$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
145 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
The Maui Beach Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of the hotel.
Rooms
The renovated Maui Beach Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental décor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bennn
Honolulu
Aug 7, 2012

Under-rated

This year I've stayed at 5 hotels in Waikiki, two in Seattle, and one in Portland, and this was the best of them all. I read some terrible reviews for this hotel, but for the price, I could not pass it up. Turned out to be the best choice. The hotel was conveniently located five minutes from the airport, along the coast, easy to find and navigate from. The parking was free and plentiful, which is already more than every hotel I've been to. I arrived significantly earlier than I thought I would, but they let me check in anyway, and with an upgrade since it was the only room available that early! Staff was extremely courteous and made me feel like an appreciated customer. The room was extremely clean, and while the hotel looks old, the room seemed renovated by professionals. The shower had adjustable height/settings and with hose, the tub was clean enough that I took a bubble bath. No cigarette stains, no marks, no smells, no issues. Room had high speed internet, LCD tv, while just down the hall was an indoor pool, breakfast buffet, and fitness room. The AC was a little louder than expected, but it was so comfortable I fell right asleep. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive at first, but was reasonable once I saw the prices on the rest of Maui. To think this was the cheapest option!! I am definitely staying here on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
Apr 19, 2007

Good For The Price

We selected this hotel simply based on price. If you are on a tight budget, this is the place for you. They are also going under some sort of renovation right now, too. It's located in Kahului (sp?), which is about 40 minutes away from all of the touristy stuff located in Lahaina, but about five to ten minutes (depending on stop lights and local traffic) from the airport. The staff was friendly. The bar staff was very friendly, too, but the bar closes around 9 or 9:30 (local bars are open until 10:30); they have a nightly buffet, which looked good but we didn't try it. This looked to be where the locals stayed, as we didn't see a lot of tourists here. Nothing fancy here, but for the money you really can't go wrong. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, and there are two malls across the street within walking distance. Lots of shopping, if that's your thing. Overall, it's a good hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like old time diner's, give Ruby's a try. Great food, decent prices, and right across the street from the hotel.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Tustin, CA
Jan 4, 2009

Sleep Only

This was my first time at the Maui Beach Hotel. It is in a fantastic location, scenic was beautiful! When I first arrived at the Hotel the front desk gal informed us that our room wasn't going to be ready. We waited for an 1 1/2 before our room was ready. Now after a 6 hour flight I was looking forward to lying down but that didn't happen because our room wasn't ready. We hardly spent time in the hotel, everyday my boyfriend and I had some type of excursion scheduled. But by the end of the day, we would arrive home exhausted and so looking forward to sleeping. The Hotel was used to sleep, shower, and out the door we go...so overall we enjoyed staying at the Maui Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Koho Cafe where my boyfriend and I had breakfast was outstanding and homemade dishes to choose from. The mall is right next door. 20 mins from Maalea Harbor. 30 mins from Lahaina. 35 mins from Kaanapali.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Island Hoppers
San Diego, Ca
Nov 10, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price.

Hotel location was great! Close to the airport, shopping mall and even close to the swap meet and few steps to the beach.Free hotel shuttle services within 5 miles every hour or less when available, washer/dryer; free internet connection, ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator in room. Staff especially receptionist [...] and driver [...] were very friendly and accomodating except for that sales manager who would not crack a smile or say hi. Room and utilities are good, beds and linens are always clean; shower stall needs to be larger and door lock needs to be changed and door needs to be noise- proof. Free breakfast daily with several food choices. Dining room is welcoming with tropical flowers and staff very polite and always checks if you needed anything else. Dinner is quite expensive for a buffet, needed to add more selection in their menu. Elevator was my main complaint, it smells and carpeting need change. Over-all, hotel is commendable,good place for your money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Ottawa, Canada
Jan 1, 2011

Maui Beach is a $13 taxi trip

We checked in late due to flight delays and were welcomed by a stoney faced night manager that was all buisness. The room was small and on the ground floor facing the parking lot. Very clean and well maintained. In the morning we had a complementary breakfast before heading out to do tourist things. They shuttled us to the airport no cost, and we picked up a car rental. Parking is free. There is a clean beach and canoe club right beside the hotel's beach. Great for early risers. If you are early and lucky enough, you might even get to go out in one of the canoes with the club. The water is clear and usually very calm with lots of fish to see if you bring your snorkelling gear. Not the Hilton but very affordable for a couple of nights stay. I'd reccomend it for late or short stays. 5 minutes to the airport. Shopping across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want ready made ribs, or picnic foods for the cooler, just a short walk across the street is the best Whole Food grocery store where you can stock up on daily supplies and eat what you want.

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennis
Not Provided
Jan 27, 2010

The Hotel is very clean and has

The Hotel is very clean and has security to ensure safety of guests and also near to the Airport with free shuttle service. Very near to a Big Shopping Mall and very convenient to find food. Stay for 2 nights and feel very comfortable. Would love to come back again, and also recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 4, 2009

The bad and Average because when

The bad and Average because when I did ask for help with a computer, they didn't want tp help. I think not having internet is not good, at least one computer for the whole hotel would be a good help. I needed to check-in and I was not able to do it! Anyway in general was okay but for the price not good, should be cheaper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vancouver
May 1, 2011

Good Value Good Location

Great Location near airport. Friendly helpful staff and good shuttle to and from airport Clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rawlins, Wyoming
Mar 24, 2011

Very nice friendly hotel on the bay

Room was clean and proper temperature for comfort. Restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very good (especially the fresh pineapple each day) Will definitely return here on next trip to Maui!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khur
Queens, NY
Aug 14, 2011

fantastic, memorable getaway for a couple

Hotel, was clean and neat. Staff members were courteous, helpful. Very convenient to stop for breakfast, dinner served was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

AM sunrise - its awesome, you got to see it to believe it. Would recommend strongly to see this while in Maui

Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bkadle
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Great Stay

Very Close to the airport, rooms were clean and comfortable, lots of space. Staff was great, very personable, very helpful! food was good. The only down side I could find was the Hawaii prices overall. But knowing that prices are just normally high in Hawaii, this was a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search