$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
179 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.K.
Las Vegas
May 21, 2012

Great value

We arrived several hours before the check-in time. The manager was very helpful in arranging a room immediately for us. We checked out late by two hours and was not charged. The location was perfect to see all the sites in Maui with very reasonable driving time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Makajames
Molokai, Hawaii
Aug 5, 2012

location

Hotel stay was very good, great location, and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Apr 19, 2007

Good For The Price

We selected this hotel simply based on price. If you are on a tight budget, this is the place for you. They are also going under some sort of renovation right now, too. It's located in Kahului (sp?), which is about 40 minutes away from all of the touristy stuff located in Lahaina, but about five to ten minutes (depending on stop lights and local traffic) from the airport. The staff was friendly. The bar staff was very friendly, too, but the bar closes around 9 or 9:30 (local bars are open until 10:30); they have a nightly buffet, which looked good but we didn't try it. This looked to be where the locals stayed, as we didn't see a lot of tourists here. Nothing fancy here, but for the money you really can't go wrong. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, and there are two malls across the street within walking distance. Lots of shopping, if that's your thing. Overall, it's a good hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like old time diner's, give Ruby's a try. Great food, decent prices, and right across the street from the hotel.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boise, ID
May 14, 2007

Good location

Maui Beach has been a comfortable and affordable hotel for us. It is conveniently located...just a few minutes away from the malls and island restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Queem Kaahumanu Shopping Mall is just across the street and has a variety of shops for anyone to enjoy.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

The Hotel was very clean and the house keeping was very good.We did not eat there becahus neither one of us likes buffets.It is near the shopping center which was convient We have always stayed at the expensive resort hotels and never got out to see the Island.We never left the grounds but this time we got out to see the real Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grounds are well kept and we had a great view.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ventura, Ca
Jul 5, 2011

Maui Beach Hotel

The Hotel was very clean and the house keeping was very good.We did not eat there becahus neither one of us likes buffets.It is near the shopping center which was convient We have always stayed at the expensive resort hotels and never got out to see the Island.We never left the grounds but this time we got out to see the real Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The grounds are well kept and we had a great view.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KrisIggy
Kailua-kona
Dec 16, 2012

Great for first time staying at a hotel

We were only there for one night it was perfect. The shopping malls are across the street everything you need is close by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Sep 22, 2007

Decent for one night

We needed a place to stay near the airport which is why we chose the Maui Beach Hotel. The room was small but clean. Happy to see free in-room internet access. It was ok for an overnight but would not recommend for an entire vacation in Hawaii. Not much beach and limited eating options in hotel. We followed others advise and walked to the mall across the street for dinnner (food court options). Not exactly the Hawaiian experience you want for your first night but it seemed lodging options were limited near the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JahSea
Iroquois Pt, Hawaii
Sep 26, 2012

Convenience at its best

Staffing was excellent! Customer service from the front desk to the dining facility was very welcoming. Attended my mothers memorial service on the island of Maui not the happiest moments but the staff made our stay pleasureable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pollyanna1
Cincinnati,Ohio
Oct 21, 2012

Perfect arrival hotel

If you are arriving at the Maui airport ln the evening, this is an ideal place to spend the first night. The staff is so helpful, picking us up after a late flight and then taking us to the rental car office early in the morning. The also held our luggage during the day as we did not want to leave it in the rental car while touring. Super value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Tustin, CA
Jan 4, 2009

Sleep Only

This was my first time at the Maui Beach Hotel. It is in a fantastic location, scenic was beautiful! When I first arrived at the Hotel the front desk gal informed us that our room wasn't going to be ready. We waited for an 1 1/2 before our room was ready. Now after a 6 hour flight I was looking forward to lying down but that didn't happen because our room wasn't ready. We hardly spent time in the hotel, everyday my boyfriend and I had some type of excursion scheduled. But by the end of the day, we would arrive home exhausted and so looking forward to sleeping. The Hotel was used to sleep, shower, and out the door we go...so overall we enjoyed staying at the Maui Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Koho Cafe where my boyfriend and I had breakfast was outstanding and homemade dishes to choose from. The mall is right next door. 20 mins from Maalea Harbor. 30 mins from Lahaina. 35 mins from Kaanapali.

Back to menu Return to top