$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 179
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sipoy
Denver, CO
Jun 9, 2014

You get what you pay for...

Clean rooms but lack basic amenity such as a micro wave oven and you have to walk to the laundry room to heat your food, milk etc. Not convenient. Safe location...near the ocean with a nice breeze...but rooms have no views...staff will provide with something if you ask for it but these are basic things that are provided at other hotels...room service for example. I would pay extra and stay in nicer hotel next time. For our first visit this worked out well though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

For gas, most stations you have to pay around $4.52 per gallon (Jun 2014) but there is a Tesoro just under a mile away that gives you a 10c discount for using cash plus they are 10c cheaper than other gas stations as such I paid on $4.33 per gallon.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shannon Maui vacation
Archie, mo
Jun 3, 2014

Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the hotel everyday. Hotel has patio to sit and eat and 100 yards from beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shop at Walmart mart for souvenirs. Sign up for savers club at Safeway.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamaaina Joe
Honolulu, HI
Feb 4, 2014

Little disappointed

We had three people in the room and only left 2 towels for the first night. Next morning asked maid to leave appropriate number of towels. Got back to room and still only two towels. Housekeeping didn't answer phone so called front desk. Had to argue with the her to get adequate number of towels delivered to the room. Carpet needs to be shampooed - extremely dirty. Only bright light was the morning crew and breakfast buffet. They were awesome, helpful, and remembered that my daughter loved pancakes. He went out of his way and made her "special" pancakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If just needing a place to lay your head that is central, then this is ok.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G single traveler
San Diego, California
Jan 7, 2014

gets the job done

very rude front desk people, yet location is good, and it is safe and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

parking is free in a walking distance, there is a free parking lot about 1/2 mile up the road!!! also, whole foods is a walking distance with the greatest food for a quick snack or necessities!!! :)

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kentucky wildcat
Kentucky, USA
Jan 5, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

Really would benefit the stay if coffee was available in the rooms. The attached restaurant was $15 for breakfast / $3 for a cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Su2012
California
Oct 8, 2013

Bad experiences.

It's really a bad experiences there. We encountered the problem that something in the bathroom made noise every several seconds when we just arrived, and I was told that it's too late and there's no maintenance when I reported it, and they also didn'y have another room that we could switch to. They promised to fix it next morning, but we found the issue was still there after they said they already fixed it...... So we slept with the noise in all 3 nights there! When I checked out and complained this issue, the lady who help me check out immediately knew what the problem was, that means they in fact knew the issue but only didn't fix it. Really bad service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boo 87
Milwaukee WI
Feb 11, 2013

Someone hit my car in the hotel parking lot

This hotel was Ok but someone hit my renter car in there parking lot of there hotel and dont stop. I with to the hotels manager and he dont care all he said is " in this part of the parking lot we dont have camera Sorry" How you dont have camera over looking all your hotel and parking lot. hate this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JahSea
Iroquois Pt, Hawaii
Sep 26, 2012

Convenience at its best

Staffing was excellent! Customer service from the front desk to the dining facility was very welcoming. Attended my mothers memorial service on the island of Maui not the happiest moments but the staff made our stay pleasureable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pulelehua
Oahu, Hawaii, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Perfect for A Simple Getaway

I was a little apprehensive about staying at the Maui Beach, it almost seemed too good to be true. For the price, I was half expecting the roaches to be on the pillow! I was very wrong! Checking it, the hotel looks kind of old (but then again a lot of buildings in Hawaii do!), but when we got into our room. I was thrilled! It is very simple, 2 beds, a shower, a sink, a fridge, lockbox,desk, and a television. Nothing major or super special, a very clean place to lay your head. I checked the room for dirt, bugs, anything and couldn't find a single thing wrong. The A/C was perfect, we kept it around 70 at night and it was great. The ONLY complaint that I have was that the internet didn't work during my stay. It isn't wi-fi. There is an Ethernet connection in your room. I have a MAC and well it didn't like said cable. I was able to call the support line and they worked with me to troubleshoot and even sent a technician out 2 days later. It wasn't a major catastrophe. I was there to explore Maui, not play on my computer and besides my phone worked great for whatever I needed to do as far as researching places to check out. The breakfast was actually, okay. Kind of limited to cereal, bacon, eggs, sausage, and waffles, but not terrible. For Maui prices, $9 for an all you can eat buffet style breakfast was pretty good! All in all I was very pleased with my stay. I would definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're kama'aina or military, don't be shy with your I.D. One thing that I liked a lot was while out shopping I was always asked for identification when I used my credit card. At a visit to the Sugar Cane Train, we got 50% off the fare for being military and kama'aina!

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cowboy j
Ohio, USA
Mar 19, 2012

LOCATION, LOCATION

If your coming from east coast and going to haleakala this is the perfect stop for your first night, close to airport with free shuttle and last pick up for haleakala tour bus at 3:55 AM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top