$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 18, 2007

Five star budget for your pocket

Hotel accomodation was adequate and the room was very clean not to mention the hotel itself. Highly recommended for those on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall and shopping center is just minutes away or walking distance. The airport is just a few miles away.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Us 2
Kaunakakai, HI
Apr 16, 2013

Perfect and convenient

Staff was very friendly. Room was very clean and could tell was well taken care of. Perfect for an overnight stay, or even longer. Felt very secure with locks on the hallway entrance doors. No complaints beside having to pay for parking, other than that it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon Maui vacation
Archie, mo
Jun 3, 2014

Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the hotel everyday. Hotel has patio to sit and eat and 100 yards from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Walmart mart for souvenirs. Sign up for savers club at Safeway.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

Great for a comfortable vacation.

Upon arrival in Maui (Kahalui) we were picked up by the hotel shuttle and taken to the hotel. The hotel is located approximately one mile from the airport which was nice. The check in was no problem. When reaching the room we found it to be in order, execpt there were some sort of insects in and under the pillow which I got rid of. Also, the hotel is located just arcross the street from a decent sized mall. I only interacted with one staff member, who was very friendly, because in of course we only spent 5 -6 hours there, as you can guess, the rest of the time was spent seeing Maui. There is a Wal-Mart, Kmart, and Costco very near. A car is necessary when visting Maui, and staying at this hotel. All in all, I was very statified and plan to stay there again in December.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seasoned traveler 2013
Edinburg, Texas
Feb 14, 2014

Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is driving distance and we will definitely be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 21, 2007

Nice

IT was very nice and clean and in a nice setting in maui. It was in town near all the shops, and bus service to any where you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Food in the hotel was ok, but you have so much in the area.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 14, 2007

Great location

We chose the Maui Beach Hotel for our last night in Maui because it is reasonably priced and close to the airport. It was clean, had a small refrigerator, and service was good. Their buffet dinner was a good deal for the price, and included fresh sushi and crab legs. They offered free internet service (not wifi). The grounds were well cared for and they had a grassy area that opened to a tiny rocky beach overlooking a docked cruise ship. The room was small, the TV was a challenge to figure out, and the air conditioner was difficult to regulate to a single, comfortable temperature. The pool is rooftop, next to the restaurant, so it closes at 5 pm, before the restaurant opens for dinner. We would stay there again, for our first night or last night on Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Queen Ka'ahumanu Center is a good mall with excellent food choices a short walk from this hotel. A short drive to Costco, Borders, and Maui Coffee Roasters.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 2, 2007

Good central location

The location of the Maui Beach Hotel was very convenient for my purposes. It is within walking distance to the shopping districts. The room was adequate and I was pleased to discover a refrigerator. The quietness of the rear patio and lawn down to the beach was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not sure of the days when the Maui Mall has the Farmers Market, but that is quite an attraction for local produce and crafts.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Brown
Business
Kaneohe, Hi
Jan 16, 2014

Business trip

Location was perfect for my business trip(Kahalui) , staff was very friendly and helpfull, and the room was better then expected. I'm in and out very quickly so I am not able to comment on any of the other ammenities(pool etc). Only negative comment is being charged for parking. I hate surprise charges. Picking a hotel based on advertised sale rate and find out that they add to it on check in I feel is deceptive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top