$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hinahina
Honolulu
Oct 2, 2012

To Short!

We stayed for only one night, it was ok. We didnt get to walk around and see the hotel, but maybe next time we will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oletared
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2012

good enough for a night

We picked this hotel because we didn't want to drive our first night, and they offered airport pickup. It was very efficient, with a friendly driver. That's about all they offered. A shabby, if clean, nonsmoking room. A fridge but no coffee maker. Across the street from a mall with average food options. The breakfast buffet was pricey and didn't look enticing. We got a pretty decent price, and if all you need is a convenient place for a decent price, this is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We picked up a Subway from the Long's shopping center a few blocks away for the loooong drive to Hana, and it came in handy. They open at 7.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JahSea
Iroquois Pt, Hawaii
Sep 26, 2012

Convenience at its best

Staffing was excellent! Customer service from the front desk to the dining facility was very welcoming. Attended my mothers memorial service on the island of Maui not the happiest moments but the staff made our stay pleasureable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wacky Macky
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 12, 2012

Good Place to Stay

I liked the hotel very much. I had no problems with anything. I would suggest that you pay the extra dollars for a garden room, I did. Non garden rooms front a very busy road or a very large parking lot. The buffet breakfast for $13.00 was worth it. If I return to Kahului I'll stay here again. written 8/12/2012

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall across the street has an excellent food court, besides Macy's, Sears, and movie theaters.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makajames
Molokai, Hawaii
Aug 5, 2012

location

Hotel stay was very good, great location, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mangy Dog
Hilo HI
Jul 17, 2012

Drag race weekend

Very good location right in town on ocean front. Clean rooms but dated. Toilet small needs upgrading but will rent again because it is in a very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frozenblood
Milwaukee
May 25, 2012

The feeling when you saw a cockroach in your washroom

let alone the moldy bedroom and no breakfast! How would I rate?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.K.
Las Vegas
May 21, 2012

Great value

We arrived several hours before the check-in time. The manager was very helpful in arranging a room immediately for us. We checked out late by two hours and was not charged. The location was perfect to see all the sites in Maui with very reasonable driving time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Laurie
Colorado
May 21, 2012

Island hopping

It was an ok place to stay. The beds were a bit hard but it was clean. A short walk to the beach was nice. Our TV got really poor reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top