$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maria the Hot Momma
Business
Honolulu, HI
Aug 28, 2013

Just an FYI

The air condition was so loud and the bed was hard that I was not able to get any sleep. I had to pay $1.50 for a cup of coffee. I assume that they will a coffee maker in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Staff Stole From Me

Everything about this hotel is substandard including the old, uncomfortable bed, tacky furnishings, noisy airconditioner and cheap linens. But the worse part is the attitude of the front desk staff. During my unexpected 4 day stay there while a relative was hospitalized down the street, I never once encountered an efficient, friendly, courteous or professional staff member. My reservations were repeatedly lost so I was forced to relocate to another room several times. I had purchased several perishable items to take to my hospitalized relative, which were promptly stolen out of the refrigerator in my room by the housekeeping staff. No apologies or restitution was offered, I couldn't even get the Manager to return my calls! It was noisy at night in the rooms and hallways and a large group of men were loitering in the parking lot late one night. I did not feel safe at all. And what hotel these days does not have free coffee on the premises. The Maui Beach does not offer it in the room or even in the lobby. However, you are allowed to purchase a cup from the front desk staff if you are lucky enough to get their attention behind the counter. This place is a rip off in more ways than one. If you do stay here, I recommend you don't leave anything that you mind having stolen from your room while you are out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Jul 5, 2011

Hotel Staff Stole From Me

Everything about this hotel is substandard including the old, uncomfortable bed, tacky furnishings, noisy airconditioner and cheap linens. But the worse part is the attitude of the front desk staff. During my unexpected 4 day stay there while a relative was hospitalized down the street, I never once encountered an efficient, friendly, courteous or professional staff member. My reservations were repeatedly lost so I was forced to relocate to another room several times. I had purchased several perishable items to take to my hospitalized relative, which were promptly stolen out of the refrigerator in my room by the housekeeping staff. No apologies or restitution was offered, I couldn't even get the Manager to return my calls! It was noisy at night in the rooms and hallways and a large group of men were loitering in the parking lot late one night. I did not feel safe at all. And what hotel these days does not have free coffee on the premises. The Maui Beach does not offer it in the room or even in the lobby. However, you are allowed to purchase a cup from the front desk staff if you are lucky enough to get their attention behind the counter. This place is a rip off in more ways than one. If you do stay here, I recommend you don't leave anything that you mind having stolen from your room while you are out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boo 87
Milwaukee WI
Feb 11, 2013

Someone hit my car in the hotel parking lot

This hotel was Ok but someone hit my renter car in there parking lot of there hotel and dont stop. I with to the hotels manager and he dont care all he said is " in this part of the parking lot we dont have camera Sorry" How you dont have camera over looking all your hotel and parking lot. hate this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bob l l
Fresno
Feb 22, 2013

In a harbor with petroleum production

The pictures are deceptive. I would not stay here for the price or for the last resort if you want the feel of Maui. No way! The bar is not open often unless there is aprivate party in the hotel. Same food served buffet style every day. Airport and traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

20 minutes away by driving

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Henderson, NV
Apr 17, 2011

The almost good, bad & really ugly.

Unfriendly check in, lousey air condintioning, turned it off every time we left the room, food lousey. Was supposed to be free breakfast and had to pay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat somewhere else!

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MHKK
Business
WI
Aug 24, 2013

Business Trip

Very poor amenities. Had to walk to a gas station to get morning coffee. TV was horrible - very poor reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Casanova's

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Spokane WA
Jan 24, 2010

Maui Beach Hotel

We had already stayed in a condo for the previous two weeks, with our adult children. Needed one additonal night before boarding the plane the next day. The hotel was old and the room and bath were very small for 4 adults. It served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Troubadoura
Portland, Oregon
Apr 1, 2014

not worth it

Don't bother paying extra for a view because the windows are dirty and the angle isn't enough to see. The staff was very friendly though. They do try to charge you for anything extra, including parking even though it says it's free on booking. The internet didn't work in our room, and they charged us for the phone call we made to try to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Su2012
California
Oct 8, 2013

Bad experiences.

It's really a bad experiences there. We encountered the problem that something in the bathroom made noise every several seconds when we just arrived, and I was told that it's too late and there's no maintenance when I reported it, and they also didn'y have another room that we could switch to. They promised to fix it next morning, but we found the issue was still there after they said they already fixed it...... So we slept with the noise in all 3 nights there! When I checked out and complained this issue, the lady who help me check out immediately knew what the problem was, that means they in fact knew the issue but only didn't fix it. Really bad service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top