$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Castle Waimea Country Lodge

2 stars
65-1210 Lindsey Road, Kamuela, HI 96743
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
7 reviews
Enjoyed our stay.

I have no complaints about the Lodge. It was exactly what we needed for the night. Location was... See full review

  • Hill808
  • Apr 5, 2014
Quaint little place in need of cleaning and maintenance

We loved the location and the ease of parking. Not alot of trafic. Close to services. Central... See full review

  • Lara and Jason
  • Feb 5, 2013

In the cool upcountry at the base of Mauna Kea, Waimea Country Lodge welcomes you with warm island hospitality. Awake to complimentary locally-grown coffee, morning mists, rolling green grasslands, and extraordinary views of Mauna Kea. It's a location unlike that of any other Big Island accommodations, and it's no wonder. This quaint, farmhouse-style lodge seems to blend right in with the landscape. These accomodations are spacious retreats, featuring kitchenettes with a microwave, daily maid service, high-speed Internet, and a color TV you may never turn on. From the lodge there are endless opportunities to soak up the area's rich history that has been so carefully preserved throughout the years. Walk to Waimea Town (also known as Kamuela). There you'll find Parker Ranch, one of the biggest working ranches in the United States, along with western-wear stores, cultural and sporting events, and even rodeos.

You'll also have easy access to Mauna Kea summit and its observatories, a premier spot on the planet for stargazing. On Mauna Kea, the world's tallest mountain, you'll see horse and cattle ranches that cover miles of open grassland. This is indeed home of the Hawaiian cowboy or "paniolo." Head east to the Waipio Valley lookout. Head west and explore the rugged coastline and beautiful beaches of the Kohala Coast, like Hapuna Beach Park just a 15-minute drive away.

Be Ready To Be Charmed at this Big Island Hotel.

Castle Waimea Country Lodge Rooms

Standard Hotel Room
Quaint single-story lodge; 2 extra-long full beds.Room located on ground floor or second floor.
Superior Hotel Room
Quaint single-story lodge; compact refrigerator; 2 kings or 2 queens or 2 doubles.
Studio w/Kitchenette
Quaint single-story lodge; 2 kings or 2 queens; kitchenette includes compact refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner stove, sink, toaster, cooking utensils, and service for 4.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.9

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HenryJ
Business
Waldorf, MD
Nov 15, 2014

So so Hotel

Hotel is a bit old and showing its age. A couple was smoking outside, cooking food on a hibachi and drinking at the foot of the stairs as we rent to our room after checking in. Although the hotel was in a nice, family oriented neighborhood (there was a small farmers' market/craft fair a block from the hotel Saturday morning), the hotel had the appearance of a rundown Motel 6. Amenities were basic: small TV, coffee pot , one chair and two beds. I tried to lock the sliding window at night but was afraid the window frame would break if I pushed on it to secure the lock. Had I known the room didn't have a refrigerator, I likely wouldn't have stayed at the hotel. Room also didn't have AC but cool Waimea night made it comfortable to sleep. Biggest plus for the hotel was the beautiful mountain view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a restaurant within a block of the hotel. There are also a number of eating options on the main road a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laomei
Business
Near Portland Oregon
May 11, 2014

Not good.

This was an extremely dirty and uncomfortable room,the bed spreads were filthy,the carpet was dirty and had cigarette burns in it.The fabric on the two chairs was stained and dirty but it didn't really matter because they were excruciatingly uncomfortable. There was hair in the bath tub and on the floor of the bathroom. I would give this place no stars if it hadn't been for the cheerful staff and the coffee in the .morning. So,do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Parker Center food court ,take your choice of Chinese,Mexican or a really good.burger made with local beef,or have a pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hill808
Business
Hilo, Hawaii
Apr 5, 2014

Enjoyed our stay.

I have no complaints about the Lodge. It was exactly what we needed for the night. Location was ideal, check in/out was fast and simple, the room provided everything we needed. I am an easy going traveler, I research everything necessary before booking so I have no unexpected surprises. My only complaint, which has NOTHING to do with the Lodge was that the guy mowing the schools yard behind the Lodge started at 6:00 a.m. That put a damper on sleeping in. But life goes on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant on site (shared parking lot) is delicious, and cheap. Taco Salad is wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuckski190
Business
Kapaa
Feb 24, 2014

Honest

The staff upon arrival and departure were very pleasant. The room was very hot upon arrival and no a/c. But it was a nice place to stay overnight and I would stay there again but maybe not in the summer. Recommend putting a/c units in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ivan Wang
Business
China
Jan 6, 2014

No so bad stay

Decor, building ,everything is dated,only for sleeping. Room is big. Nearby weekend market gave us a unexpected surprise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket and weekend market is in short walk distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lara and Jason
Business
Moab, UT
Feb 5, 2013

Quaint little place in need of cleaning and maintenance

We loved the location and the ease of parking. Not alot of trafic. Close to services. Central location for sights. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charles54
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Oct 6, 2011

Dump. I didn't stay even though I had prepaid. I want my money back.

This dank motel smelled of rotting rodents, had no air conditioning, and was right next to a school. No privacy and no quiet. I want my money back. What a rip off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top