$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
542 reviews
Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 542
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lovela
Business
CA
May 31, 2012

Disappointed

I was really looking forward to a five star hotel on the north shore. I was sorely disappointed. This hotel is in need of an upgrade soon. The location on the beach is spectacular, but the rooms were lacking, no robes, the food at the different venues was average at best. In room dining lacked taste. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Polynesian Culture Center is a 15 min drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike DXQ
Business
northern CA
Dec 17, 2012

room needs better cleaning

room good but not clean (and cleaning people did not do a good job each day) - and there were ants !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Dec 29, 2008

Turkey Bay

Turtle Bay Resort was so out of the way the excursions would not pick you up. There was no way to get around unless you had a car. The gym was inferior and you had to pay extra to get a steam. The prices were extortionate and dining was unexceptional. The staff was friendly and the room was first rate, but because of an island outage I lost a night of entertainment and was miserable in my very dark room. Everything was closed due to no electricity. I would not go back to Turtle Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Nothing is nearby except over priced dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
primatefreak
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

I have stayed at this resort many times as my Dad has lived on the North Shore for the past 25 years, so it's convenient. The one thing I don't like is having to pay $25.00 plus tax per day resort fee for amenities. I did not use wireless internet, 1 hour per day snorkeling or most of these "amenities". As far as complimentary coffee/tea in the room. It's not complimentary when you are paying for it in the resort fee per day. Almost all hotels provide the coffee in your room without an additional charge. I am considering staying at another hotel my next trip. It always has cost more to stay at Turtle Bay but it becomes out of control when you have to pay an additional $235.00 at check out for things many offer at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to belong to a frequent flyer program, the miles add up quickly. Most airlines also have partners to get extra miles for purchases in store and online. Also, if you plan to shop in Foodland grocery store, get their Makai card for in store savings and additional miles with Hawaiian Air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tmolgee
Business
New York City
Oct 30, 2012

Really nice but pricey

Beautiful but a bit pricey. Would be nice to have some less expensive food options on the property. Oh and parking is a bit of a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Toes
Business
Wailuku, Hawaii
Jun 21, 2013

Quick Getaway

I originally booked a room for one night, at their lowest rate, in hopes I'd get the privilege of staying in one of their newly renovated rooms. Boy did I luck out! Upon check in, the gentleman at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade me to a king suite! 700+ square feet of brand newly renovated beauty. Room was awesome. Huge lanai, amazing bathroom, and a gorgeous view. The television, vanity mirror, and a few outlets were not working unfortunately, due to the construction that was taking place, I'm going to assume. However it did not concern me since I was on the lanai most of my time there. The surrounding beaches were very peaceful as well. All in all my stay was wonderful and I will def be making a trip back in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Romys Shrimp Truck is but a 5 minute drive from the hotel. If you love big juicy shrimp smothered in butter and garlic on a pile of fluffy white rice, Romy's is an absolute must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pacific Northwest
Jul 13, 2009

Great location, room quality varies

Return visit to TB (last trip 2007) and I have really enjoyed my stay both times. The location is unbeatable, with ocean views from all rooms. The beach is lovely, friendly to novice snorklers, with food/beverage located on the edge of the sand. Plenty of activities on the grounds - hiking, horseback riding, tennis, golf, swimming pool. Restaurants are good and there are several to choose from (although you can expect resort prices). Weaknesses - as was the case in 2007, room quality varies greatly. My first room (aside from a spectacular view of the beach) was solidly average, particularly in cleanliness and condition. The light fixtures and closet poles were rusted, there was crusted food on the desk chair, and the bathtub caulking had dark stains. Sadly, this does not appear to be an isolated problem - our room on the previous trip was in similar condition. This time I requested a room change and was moved to overlook the pool - a vast improvement (no rust, stains, cleaner overall). I don't enjoy writing negative things about such a beautiful resort/friendly staff, but TB still has some work to do to live up to their star rating. All rooms need to be cleaned up, not just those that house travel reviewers/VIPs. If you get one of the sub-par rooms, I recommend that you take it up with the front desk - with any luck, enough complaints will encourage management to invest the few hundred dollars per room it would take to brighten up again (i.e. new caulk for the shower and replace the paper light fixtures). My hope is for TB to be nicer for the next time I visit (because I will be back!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Shrimp shacks to the east (left from gate, drive a couple miles) - a little intimidating if you're not acustomed to restaurants that can drive away(!), but delicious fresh shrimp. Giovanni's is our traditional stop. To the west, Waimea Foodland has fried chicken and a Starbucks, as well as groceries - great for a picnic on the beach. And shaved ice in Hale'iwa - if the line at Matsumoto's is long, Aoki's next door is just as good. Try adding ice cream if haven't before - now I don't like it any other way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betty4225
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 1, 2011

May 2011 Vacation

I'm just back from my wonderful vacation to Hawaii and the Turtle Bay Resort. I noticed in some of the reviews that other visitors called out the main hotel for being out of date and needing a facelift. Over the last few years I've stayed in the very luxurious all the way to the bare necessities and, while the bathrooms in the main hotel could have used an upgrade or two, I found Turtle Bay to be one of the nicest and most comfortable hotels I've experienced. From the moment I arrived everyone who greeted me was pleasant and provided exceptional service. My room was always immaculate when I returned each day and each of the housekeeping staff was very nice and ready to help when I ran into them in the hallways. Also noticed that many complained about cost and quality of the hotels dining options. Hotel food is hotel food and if you travel often for business the cost and quality isn't a surprise. If you don't travel much, only for vacations or necessity I guess you would find the food expensive. Cost and quality of the restaurants was comparible to better hotels I've stayed at, there were multiple options to choose from and the service was always top notch. Turtle Bay offers many activities to chose from and keep you busy. I was there to relax and took advantage of the great pool area. They have cleanest, nicest hotel pool (and it didn't smell like chlorine). The pool staff was friendly and exceptional and my only complaint is that I didn't spend more time there! Actually, my only complaint about Turtle Bay is that I wasn't able to spend more time there period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ula
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 25, 2010

Amazing place

I didn't want to go to Waikiki and stayed in North Shore the whole time. This resort was a perfect place for me to stay as a single woman trying to relax and enjoy the island. The resort is located fairly close to towns where I could get local food. Also the resort itself has nice restaurant options. Stuff was very friendly and nice. The parking was okay, although I have a feeling it could get bad during a busy season. The resort offers many activities. The view from the resort is amazing. I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many places where you can enjoy local food in short drive distance. Try Shrimp trucks and poke in Kahuku. Ted's Bakery and Shark's Cove Grill in Sunset Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Dec 29, 2009

Everything you do costs extra

Hotel closed the beach during my stay and would not even allow the use of lounge chairs. RIDICULOUS!!! Beautiful location but all activities are ala carte. Almost no organized activities that make many resorts more fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Wiamea Valley was a spectacular place to hike and enjoy a wonderful botanical garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top