$319 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
542 reviews
Honey Moon!

Turtle bay is perfect & Beautiful! I love everything of this hotel. See full review

  • Rowi22
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great

This was our 3rd stay at TB, and it was our best. We were celebrating our 40 year anniversary. I... See full review

  • Vicnanc
  • Oct 4, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
The Point
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor The Point. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order The Point signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FairAssessor
Business
Asheville, NC
Jul 9, 2009

Good, Bad, and Ugly

Gourgeoeus location, outside of hotel, lobby great - rest average. Worst part was the resort amenities open to anyone who paid to park there. 2 hottubs full of people not staying at hotel one night. Also air-conditioning below par, not just in room. Some of of concierge staff not friendly - act pompous - don't bother with older lady who looks friendly. Rest of staff friendly. 1 good restaurant, Lei Lei's, Palm Terrace the worst!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Skip Palm Terrace! Go to Lei Lei's. Try some of the off-resort restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 8, 2009

Great for a quiet getaway!

The hotel is decieving. When we signed up we thought we were going to get a room on first floor and be able to walk out to ocean from out room. We also thought that we were going to get complementary breakfast but we did'nt. Be careful and read closely. Make sure what you are signing up for and what you are paying for! The hotel room when we first got there was dirty, hair all over bathroom. I rate the rooms in hotel probably a 3 star. The location of the hotel is breathtaking and beautifull! Great for a quiet romantic getaway for a couple. If you have kids and are planning on doing activities I found that every day that we were there we were traveling to the south side of the island to do things. It did'nt make much sence for us to stay all the way at the north shore, it takes time to travel to activities. If I were to go to Oahu again I would stay closer to the South side of the Island. The staff at turtle bay are all very nice and the property is beautifull! It is an Ideal location for a quiet restfull getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring GPS it saves you a lot of time trying to find places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, Az
Jun 22, 2009

Beautiful view, but

self parking was a long walk away, an add' $10 per day for valet. Food very expensive and not outstanding. wait staff not overly attentive. hamb $15, Breakfast $15-24., drinks $6.50 beer, $8.00 and up for others. small ref in room helped. view was beautiful though. far from everything, no nightlife there. would not return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland, CA
Jun 27, 2009

Good, but not as good as I'd expected

The Turtle Bay Resort sits on fantastic property and has beautiful views and its own beach. Service was great, they had nice restaurants, a good pool, and lots of services. We mainly used the Spa Luana, golf, and horseback riding. All of those were great, except I felt the spa was a little over priced. I also didn't like that they added in an 18% tip and then prompted you to tip on top of that after your service. $170 was enough for a 50 minute massage with the 18% that I didn't like feeling pressured to pay even more on top of that. The two main things I didn't like were the fact that the hotel needed a major update and that the gym was terrible. Our room looked fine in terms of the carpet and furniture, but the bathroom was very dated and almost looked dirty because of it, even though it wasn't. Little things like the baseboards were either dirty or very chipped up. In general, the hotel needs an overhaul. The gym pictures online were deceiving because they were taken into a mirror. For the size hotel it is, the gym is tiny. 5 pieces of cardio equipment total, each with a 20 minute time limit that no one obeys. It forced me to take my butt outside to exercise (which was good), but I think the gym should have been MUCH nicer. The $20 a day resort fee really adds up and can be frustrating when you find yourself not using the amenities it pays for. One additional negative that occurred...when we showed up, they had no reservation for us. They were 90% full and blamed it on Orbitz never faxing the info over 5 months prior. We immediately called Orbitz and they claimed it was not their fault. In the end, Turtle Bay ended up taking responsibility and no harm was done. Despite this, it's unnerving to have no reservation when you arrive at your vacation destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Haleiwa...good Sushi at Banzai, good Thai at Haleiwa Eats, and decent Mexican at Chols. At Turtle Bay, 21 Degrees is delicious, but very pricey, however, when you compare it to the other restaurant choices at Turtle Bay, it is far superior food for not all that much more.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last time hawaii traveler
Business
mission viejo, ca
Apr 19, 2010

5 star prices at 3 star accomodations

To say this hotel is a little tired would be an understatement. Not sure where the aledged $70 mil was spent but maybe that was 15 years ago. I'm sure first time Hawaii travelers would be just in love with this place but sorry not uns. The Marriot Courtyard in town is just as nice adn MUCH closer to EVERYTHING. The reosrt golf was totally SUB-PAR ! Some of the restaurants seemed like Furr's Cafeteria! Everything was way more expensiive and not worth it at all. Super delux room but the wind rattled the glass - keep us up all night. Lucky the gift shop had earplugs for the rest of the week. Just not the first class resort service i've seen at other places around the country or even Mexico. Something was broken or didnt work at every turn in the place. To top it off my golf travel bag went missing and the lousey attendant tried to blame me for leaving it there rather than picking it up for me ! Coke machines broken, broken workout machines, furniture in restaurant was probably original from day the place was built - bath towels too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Apr 18, 2007

Beauty has a Price

What a beautiful hotel. We loved our view from our room, it was spectacular and it felt very private because no other room could see into our room from their balconies. The Resort was quite expensive and we were surprised that a resort fee was attached to our final expenses. We found this especially surprising when we were charged for the use of all the resort facilities, such as the tennis racquets, volleyball equipment,and snorkel gear. The Resort Restuarants had very good food, but were quite pricy. We opted to eat at many fine eateries outside the Resort domain. We also liked the location of Turtle Bay, on the more quiet and rural North Shore. I hope they will be able to keep the North Shore as pristine as it is now. With the location and beauty of the room, I hope that I will be able to return to Turtle Bay someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fumis' Shrimp Truck, just a short drive south from the resort, was fabulous. It was such fresh succulent shrimp, that my husband thought he was eating lobster. Be sure to try the Garlic shrimp with Garlic Rice. You'll blow everyone away with your breath, but certainly worth the alienation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Queen
Business
Canada
May 8, 2009

Amazing!

I loved everything about the hotel, but one thing. The room service was to expensive and there is a delivery charge of $4!! Which i thought was weird since you just walking it our room not driving! Other then that, this is such a beautiful hotel, and its neat to stay there cause there has been meany movies and tv shows filmed there! Ppl where very nice and just a great atmosphere to be in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There is not much night life on the north side of the island! You for sure have to go to Honolulu! But for sure rent a car then its fun to do anything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitnit
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 11, 2009

Turtle Bay Resort

My friend and I decided to go to Hawaii for an early 30th birthday celebration. We were so glad that we stayed on the North Shore, away from the craziness of Waikiki. The view from the first room wasn't great & AC wasn't working correctly, but we asked for a different room and immediately got one. The view was awesome! Definitely rent a car. It is easy and convenient to get around that way. For four people, we had a 4 door soft top Jeep--fit us and the luggage! The drive down to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu wasn't bad. It took about an hour, but was very scenic. We stayed on the North Shore the majority of the time. It was very relaxing and peaceful there. Definitely mellowed us out! Places to go.... Shop in the town of Haliewa, about 20 minutes away. Eat at Banzai Sushi and Haliewa Joe's while there. Cholo's was decent Mexican food, but we only ate there for Cinco de Mayo. On the drive to Haliewa, there is an AWESOME place called Ted's. They have great garlic shrimp, chocolate haupia pie, and chocolate eclairs. We thought there shrimp were lots better than Giovanni's shrimp truck. At the resort, Ola's was the best restaurant! The butterfish was great. Lei Lei's was good too. Palm Terrace was for breakfast the last day. Don't give them credit cards at Palm Terrace--they may lose it. Luckily, they found mine, but our whole table was comped for breakfast. There are some great hikes around there, the best one we went on was Maunawilli Falls. It was on the east side, about 30-45 minutes drive from hotel. Climb up over the falls and you get to see another fall and a beautiful lagoon. There is also a hike near the YMCA camp , where the LOST others camp is. Immediately across from that small beach, walk along until you see a trail in the tall grass. You can see a trail, just look. It was well worth the hike to look out over the mountain. People rock climb up there too. Hawaii was wonderful and I can't wait to go back. Hope I could give y'all some good ideas about where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

About 20 minute drive. FYI, the town shuts down around 9:00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Fabulous and Relaxing vacation!

Our family had an excellent trip to turtle bay. It is quiet and relaxing. Some things to know are that is it about an hour drive from honolulu with traffic. We were very happy about this, but it is a good thing to know before booking your stay. I highly suggest going to Hale Iwa and Waimea to visit as they are close and added to the fun of our trip. Some things we loved at the resport were the beach (free snorkel gear for 1 hour per day), surfing lessons, great food, wonderful/ friendly service, and the very restful atmosphere. The pools are nice, but the water was a little cold compared to the ocean. The concierge was helpful and friendly with booking horseback riding (i HIGHLY suggest) , luaus, snorkeling catamaran, etc. The only thing that could improve would be to update the bathrooms. Otherwise this is one of the most beautiful locations on Oahu. We really enjoyed our time and can't wait to return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trish
Business
Maryland
Sep 12, 2009

Beautiful Area

Attended a wedding at the resort. The location of the resort was beautiful as were the surrounding grounds; however, the regular rooms were a bit pricey compared with similar equal level hotels. Some upgrades to color schemes and refurbishing of shutters would enhance room. All staff members were extraordinarily pleasant and accommodating and food at all restaurants that I visited was tasty but to expensive. Would enjoy another stay at Turtle but not at the current room rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top