$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

2 stars
170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, HI 96732
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
133 reviews
Maui hotel

Staff was great! Hotel was in great location for us. Staff was always cleaning some part of the... See full review

  • Shannon Maui vacation
  • Jun 3, 2014
Very happy guest!!!

Staff is great, the only thing is that I wish the hotel would be in Wailea, but certainly is... See full review

  • Seasoned traveler 2013
  • Feb 14, 2014
Centrally located, value priced hotel near Kahului airport and harbor
A value priced low-rise hotel near Kahului Harbor and Maui's main airport, the Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel is an ideal choice for visitors connecting to a cruise ship, stopping overnight on Maui or seeking a central base for exploring the island. The hotel has undergone an extensive renovation and features a lovely pool and sundeck area, as well as a restaurant and lounge. Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel also offers free shuttle service to and from the airport, free area shuttle service, free fitness center access and free high-speed Internet access.
Highlights
  • Free airport-hotel shuttle and free surrounding-area shuttle
  • Easy access to Kahului Airport and Kahului Harbor
  • Free Internet access
  • Fitness center
Location
Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel is centrally located in Kahului, a few minutes from the island's main airport and ship harbor. Iao Needle, the historic Wailuku, Paia, Hookipa Beach, the Maui Arts & Cultural Center and Maui's main business district are all in the immediate area. Upcountry Maui and its most popular destination, the summit of Haleakala, also are easily accessible. A swimming beach is within several miles of Maui Beach Hotel.
Rooms
Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel offers guests 147 island and continental decor rooms with free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, air conditioning, mini-refrigerator, iron, bathroom amenities and safe. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Recreation
  • Swimming pool and sundeck
  • Free fitness center access
  • Outdoor massage treatments
Transportation
  • Kahului Harbor (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Kahului Airport (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • The hotel offers guests a free airport shuttle and a free five mile-radius area shuttle
Attractions
  • Alexander & Baldwin Sugar Museum (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Iao Valley State Monument (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maui Ocean Center (8.7 mi/14 km)
  • Lahaina Town (23.4 mi/37.7 km)
  • Haleakala National Park (38.3 mi/61.7 km)

Hotel Map

20.89 -156.4707
Area served
Kahului, HI
Nearby airports
Kahului Airport-OGG, 10 minutes away. Airport Shuttle runs daily from 6A-845P.
Area description
Situated on the shores of Kahului Bay, Maui Beach Hotel commands Maui's most convenient location in the heart of downtown Kahului, just minutes from Kahului Airport, shopping, beaches, and golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Standard Room
Standard guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access
Superior Deluxe Room
Superior-Deluxe guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, and includes a bathtub . This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Deluxe Ocean Front
Deluxe Oceanfront guest rooms has a king bed or two double beds available, includes a bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 330 sq ft in size and has a pull out sofa, iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.
Garden View Room
Garden View guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and has a beautiful courtyard view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Superior Room
Superior guest rooms has a queen bed or two double beds available, and is located on the second floor with a mountain view. This room features a writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV and data port for internet access.
Oceanfront Suite
Oceanfront Suite has a queen bed available, includes a separate shower and bathtub with an ocean view. This room is 426 sq ft in size and has an iron and ironing board, writing desk, armoire, air conditioning, hairdryer, in room safe, color cable TV, and data port for internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Rainbow Terrace
Enjoy casual poolside dining at the Rainbow Terrace on the second floor. The restaurant has an open atmosphere and serves breakfast daily from 6:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Maui's best dinner buffets are featured nightly from 5:30 p.m. Sunday brunch is available from 10:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.K.
Las Vegas
May 21, 2012

Great value

We arrived several hours before the check-in time. The manager was very helpful in arranging a room immediately for us. We checked out late by two hours and was not charged. The location was perfect to see all the sites in Maui with very reasonable driving time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom and Laurie
Colorado
May 21, 2012

Island hopping

It was an ok place to stay. The beds were a bit hard but it was clean. A short walk to the beach was nice. Our TV got really poor reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AHA1
Kailua, HI, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Maui Beach Hotel Review

Hotel was located as close as you can get to the Maui Arts and Cultural Center, which was our main destination for the trip. Free and easily accessible parking. Fast check-in and check-out times. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was average - 1 bed, desk, bedside tables, bathroom, fridge. Amenities were more than expected with iron/ironing board, blowdryer, etc... Room was cleaned and stocked daily at convenient times for us. It's an average hotel for cheap prices. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent or bring a GPS! It made our trip so much more easier and we are from Oahu and had been to Maui several times. It still saved us a lot of aimless driving and illegal U-turns.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phinman
San Francisco
Dec 29, 2010

Short Stay in Maui

You get what you pay for. It's a great place to stay if you just need a place to put your head down at the end of the day after doing all the touristy activities. Don't expect all the bells and whistles and you won't be disappointed. My girlfriend and I had no major complaints since we booked this at the last minute and got a good rate! A simple bed and breakfast at a great location to the many destinations around Maui.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
csinhawaii
Honolulu, HI
Mar 10, 2012

got what I paid for. served it's purpose

Nothing special or fancy. Good for shower and sleep. Close to airport and Wailuku/Kahului towns. Can't imagine spending any time at the facility, there's nothing to do. Rooms are clean. If you prefer bar soap, bring your own. Soap and shampoo are in liquid dispensers - something new to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sling4ever
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 21, 2012

An OK stay at the MBH.

My stay at the Maui Beach Hotel was decent considering the location and the value of the hotel. The room service and activities did fulfill my expectations, nothing more, nothing less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mimip2013
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 26, 2013

Good Location

Clean, but very small rooms. Depending on which room you get, some are very outdated. I travel here a few times a month for work and it is good for the value. The staff has seemed to lose my reservation on more than one occasion, so they really need to figure out a better reservation system. Close to the mall and the airport so no bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moonby5
New York
Oct 19, 2012

Maui Beach hotel

Location is what makes this hotel good, close to the airport and good food stores, such as the "whole food store. The room is not that bad but the bathroom is so small, there is only a stand up shower which is very small and outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole food store, has a variety of fresh cook food and breads, great money saver

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 30, 2010

Better than what I expected

The location was not my favorite, but if you are planning to explore the island rather than spend the day at the Hotel, it is a good option. The price is fair and the rooms are very clean. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods is just a block away. There are two Shopping centers with great places to eat one and two blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Moab, Utah
Feb 23, 2011

Conveinient, quiet, clean

Centrally location made easy access to up-country towns and Haleakala crater. Many discount stores near by where we frugal travelers stock up on groceries. Cleaner and quieter than we expected. Very friendly helpful staff. Easy parking, adequate security. Would definatly prefer a condo in Kihei. Beach and snorkle areas were a little further away and a condo would be more spacious and comfortable but this worked well for a couple who didn't mind close quarters and didn't spend much time in room. We booked last minute and availability was a factor, this hotel made our trip possible and affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Groceries much cheaper in Kahalui than other Maui towns, buy a cooler and stock up on lunch fixings. Best budget dinner for two- Little Ceasars Large pep pizza for $7.00 located in K-mart.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Maui Beach Hotel, a LITE Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hilo Girl
Hilo, Hawaii
Jul 20, 2009

Okay, but disappointing!

At the time of booking with Orbitz, I was not able to request rooms with two beds in each room because there were 4 of us staying there (my husband and our two adult children). We called the hotel 3 days prior to arrival to request this and were assured that it would be as requsted. However, when we checked in, we were not given those rooms. They claimed that we had been "upgraded to a deluxe room" and if we wanted a room with two beds, we would have to stay in different areas of the hotel which would have been an inconvenience for our family. They finally accomodated us by giving us a roll-away in one of the very tiny rooms. Another inconvenience was checking in: We arrived at 2 pm hoping to get into our rooms, but were told that our rooms were NOT ready and we had to wait till 3 pm. Unfortunately, we had a funeral to attend at 3 pm and ended up changing in the car and a public bathroom!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top