$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
555 out of 555
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple on a babymoon
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2011

Perfect Island Retreat!

Turtle Bay was amazing! It is perfectly tucked in away from the little highway, in its own exclusive area. We loved being away from the busyness of Honolulu but still liked having it accessible. The food at some of the restaurants on site weren't fantastic, except for 21 and Lei Lei's, but it helped pushed us to find an adorable surf town called Haleiwa which had fantastic dining! We made our way to Haleiwa about everyday to try out a new restaurant each time. It is a great little town with very nice people. I would definitely go back to stay at Turtle Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive to Haleiwa and eat at Haleiwa Joe's, Cholo's and Luiebueno's for lunch and/or dinner and have breakfast at Cafe Haleiwa.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pro
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Mar 26, 2011

Turttle Bay

Great Location to get away fro the city life on Honolulu. A little disappointed in the type of bed we received we got a room with two queens, when the reservations said either a queen or king, we were never ask to upgrade of offerred the King Size bed. Better call and tell them what you want, to get one reserved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to Haliewa to shop and eat, they have great shops and good food in this town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
primatefreak
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

I have stayed at this resort many times as my Dad has lived on the North Shore for the past 25 years, so it's convenient. The one thing I don't like is having to pay $25.00 plus tax per day resort fee for amenities. I did not use wireless internet, 1 hour per day snorkeling or most of these "amenities". As far as complimentary coffee/tea in the room. It's not complimentary when you are paying for it in the resort fee per day. Almost all hotels provide the coffee in your room without an additional charge. I am considering staying at another hotel my next trip. It always has cost more to stay at Turtle Bay but it becomes out of control when you have to pay an additional $235.00 at check out for things many offer at no extra charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to belong to a frequent flyer program, the miles add up quickly. Most airlines also have partners to get extra miles for purchases in store and online. Also, if you plan to shop in Foodland grocery store, get their Makai card for in store savings and additional miles with Hawaiian Air.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kovi
Business
Sparks, NV, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great destination

The location is great View is spectacular from the room Though the room need some updating Overall would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

roadside foods are inexpensive and great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kljjk
Business
Illinois
Oct 13, 2011

Relaxing beautiful getaway

Hotel was nice and clean with friendly staff. Bathrooms have received only a minor face lift and are a little dated. Fantastic sunset views and relaxing beach with awesome chaise lounges with umbrellas. There isn't much else to do in the area. The drive to Honolulu is over an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend driving to nearby town about 20 minutes away called Haleiwa for less expensive food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frankyP
Business
Idaho, USA
Oct 24, 2011

good stuff

pretty nice facility. The kids really enjoyed it, even if the little one pooped his pants a couple of times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn56
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 4, 2011

Solitude

The staff was phenomenal. Our whole experience was great. My only complaint is that they need to upgrade the bathrooms. They are showing their wear. Would most definitely go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerry 1938
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort .

Great facility with all the amenities you could want. Only problem we had was getting the room staff to realize there were 3 of us rather than just 2. Other than that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to visit the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retters
Business
Santa Clarita, CA, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Turtle Bay Resort

The view from our balcony was fabulous! The location of the hotel was very convenient and the rooms were comfortable. It could have used some updating and some painting. The shutters to the sliding door were all chipped and the paint was peeling. The staff were very accommodating. We asked for more pillows and towels and they were delivered very quickly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ted's bakery for breakfast and a piece of their famous pie!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coffee Gurl
Business
Captain Cook, HI, USA
Nov 27, 2011

lovely setting, great staff, very kind and helpful

Spent a week here with my husband over thanksgiving. Didn't feel too crowded which we feared would happen. Went out and bought some cheap beach chairs so we didn't have to worry about getting a chair at the beach. The north shore is so beautiful, peaceful. just the place to stay to decompress from a too busy work schedule! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

OLA'S is a great restaurant right on the beach, featuring local fresh & well prepared dishes. The salmon salad is to die for... at the other end of the spectrum is the poolside bar/restaurant. The worst cocktail ever, highly overpriced. Asked to add more pineapple juice as it tasted like water slush with a tablespoon of juice and little to no rum, they bought it back just as awful as before. Another time ordered plain ice tea, and it came out of a can. Ridiculous! Their food is just poor fast food quality. If you care at all about food quality, avoid at all costs!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top