. Overall, I think the great location and the good price makes this perfect for families willing to overlook shortcomings. We are always thrilled to be back home after staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The adjacent park has an area reserved for groups. Each night there was a different event - a luau we were invited to, local dancers practicing for a competition (great fun to watch), and some graduation parties (we weren't invited to these). Also, the park is really fun for kids and has unusual climbing areas, slides, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Aug 28, 2010

Need some improvements

The hotel was in a great location, but the air conditioner in our bedroom in the cabana was extremely noisy. We had to turn it off in order to sleep, but just having the fan on did not keep the room cool enough. I would have loved to have the windows open, but the many roosters roaming the grounds woke us up very early in the morning. All of these problems could have been solved if the air conditioner had been maintained in the main bedroom. The layout of the cabana was great for a family. The front room also had an air conditioner that was in better shape and so that room was good to sleep in. I really liked the location of the hotel and the cabana was great because it was like having your own studio apartment. Also, I liked the lanai and found it nice to sit out on. I would consider staying here again only if the hotel management made changes to the air conditioner situation in the cabanas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed the walking path along Lydgate State Park. I like to run so it was great to be able to go on this. Also, it was nice for walks in the evening. Very peaceful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Fork, AR
Jul 28, 2011

Hidden fees, VERY DISSATISFIED, avoid!

VacationLook for propertyPlan a business ventureBetter Aloha especially[...]lOK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GigiTraveler
Pasadena, CA
Sep 6, 2012

Decent for families

I should start by saying that the staff was really nice, and the room was clean. Also the location was great, especially for little kids, it was nice to be so close to not only a quiet lagoon, but also a park. And the pools were nice too. However, the hotel is in serious need of upgrading, it appeared to have been many decades since any work besides landscaping had been done on the property. Even just a coat of paint would make it look better. We stayed in a cottage and it was in desperate need of a new carpet (or at least spot cleaning) and new furniture. The air conditioners and ceiling fans were abysmal, essentially making noise and not much else, which made it difficult to sleep. Although the price was right, I don't think I would stay there again. Also, the additional daily amenity fee was not appreciated, especially since we couldn't use the DVD player as it was in the bedroom, not the living room. I realize that maybe couples might want it in the bedroom, but traveling with a kid, I would have appreciated being able to move it at least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dukes at the Marriott was the best dinner we had, truly a masterpiece. It was a short drive from the Aston, and not cheap, but totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Rafael, CA
Jun 7, 2011

A night between 2 timeshare weeks

Elevator sounded like it needed servicing. It was scary! Everything was very basic, plain and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had a wonderful lunch at Korean Barbeque and an amazing dinner at Hukilau.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gilbert, AZ
May 31, 2011

Aloha Beach Hotel

It is one of the Poorly maintained Hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 28, 2007

Early Riser

Although the hotel was passable as budget hotels go, something seemed amis here. I read the reviews posted for Aloha Beach, and found an odd mix. The cleaning staff was outstanding, our room was immaculatly cleaned each day. On the other hand we noticed room service trays that lingered for days on end. One I noted for three consecutive days, until I mentioned it to the front desk. The carpets could use a good cleaning, the recent (circa 2006) extensive renovation was not evident to this long time remodeler. Either they did an outstanding job with a sow's ear, or the updates were cosmetic at best. The biggest irritation (many roosters)was no fault of the hotel, however, a decided lack of same was noted at other equally priced accomodations on this island. After a week of being awakened to barnyard banter starting typ at 3:30am, we were more than ready to fly the coop. Handicapped access to the restraunt was laughable. One must exit the hotel to the parking lot, and re-enter through what is best described as a sercice entrance, stacked with extra tables and the like in order to utilize the handicapped ramp provided. On the surface, it looks ok, but just didn't feel right. The Hotel sign is on canvas, they haven't put up a permanant sign even after taking ownership some three years ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lygate park is directly ajacent to the property, lots of free entertainment, e.g. a nice hula troop practices there. Snorkeling at the park was fairly bland, but as good as anywhere on the island. If your kids like chasing chickens, this is the place for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baran
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Jul 10, 2013

Mold in room

Our room had mold in it and when we went to the front desk to report this. They moved us to another room. The entire resort needs work everything was worn and needs replacement from pool area where tikes are missing to grounds where picnic areas are in bad shape

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellingham, Washington
May 17, 2011

Great staff and thats about all!!!

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful however the mattresses and pillows were from the prehistoric age. I was sure there were little creatures living in those old things and talk about uncomfortable!!! For those that need the internet there is no connections in the room so it was off to the lobby however there were no outlets to use in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Spend the money for a helicopter ride. It will blow your mind!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Big Island, HI
Jul 21, 2009

Close but not close enough

Just the last night of a week long stay on Kauai, we needed the closest hotel to the airport for a 6:00 a.m. flight and Aston had never disappointed me. Had. Even the elevator in our tower was out of order; good thing our room was lobby level. The furniture in the room looked like it came from a thrift store. The beds were too soft and hard around the edges. I know Aston will renovate the rooms and bring them up to 2000+ quality with in room access to the internet; lobby machines at a minimum of $5.00 to use don't belong in Hawaii hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search