$246 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance,California
Jan 29, 2010

Beautiful location

I very much enjoyed snorkling at the beach,beautiful tropical fish,reefs,etc.. I felt teeing off at the arnold palmer golf course was too expensive $180 thay did charge my girlfriend to just ride with me(she did not golf) but it was beautiful. Around the 6th hole it began to rain very hard with very strong winds i was forced to quite,it would have been nice to recieve a rain check from them but it was never offered. The resort itself was very beautiful just very expensive but it was very quite,clean with a great ocean view room just the way i like it. There is also a resort fee of $25 a day that is added to your bill,i was not aware of that it was my first time in hawaii

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

It is more convenient(Expensive) to eat in the hotel since we are in the country side(North shore) or it is a long drive to eat outside of the hotel. By the way some of the staff are nice and some where not. Also nobody asked if we needed help with our luggage on check in and the lady at the frontdesk made it a point that the hotel will put on hold $1050 for expenses at check out and was notvery nice. Again we where not asked if we needed help with our laggage on checkout either,we had quite a bit...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lufkin
Dec 6, 2008

Beautiful Scenery/Relaxing

Our stay at Turtle Bay Resort was very relaxing, the scenery was beautiful, and there were some very interesting towns nearby to shop and dine in. The only downside about the resort that I could comment on is the eating establishments located in the resort. The food was not awful, but it was not as good as what the pricing suggests. We ate breakfast at Palm Terrace twice and dinner at Ola once(the breakfast was better than the dinner.) We were able to find local eateries in nearby towns with great food and more reasonable pricing. The drinks at Hang Ten(the poolside bar) were awesome, especially the Mai Tais! If you want somewhere to stay and relax and are not really interested in night life and partying this is a very good option, however, if you do want some nightlife, the Waikiki/Honolulu area is the better option as Turtle Bay is approximately a 1 to 1.5 hour drive away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you travel to Haleiwa(just a short drive) while at Turtle Bay, be sure to eat at Kono's for breakfast and have one of their breakfast burritos or a banana macadamia nut waffle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 16, 2011

Needs repairs but still a good place!

Worked out, rested, relaxed, dined, shopping, and sight seeing. Resort is getting long in the tooth, needs repairs. The staff makes those short comings tolerable. No microwave oven in our room, dinning is costly at the resort, and due to its remoteness nothing is close by. The drive to Honolulu is over one hour on narrow roads. Its great if you plan on staying put.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Costly!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sooer
Business
Las Vegas NV
Aug 12, 2011

Worn, but still nice

The best thing about Turtle Bay Resort is it's location -- away from the maddening crowd of Honolulu. The rooms are well worn and dated and, judging by the empty spaces, lacking furniture from years gone by. Still, they were clean and comfortable. They provide great views of the ocean, even though our "balcony" was only large enough for the one chair that was on it. The resort restaurants serve good food, except for the one on the beach, and they are very pricey. But since there is nothing in the area except for nearby Ted's Bakery or a few places in Haleiwa, about 10 miles away, you're stuck paying the high prices, Staff is excellent -- when our TV stopped working, they replaced it within minutes. Golfing at both courses is excellent, but the spa is small and dated. If you visit the Polynesian Village, go later in the day because even though the gates open early, nothing inside is open. And stay away from the lousy buffet at the village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit "historic" Haleiwa for fun shopping. It's only 10 miles from the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, Ca
Jan 21, 2011

Quiet and peaceful

Reserved a Pikake suite and thought we had a lanai, but it turned out to be 18 inches in depth. It was unacceptable, so we were upgraded to a cottage, which was very nice. The manager who upgraded us told us there would be no additional charge, but upon check out we were charged $60/ night. I was very disappointed as nothing was done to correct this error.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Lei.s Lei's By far the best food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAW2407
Business
San Diego
Feb 2, 2014

Construction still underway

We love staying on the North Shore and have spent time at Turtle Bay on two separate occasions. The first time three years ago, the lobby and some restaurants were ripped up and being remodeled. Room renovations are completed, but solar panels were being put in during our visit. Work was supposed to be done between 9 and 5, however our room was at the end of the resort near the construction parking and prep area. We were woken up every day before 7 by loud trucks and equipment. Not very relaxing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

make sure you visit Haleiwa for dining, shopping and a taste of old town Hawaii.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kylezmom
Business
SF
May 7, 2014

Turtle bay

Great location! Friendly staff, beautiful Pool with slide for the kiddos!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Haleiwa a small town close by on the Harbor has THE cutest shops and some killer restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, CA
Apr 18, 2007

Beauty has a Price

What a beautiful hotel. We loved our view from our room, it was spectacular and it felt very private because no other room could see into our room from their balconies. The Resort was quite expensive and we were surprised that a resort fee was attached to our final expenses. We found this especially surprising when we were charged for the use of all the resort facilities, such as the tennis racquets, volleyball equipment,and snorkel gear. The Resort Restuarants had very good food, but were quite pricy. We opted to eat at many fine eateries outside the Resort domain. We also liked the location of Turtle Bay, on the more quiet and rural North Shore. I hope they will be able to keep the North Shore as pristine as it is now. With the location and beauty of the room, I hope that I will be able to return to Turtle Bay someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fumis' Shrimp Truck, just a short drive south from the resort, was fabulous. It was such fresh succulent shrimp, that my husband thought he was eating lobster. Be sure to try the Garlic shrimp with Garlic Rice. You'll blow everyone away with your breath, but certainly worth the alienation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler Queen
Business
Canada
May 8, 2009

Amazing!

I loved everything about the hotel, but one thing. The room service was to expensive and there is a delivery charge of $4!! Which i thought was weird since you just walking it our room not driving! Other then that, this is such a beautiful hotel, and its neat to stay there cause there has been meany movies and tv shows filmed there! Ppl where very nice and just a great atmosphere to be in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There is not much night life on the north side of the island! You for sure have to go to Honolulu! But for sure rent a car then its fun to do anything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Whitnit
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 11, 2009

Turtle Bay Resort

My friend and I decided to go to Hawaii for an early 30th birthday celebration. We were so glad that we stayed on the North Shore, away from the craziness of Waikiki. The view from the first room wasn't great & AC wasn't working correctly, but we asked for a different room and immediately got one. The view was awesome! Definitely rent a car. It is easy and convenient to get around that way. For four people, we had a 4 door soft top Jeep--fit us and the luggage! The drive down to Pearl Harbor and Honolulu wasn't bad. It took about an hour, but was very scenic. We stayed on the North Shore the majority of the time. It was very relaxing and peaceful there. Definitely mellowed us out! Places to go.... Shop in the town of Haliewa, about 20 minutes away. Eat at Banzai Sushi and Haliewa Joe's while there. Cholo's was decent Mexican food, but we only ate there for Cinco de Mayo. On the drive to Haliewa, there is an AWESOME place called Ted's. They have great garlic shrimp, chocolate haupia pie, and chocolate eclairs. We thought there shrimp were lots better than Giovanni's shrimp truck. At the resort, Ola's was the best restaurant! The butterfish was great. Lei Lei's was good too. Palm Terrace was for breakfast the last day. Don't give them credit cards at Palm Terrace--they may lose it. Luckily, they found mine, but our whole table was comped for breakfast. There are some great hikes around there, the best one we went on was Maunawilli Falls. It was on the east side, about 30-45 minutes drive from hotel. Climb up over the falls and you get to see another fall and a beautiful lagoon. There is also a hike near the YMCA camp , where the LOST others camp is. Immediately across from that small beach, walk along until you see a trail in the tall grass. You can see a trail, just look. It was well worth the hike to look out over the mountain. People rock climb up there too. Hawaii was wonderful and I can't wait to go back. Hope I could give y'all some good ideas about where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

About 20 minute drive. FYI, the town shuts down around 9:00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top