$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
552 reviews
Beautiful Hotel on Beautiful Shore

Wow, we have stayed at a number of hotels on the island, and this is the only one we are intent on... See full review

  • Gordon M.
  • Apr 21, 2015
Wonderful Trip

What a beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff is also wonderful. See full review

  • Brian R.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 552
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. R
Business
Walnut, CA
May 5, 2009

Turtle Bay Resort

Turtle bay was a true disappointment!!! Over priced, and rude staff. Needs a real makeover. I thought I was stuck in the 1970's. Facilitities are old, and dirty. The only decent area of the resort were the ocean front rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vanman99
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 28, 2012

First Vacation in Years

This was our first vacation in years and I have to say I was so disappointed in the hotel and the area. I had never been to Hawaii before but the beaches at the hotel were rocky and hard to walk on the sand was alot rougher than beaches in Florida or Cali. The Room was subpar the bathtub had been painted and the paint was coming off, when we first got there was oil or water running down the wall from the ac unit you could see old water staining where it had leaked before. The food was way over priced I mean 26 bucks for a buffet breakfast is crazy and dont even get me started with the dinner prices, we went off site every night and morning to eat. Overall I was utterly disappointed in the experience at the resort and the North shore in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Breakers is a good value to eat at in Hale Iwa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chase's Momma
Business
bakersfield, CA
Oct 21, 2010

Just OK experience

Well, when I checked in they were courteous, but I ended up the whole week trying to get them to figure out on my account the different charges. I ended up having to have my mom transfer money to a different account I had, because they first had used my debit visa, charged 200, then credited 200, which was authorized. Then when I checked my account they had charged $750.00 and it took them 4 days to credit it back and get it squared away. Plus, I never authorized any charge of $750.00. The food and restaurants on the hotel were rather expensive. Only good thing about the trip was that the actual hotel room did have a beautiful room. Otherwise, I would have rather stayed in Waikki or just stayed at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HAWAII 5O
Business
CHICAGO, IL
Oct 2, 2010

Waste Of Money

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

10 MILES WEST FROM THE HOTEL "FOODMART + STARBUCKS" WILL SAVE YOU A LOT OF $$$ THEN THE HOTEL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
evamarie777
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jan 27, 2014

Greeting Was Awesome

When I initially checked in, the front desk person was awesome. She was more than helpful with any question I posed to her. However, it was exact opposite when I checked out. The person who checked me out had a "too bad, so sad" attitude toward me and was not helpful at all. Overall, it was a good stay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Zonies
Business
Gilbert, AZ
Jun 9, 2009

Too bad its the only North Shore resort

The location is great away from the crowds of Waikiki however the resort in general needs a good updating. The carpet, paint, fixtures, furniture...everything needs to be updated. Our "ocean view" room was hardly that and when complained, the front desk did accomodate our request to move to better rooms after a couple of days when some rooms became available. The pool towels need to be replaced as they were very small and thin. The wind whistling through closed arcadia doors of our rooms sounded like a huge storm and at times made it difficult to sleep. The A/C vents rattle and the bed pillows were terrible. However, the staff was friendly and helpful and the resort and the rooms were very clean. The atmosphere was relaxed and beautiful. If you want to be away from Waikiki and you intend to just stay around the resort for golfing, surfing, etc. Turtle Bay is the place for you. I would recommend this hotel if it were updated as described above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to Hale'iwa Joe's and Breakers for great food and a change of pace from Resort food. Also while in Hale'iwa, for shave ice...skip the lines at Matsumoto's and walk over to Aoki's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Dottie
Business
New Mexico
Aug 22, 2012

Beautiful location

The location is awesome! The ambiance and cleanliness of the rooms was not up to the level that we expected since we had been there in March of 2011. Several of the staff were great, but there was not the friendly, welcoming spirit by many of the staff that we experienced on our previous trip. We were there for ten days so we ate at several of the restaurants, enjoyed the beach and saw many of the sites around the island. We love the North Shore, but we were somewhat disappointed in the Resort on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Waimea Valley is a "must see". It is beautiful!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LL travels a lot
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 14, 2012

North Shore Escape

This location is simply beautiful and that is what you are paying for. The rooms are run down and are in need of remodeling. I found out that no remodeling has happened in 40 years. So the inside of the rooms are straight out of the 70's. do not be fooled by the pictures, the rooms you are seeing are the villas and not the actual hotel rooms. On a positive note, if you spend most of your time outside your room it is a stunning surrounding. Trails and beaches are fantastic. The service at the hotel restaurants, valet and bell desk are great but the front desk needs some improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The flea market about 8 miles to the east of this property has amazing food trucks. Try Giovanni shrimp, BBQ corn and the Korean BBQ. Amazing island eats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CalFamily
Business
California
Jan 13, 2013

Good, not great

Location is amazing and there are a lot of activities both at the hotel and close by. If you are a surfer or like water, you will be happy here. The rooms are tired and the staff was just ok. I think it's overpriced for what it is, but it's the only hotel on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FairAssessor
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 9, 2009

Good, Bad, and Ugly

Gourgeoeus location, outside of hotel, lobby great - rest average. Worst part was the resort amenities open to anyone who paid to park there. 2 hottubs full of people not staying at hotel one night. Also air-conditioning below par, not just in room. Some of of concierge staff not friendly - act pompous - don't bother with older lady who looks friendly. Rest of staff friendly. 1 good restaurant, Lei Lei's, Palm Terrace the worst!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip Palm Terrace! Go to Lei Lei's. Try some of the off-resort restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top