Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental d├ęcor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kamaaina Joe
Honolulu, HI
Feb 4, 2014

Little disappointed

We had three people in the room and only left 2 towels for the first night. Next morning asked maid to leave appropriate number of towels. Got back to room and still only two towels. Housekeeping didn't answer phone so called front desk. Had to argue with the her to get adequate number of towels delivered to the room. Carpet needs to be shampooed - extremely dirty. Only bright light was the morning crew and breakfast buffet. They were awesome, helpful, and remembered that my daughter loved pancakes. He went out of his way and made her "special" pancakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If just needing a place to lay your head that is central, then this is ok.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Feb 3, 2011

Disapointed

The only thing we liked about staying at this hotel was the short drive to a German bakery for fresh bread in the morning and to/from the airport. Otherwise, we should have paid a little more and stayed at a higher class in a different part of the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

close to 2 malls.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Dec 16, 2010

Good for one night stay

The hotel is in a great location. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I like to stay in hotels that are a complete package. The one thing that is missing from this hotel is that it lacks upgrades, it is dated. It sits right on the beach, has a great restaruant, near the airport and is near shopping areas. If it were a more modern hotel, I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2b travelers
Oregon
Mar 25, 2014

Could be better

The bed was comfortable, but trash stuck to my foot from under the bed. No toiletries except in bottles attached to walls. No coffee maker in room and charge for coffee in lobby. Van did not run after 9 p.m. for late arrival. Van driver in morning was very nice and accommodating. Probably will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hilo Girl
Hilo, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2009

Okay, but disappointing!

At the time of booking with Orbitz, I was not able to request rooms with two beds in each room because there were 4 of us staying there (my husband and our two adult children). We called the hotel 3 days prior to arrival to request this and were assured that it would be as requsted. However, when we checked in, we were not given those rooms. They claimed that we had been "upgraded to a deluxe room" and if we wanted a room with two beds, we would have to stay in different areas of the hotel which would have been an inconvenience for our family. They finally accomodated us by giving us a roll-away in one of the very tiny rooms. Another inconvenience was checking in: We arrived at 2 pm hoping to get into our rooms, but were told that our rooms were NOT ready and we had to wait till 3 pm. Unfortunately, we had a funeral to attend at 3 pm and ended up changing in the car and a public bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berlin, Germany
Mar 26, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

We luckily got a room facing the inner court, which was fine as the hotel is surrounded by heavy traffic. The front desk service was the worst I experienced since many years in traveling. So the complementary flight check in doesn't exist any more, so the service handbook for the guests should be updated. Also the hotel should get rid of some their unfriendly employees at the reception. Simple unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping centers are in short distances, like Foodland, Safeway etc.. Also the central location of the hotel is ok, when you manage to get a quit room. Good luck.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Troubadoura
Portland, Oregon
Mar 22, 2014

Not romantic

Dirty window so don't bother paying extra for a view of the ocean. Wonderful, friendly staff! But in general nothing worked and they try to charge you for everything, even calls to fix their Internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Halon
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 25, 2011

It's a place to stay

If everything's sold out it will do. Not a great location but hey. It's a room right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall is right across the street

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flglitter
Sarasota, FL, USA
Dec 2, 2011

No frills, but a decent place to stay. Airport shuttle is a huge +. I

Staff was friendly. Across the street from a large mall. I would only recommend for a couple of nights. Furnishings are meager, but $ does include breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oletared
Miami, FL
Sep 27, 2012

good enough for a night

We picked this hotel because we didn't want to drive our first night, and they offered airport pickup. It was very efficient, with a friendly driver. That's about all they offered. A shabby, if clean, nonsmoking room. A fridge but no coffee maker. Across the street from a mall with average food options. The breakfast buffet was pricey and didn't look enticing. We got a pretty decent price, and if all you need is a convenient place for a decent price, this is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We picked up a Subway from the Long's shopping center a few blocks away for the loooong drive to Hana, and it came in handy. They open at 7.

Back to menu Return to top