$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
View map of 57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
597 out of 597
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
red rose
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Beautiful views in nice older resort

There was extensive construction work going on to the lobby area and it created noise and inconvenience throughout our stay. We had no warning of this in advance. Rooms seemed old, a bit run down, and in need of some repair and upgrading. Restaurants very expensive and had to utilize the local food trucks and fast food stores to stay on budget. On the positive side, we had a beautiful view from our room of the ocean and grounds and the beds were pretty comfortable. Staff were nice enough, but not especially helpful in offering maps, or information about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss a local favorite, Ted's Bakery, about 5 miles from the the resort. They had the best pies and muffins I've ever tasted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluedaisy03
Business
Texas, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Beautiful scenery!

I thought the hotel was nice, not fantastic as the price would indicate, but nice. The view from the room was fabulous. The breakfast buffet was great, but overpriced at $25 each. The hotel charges you $25 a day for their amenitities, whether you use them or not and each "activity" cost, except the beach or pool. We did not do anything except snorkel and go into the water. But the location on the North Shore is wonderful and is close enough to Honolulu but far away from all the crowds. That being said, everything is over-priced in Hawaii!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WHMa
Business
Kennewick, WA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Our Experience

The location is wonderful and most beautiful. The food is good and very expensive, so, come prepared. We were surprised at he "incidental costs" that you were charged for even though you did not utilize the services provided. For instance, you were provided one hour access each day to the snorkeling equipment and canoeing and several other nice services, but if you didn't use them you were still required to pay the $25/day charge. We would like to have been made aware of this fact upfront. Overall it is beautiful facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Enjoy the Several shrimp stands or shrimp vending trucks along the highway just east of the resort which obtain their shrimp from the local, at hand, shrimp farms. Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bailey26
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Beautiful setting!

this is a resort offering any and every activity, with nice pools and beach. The 3 restaurants we tried were very good, with the exception of Lei Lei's. We prefer to go to Haleiwa for great food. The rooms are tired and dated, needs a reno, but beds, baths are large and comfy. Staff is into service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luibuenos, Opal Thai and Cafe Haleiwa are worth the short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler Single Mom
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

Family Spring Break

Great place for the family. Good location (away from the crowds) and kid-friendly. Loved it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Use Living Social and Groupon for local discounts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deenie
Business
Wingate, In.
May 18, 2012

Great place to relax

This was a wonderful 3 days and I would recommend to a friend. I am planning another visit next year. There are a couple of reasons that the rating was not a 5 across the board.I made my plans in Feb. and requested a king size bed with an Ocean View. I got a room with a (1) Queen size bed with a view of the roof below me and the pool area. I could lean out over the railing on the balcony and see the ocean but not quite up to what I was looking for. There were a lot of rooms with the view that I was looking for. I did not request a different room; that was my fault. Like I said I am planning on returning and I know which room/villa to request. Regards, D. Commons

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North shore broddah
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 1, 2012

Only Place to Stay on the North Shore!

Great views, must get the oceanfront cottages, spectacular location. The wind blows up here, and the pool can be cool at times. The restaurant at the Golf shop Lei lei's is a must for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carolina mom 101
Business
North Carolina
Jul 19, 2012

hawaii family trip

beautiful pool, lots of pricey restaurants on the property like everywhere else in hawaii, never saw any turtles, decent beach area but be careful walking into the water because of the lava rock, great property to take walks and see gorgeous views, very relaxing and quiet room, wonderfully large bathroom with small refreigerator and separate shower/toilet area, coffee maker, hair dryer, microwave fee $10 per day if you wanted one which I thought was ridiculous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

No restaurants were close to this resort. It was a 45 minute drive to a major chain restaurant like Chili's. The only closest fast food restaurant was McDonalds and it was about 25 minutes away. This was disappointing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flordeli
Business
pante
Aug 2, 2012

perfect location for people who don't like crowded area

perfect location for people who wants peace and quiet. beautiful scenery. had a good experience. the rooms need upgrading though since the hotel was built in the 70s. i would check in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn
Jun 8, 2012

Family vacation with fantastic results

From the moment we arrived we knew the experience would be great. Hotel staff friendly and respectful. Hang Ten restaurant got us off on the right foot. Pool area well groomed and clean. The views from the lenai were breathtaking. The best thing about the resort was its unbelievable peace and quiet. Already planning our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

great dining within a 15 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top