$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
126 reviews
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Business trip

Location was perfect for my business trip(Kahalui) , staff was very friendly and helpfull, and the... See full review

  • S Brown
  • Jan 16, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free parking, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle, as well as free parking
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
BHPP
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Best centralized hotel for business

Front desk staff could be a little quicker to help guest. When there's a line, person in the back could come out and assist

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Two multi complex movie theaters

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Khur
Queens, NY
Aug 14, 2011

fantastic, memorable getaway for a couple

Hotel, was clean and neat. Staff members were courteous, helpful. Very convenient to stop for breakfast, dinner served was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

AM sunrise - its awesome, you got to see it to believe it. Would recommend strongly to see this while in Maui

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
SCOTTSDALE, AZ
Feb 23, 2011

BETTER THAN OTHER REVIEWS SHOWN

BETTER THAN EXPECTED [...] I THOUGHT IT WAS BETTER THAN MOST MEDIUM PRICED HOTELS, EVEYONE THERE WAS HELPFUL. THE LOCATION WAS CENTRAL IN MAUI TO EVERYTHING, BUT REMOVED FROM THE TOURISTY LOCATIONS OF THE SOUTH AND NORTHWEST. THE LOCAL SHOPPING WAS MORE REASONABLE WITH ALL THE MAINLAND CHAINS CLOSE BY-NOT ALWAYS SO IN THE OTHER AREAS OF MAUI. IF YOUR A GOLFER OR RESORT TYPE STICK TO THE OTHER TOWNS, BUT IF YOUR A DO IT YOURSELFER, YOU'LL DO OK HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

NIGHTLIFE IS LIMITED ON MAUI, NOT TOO MUCH GOING ON.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Sonnenschein
Seattle
Oct 1, 2011

Amazing Vacation

I stayed here with a friend of mine for one week. We were looking for a cheap place to stay just the nights as we rented a car to go around Maui. The hotel is perfect if you travel like this. The stuff is friendliy and welcoming. And staying in Kahului is great as you are close to supermarkets.. and don´t need to take a long drive to go to the other beautiful corners of the island. The Hotel is clean and safe. They have washers and a nice little pool (for those who don´t wanna go to the amazing beaches) the included shuttle was a great thing to have too. And their driver was super friendly! I really enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to a friend!!! ALOHA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We went to a mexican place on the other side of the street. Super Yummy I just forgot the name of the restaurant..

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Ohio, USA
Mar 19, 2012

LOCATION, LOCATION

If your coming from east coast and going to haleakala this is the perfect stop for your first night, close to airport with free shuttle and last pick up for haleakala tour bus at 3:55 AM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Sep 22, 2007

Decent for one night

We needed a place to stay near the airport which is why we chose the Maui Beach Hotel. The room was small but clean. Happy to see free in-room internet access. It was ok for an overnight but would not recommend for an entire vacation in Hawaii. Not much beach and limited eating options in hotel. We followed others advise and walked to the mall across the street for dinnner (food court options). Not exactly the Hawaiian experience you want for your first night but it seemed lodging options were limited near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Makajames
Molokai, Hawaii
Aug 5, 2012

location

Hotel stay was very good, great location, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Apr 19, 2007

Good For The Price

We selected this hotel simply based on price. If you are on a tight budget, this is the place for you. They are also going under some sort of renovation right now, too. It's located in Kahului (sp?), which is about 40 minutes away from all of the touristy stuff located in Lahaina, but about five to ten minutes (depending on stop lights and local traffic) from the airport. The staff was friendly. The bar staff was very friendly, too, but the bar closes around 9 or 9:30 (local bars are open until 10:30); they have a nightly buffet, which looked good but we didn't try it. This looked to be where the locals stayed, as we didn't see a lot of tourists here. Nothing fancy here, but for the money you really can't go wrong. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, and there are two malls across the street within walking distance. Lots of shopping, if that's your thing. Overall, it's a good hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like old time diner's, give Ruby's a try. Great food, decent prices, and right across the street from the hotel.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Boise, ID
May 14, 2007

Good location

Maui Beach has been a comfortable and affordable hotel for us. It is conveniently located...just a few minutes away from the malls and island restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Queem Kaahumanu Shopping Mall is just across the street and has a variety of shops for anyone to enjoy.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

The Hotel was very clean and the house keeping was very good.We did not eat there becahus neither one of us likes buffets.It is near the shopping center which was convient We have always stayed at the expensive resort hotels and never got out to see the Island.We never left the grounds but this time we got out to see the real Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grounds are well kept and we had a great view.

Back to menu Return to top