$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
597 out of 597
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Apr 26, 2009

North Shore Location

Unfortunately the windy cool weather made the trip less pleasant. We had to go to other parts of the Island to find the sun. Great location. Don't miss the Waimea Valley and Waimea beach. The construction on the access road to the hotel was an inconvenience. The resort fee should be added in to the quote on Orbitz. I checked and you had mentioned it but I missed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining options much better in nearby towns just a few minutes west from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine
Feb 9, 2011

Reasonable Getaway

Turtle Bay is definitely located on an ideal section of the island, if you are looking for peace and quiet, then look no further. The bays/beaches located nearby are great for families and are children friendly. One can relax or snorkel in the comfort of calm waters. However, do not expect luxury or anything close to it when it comes to amenities, it is a comfortable and very casual resort, but does not have the 4 or even 5 star experience some vacationers may be after. However, I would definitely stay here again should I travel with my family to O'ahu in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cholo's in Haleiwa has great food and the service is pretty good. Also, must try Ted's Bakery in North Shore, they have the best pastries, ask for the glazers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nichols Hills, Oklahoma
Apr 22, 2009

Turtle Bay Experience

Decent... Resort fee is totally a rip off. If you stay here there is nothing to do past 8:00 or 9:00. Everything is closed. Pool closes early, they start kicking people off the beach at 5:00 so their employees can get home... 21 degrees North is good but overrated. OLA was excellent. The breakfast buffet was decent. The best breakfast on the property is down at the golf course. If you are looking for a truly good lunch/dinner drive a few miles north to any of the shrimp shack... Giovannis is GREAT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maui, HI
Jul 20, 2010

Didn't live up to my expectations

I was very excited to stay at this resort, as I am a Maui resident, but hadn't stayed on the northshore of Oahu before. I had heard great things about the hotel, and of course seen it feautured in movies. My boyfriend and I went for 4 days and 3 nights and stayed in one of the "oceanview" deluxe rooms. They pretty much all have an ocean view, some better than others. We arrived at the resort a few hours before check in. I was told by the front desk a room should be ready within an hour. They didn't check us in until 3, which was 3 hours after we arrived. We finally got into the room only to discover the door to our lanai wouldn't budge. It was stuck closed and maintanance suggested we change rooms. Back down stairs, we moved across the hall, to face an ugly red roof below us, with some ocean left to see far beyond the roof. Our keys didn't work, and we had to go downstairs more than once to get them properly working. As I complained to the manager that we originally had a nicer room, and the front desk staff had been very rude, he explained to me there was nothing he could do and the hotel was completely booked meaning we had no choice but to stay in the red rooftop view room. Outside of all this in the first few hours of our stay, the rest of it was ok. By ok, I mean average. The pool is nothing spectacular.. basic, large pool and a very small spa. Pool bar is a great location for cocktails at sunset but don't order the food! If you have an extra dime to spend, the Twenty One fine dining restaurant in the resort is fabulous! We tried to eat at Ola's, the restaurant right on the resorts beach, but after sitting down for more than 15 minutes and not being served, spoken to, or even acknowledged, we got up and left. I had heard it was hit or miss there anyways, and it was a big miss for us. Not to mention their fresh fish was a swordfish. Which, living on the islands, that is not the fish you want for an expensive, satisfying meal. The rest of the hotel staff were friendly, except the front desk, who didn't hesitate to make some very rude comments to me. Having traveled all over the islands and more, I was very let down at this hotel. For how expensive this hotel is, you are simply paying for location, and thats it. The ammenities are just average, and the hotel needs a facelift. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, maybe splurge for the cottage suties, or take your chances on having a better experience than we did. Maybe it was just a busy weekend at the bussiest time of the year in one of the most beautiful vacation destinations and we had bad luck... or maybe it wasn't. (Note: I must say my boyfriend and I are extremely easy going people and it doesn't take much to please us. Living in a huge resort area on Maui and working in the tourist industry, I guess I just expected so much more from this resort.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Lei Leis, the restaurant on the golf course right near the resort. You can hitch a ride with one of the vallet guys on a golf cart. Very friendly staff, excellent menu and beautiful setting. Also, in Haleiwa (about a 15 minute drive), check out Louibuenos!! Best mexican seafood, huge menu and amazing margaritas. You will not be dissapointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last time hawaii traveler
Business
mission viejo, ca
Apr 19, 2010

5 star prices at 3 star accomodations

To say this hotel is a little tired would be an understatement. Not sure where the aledged $70 mil was spent but maybe that was 15 years ago. I'm sure first time Hawaii travelers would be just in love with this place but sorry not uns. The Marriot Courtyard in town is just as nice adn MUCH closer to EVERYTHING. The reosrt golf was totally SUB-PAR ! Some of the restaurants seemed like Furr's Cafeteria! Everything was way more expensiive and not worth it at all. Super delux room but the wind rattled the glass - keep us up all night. Lucky the gift shop had earplugs for the rest of the week. Just not the first class resort service i've seen at other places around the country or even Mexico. Something was broken or didnt work at every turn in the place. To top it off my golf travel bag went missing and the lousey attendant tried to blame me for leaving it there rather than picking it up for me ! Coke machines broken, broken workout machines, furniture in restaurant was probably original from day the place was built - bath towels too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jwhitt787
Business
Owensboro, ky
Dec 22, 2010

Nice view

It was raining the whole time we were there so we did not get the full experience we wanted out of the hotel. The rooms were my only complaint. They looked outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Would have loved to have golfed at the resort, it looked amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinnie Lou
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2011

Turtle Bay

We were a bit disappointed with how dated the hotel was. Considering the fact that there had been a fairly recent remodel done, it seemed they had put a small band aide on the the problem. When we did eat at the hotel the food was very good but extremely expensive in my opinion. It is just wrong when you put a teen on the end of the price of a hotdog. Our room did not have a balcony which is not stated or shown in any of the information that this could happen, so beware. We also encountered a problem with the front desk and our credit card. They were charging to our card $500. per day. After we had been there a while, our card didn't work and we found out this little bit of information. We were not informed that they were doing this so it was an inconvenyence and took away from our time to resolve. The staff definitely did not project a 4 or 5 star demeanor. We could not have ask for a better location. It was exactly what we were looking for as far as not being in the middle of the tourist caos. We were able to go do the things we wanted to and the escape back to a peaceful place on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westampton, NJ
Mar 25, 2010

Don't expect Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Unlike my past vacation in Turks and Caicos where I loved spending time on the beach and in my room, the same desire was not here. The beach was public, there was no drink/food service on the beach, the pool was crowded, the bed was "springy" and uncomfortable, and the room was just kinda dated and it didn't make you want to stay in the room. I think the rooms need some remodeling - the oceanview rooms are not what you see in the movie "Forgetting Sarah Marshall". I did love that this hotel was on the North Shore away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu and Waikiki; it was quiet and the waves were amazing. You could snorkel right off the beach, see whales jumping out of the ocean from the balcony and observe sea turtles swimming in the bay and coming out onto the shore - amazing! If you stay here, keep in mind that you need to rent a car since it's over an hour from the airport and most activities such as Pearl Harbor. The alcoholic drinks are quite pricy and the resort fee ($25 per day) is simply a rip off since what it covers is often included in the price of other hotels (i.e. it allows you to park on site, use the gym, internet, an hour of snorkeling per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lei Leis is fantastic!!! It is on the golf course of the resort and about a two minute walk from the hotel lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HAWAII 5O
Business
CHICAGO , IL U.S.A
Sep 22, 2010

WHAT U NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS RESORT !!

This resort got (+) & (-) the hotel is clean quiet friendly staff, the minus are you can not dine in their restaurants( $18 burger or $35 entree )Come on unless you are filthy rich their menues are not affordable, they will pre-aprove a hold in your credit cart in the amount of $150 x # of nights you will spend their ( you will be missing credit line for your vacation spending)No body disclose that to us [...] Nor when we check in, Finally, the Parking issue you as a customer paid $25 per day per room resort fee to cover internet access and parking, this hotel establishment privatize almost 1/2 of the parking lot (the close one to the hotel) to be used by the valet parking WOW !!! You know that valet parking lot is been abused and used by the resort emplyees and you the paying Guest with kids have to park far away ( brought the issue to the Manager told me his workers have Medical Issues and they are allowed to park their ) [*].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

*THE SPEED LIMIT IS 35MPH IN Hawaii HWYS Means for 10 miles destination will take you 20-25 MIN ( NOT 10 MIN LIKE WE THOUGHT) * Their is a fridge in every room so 10 miles West OR 6 miles East of the hotel you will find FOODLAND store they carry everything you will need food, cooked food,sushi, Fruit, Vegetables ECT.. Even Starbucks Store ( in FOODLAND Store 10 miles West ).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 5, 2009

Over priced

Beautiful hotel but not worth the price! Everything closes at ten!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top