$279 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
540 reviews
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Amazing Location!!

For the money you spend this hotel doesn't get any better! This is the only hotel on the North... See full review

  • Shan World Traveler
  • Sep 16, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (540)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 540
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ca tour guy
Business
dc
Oct 5, 2014

Cottages are beautiful

We splurged for our honeymoon and got the cottages for the night, it was exceptional and well worth it. The personalized service made sure we were well taken care of and we could solely focus on relaxing and enjoying our stay. Rooms were immaculate, with beautiful views. We stayed the prior night at "Paradise Bay" for about $100 cheaper, and if I could go back I would have paid double the rate to stay at Turtle bay both nights instead of wasting money at Paradise bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
returning resident
Business
Seattle
Aug 8, 2014

Where I want to stay on Oahu

I am a returning resident so Turtle Bay is where I wanted to be. I have been staying there several times since it opened as Kuilima. This time my daughter and I stayed in the cottages. They are roomy with tall ceilings and a nice open terrace (ground floor, naturally,) I thought we would spend more time on the terrace but two problems prevented this. There was a Bush directly in front which obscured our ocean view. I'm sure this was meant for privacy but when you pay for ocean view, you expect to see it unobstructed. Also, during the day, it was very hot on the lanais. Even though it was windy throughout our stay, the rooms were somehow situated (we were in 114) so that the breezes did not hit us. The grounds are gorgeous. There are many options, pool, beach, coast. We spent a day by the lagoon and if you can snag an umbrella as we did, it was perfect, Ola' s, a wonderful restaurant with outdoor seating was right there so as we lounged on the beach, we could listen to live Hawaiian music. Perfect. We also spent 3 days at the pool. Lots of shade.which I like and. My daughter chose lounge chairs facing the ocean where she could watch the surfers. Pool bar serves fairly good food, thai mahi tacos, berry salads, hamburgers, etc. Pricey, most items will run you around $16. Tropical drinks $10-12 . Ate at Ola' s once for pupu' s and once for dinner. Again with one drink and entree's around $32, a meal for two ran $140 with tip. I stayed 4 nights and my costs, not including room rate was $600 (daily resort fees, taxes, some drinks and meals as I mostly paid cash.) This was a birthday splash for my daughter so the cottages were a splurge. Given the hot patio, I think I'd opt next time for an ocean front room. Given my choice between Turtle Bay and Waikiki resorts (I have stayed at several upscale ones) I'd stay at TB again hands down. It is more local, lots of live music poolside, sitting out in the most gorgeous setting, sipping cocktails. I had lots of my island friends stopping by throughout my stay so it was that much nicer. If you do stay in the cottages, you have your own parking right there and that's a plus. Personally, I parked and never left the resort but I'm not a tourist. There are fun small towns and nice beaches nearby but that wasn't my goal. So all in all, wonderful stay. Go with deep pockets cause it will cost you. Love the staff. Everyone wonderful. Do ask for itemized statement. There was a charge for a bar I had never attended so they made that adjustment. My guess is that can happen anywhere but do assess before leaving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In nearby Kahuku, stop and get the garlic shrimp from the food trucks. I like the original truck near Kahuku grill that looks like it's been painted and scribbled on. So ono.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunty Plumeria
Business
Hale'iwa, Hawai'i
Jul 24, 2014

Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time. The grounds are breathtaking, the staff is friendly and it is a safe environment for families. It is like and island in itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losa W
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 10, 2014

Awesome vacay resort!

My daughters and I had the time of our lives! Great view from our room. Excellent customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Polynesian Cultural Center, beaches and local grinds (food).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenD100
Business
Broomfield, Colorado
May 20, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

We booked through an online travel site. Got a good rate. Check in was easy. Our room was nice, full view of the ocean even though we were suppose to receive partial view. We also had full view of their roof construction that looked terrible and we began to worry about the noise that it would bring so we tried to switch rooms. They said they only had a king with no balcony available so we decided to wait until the next day to see how bad the construction noise would be. The first night was horrible: we didn't make it past midnight. There was this awful sound coming from the interior wall that was loud and wouldn't stop. By midnight we were very upset and called the front desk because it was very difficult for my husband and I to sleep (although it didn't seem to bother our daughter). At first they wanted to send a technician up to see if it could be fixed. They also said they were all booked for rooms at our price level and had nowhere to put us! So we waited for the technician for a few minutes until realizing that the only thing they could do is tear down the wall to stop the noise. They were wasting our valuable sleep time for our vacation! So we called down again and said we need a new room! The person helping us said that they did have a room, it was a downgrade from what we were currently in because they had "upgraded" our reservation with full ocean view (and full construction view). We took the downgrade happily since that's what we were suppose to have in the first place. Turned out to be a much better room than the first one even with only partial view of the ocean. Thanks but no thanks for the initial upgrade!!! One thing we were very disappointed with is the inconvenience and lost sleep that was caused by having to switch rooms at midnight, yet they never once offered something nice to make up for it. The security manager was very nice but come on people! We had to switch rooms in the middle of the night and you did nothing to say sorry? Not very impressive because we lost part of our night thanks to your room and the noise it was making! The rest of the time was good and the room was quiet. All the staff is very friendly. Every employee we saw gave us big smiles and alohas every time! We were very impressed with that. Housekeeping was very friendly and accommodating. The only other con is that its very busy on the weekend (especially the pool). Not sure if it's like that every weekend or only because of mothers day weekend but the pool area was packed full of people. Another thing is if you plan on taking advantage of the FREE self-parking (included in resort fee) be aware that its tricky because the parking lot gets quite full during the day with beach goers. On many occasions we had a long walk to the hotel. Doesn't seem quite fair when we are paying to stay there. Shouldn't guests have a reserved spot every day regardless of whether the valet is parking the car or you are doing it yourself? We would recommend this hotel. Although we were not happy with the initial room situation, it did smooth out once we moved to a new room. In our case, with the midnight room switch, they didn't go above and beyond to make us feel valued what- so-ever. The hotel itself is 5 stars but with other things factored in the experience was a 3 1/2 for us. Time is precious on vacation and so is sleep. So costing your clients either isn't a nice thing to do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kylezmom
Business
SF
May 7, 2014

Turtle bay

Great location! Friendly staff, beautiful Pool with slide for the kiddos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Haleiwa a small town close by on the Harbor has THE cutest shops and some killer restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SPLITSHOT
Business
BOISE, IDAHO
Apr 6, 2014

GREAT EXPERIENCE

EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT EXCEPT THE COST OF DINNING AT THE RESORT! IT WAS VERY EXPENSIVE TO EAT ANYTHING WHILE AT THE HOTEL. THEY NEED TO MAKE IT MORE AFFORDABLE TO EAT ON SITE. $60.OO FOR BREAKFAST IS WAY TOO MUCH. AND OVER $100.00 FOR THE BUFFET DINNER IS STUPID. WE STARTED DINNING OFF SITE AT LOCAL PLACES AND SAVED A BUNDLE. IF THE RESORT WANTS TO KEEP THAT $$$$$ ON THEIR BOTTOM LINE, REDUCE THE COST OF THE FOOD AND DRINK AND KEEP THE $$$$ THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

ANYWHERE BUT ON THE RESORT GROUNDS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
evamarie777
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2014

Greeting Was Awesome

When I initially checked in, the front desk person was awesome. She was more than helpful with any question I posed to her. However, it was exact opposite when I checked out. The person who checked me out had a "too bad, so sad" attitude toward me and was not helpful at all. Overall, it was a good stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cheap traveler
Business
seoul, korea
Jul 2, 2013

Fantastic getaway

I booked this hotel for my wife and in-laws. What I heard was it was great hotel and liked it so much, surround by great nature. Only bad part was there's nothing else; no shops, restaurants outside of hotel but I bet that is the point staying ther.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean front

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalFamily
Business
California
Jan 13, 2013

Good, not great

Location is amazing and there are a lot of activities both at the hotel and close by. If you are a surfer or like water, you will be happy here. The rooms are tired and the staff was just ok. I think it's overpriced for what it is, but it's the only hotel on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top