$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
535 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (535)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
535 out of 535
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JHK
Seattle
Jan 23, 2011

Robbed by hotel staff, beware!

The trip ended up being our worst experience to Hawaii. [...] Our Christmas present to each other was this trip and we had pretty low expectations other than relaxation. During our stay we were robbed from our hotel room by the staff while our room was cleaned. We called hotel security and the police because of the expense of the items involved. The police told us the same cottage room we stayed in was ransacked the last time they were called and we got out lucky with a little under a thousand dollar loss. We were not going to let this ruin our time as the hotel assured us their insurance company would take care of everything. They promised to call us with compensation as soon as the Christmas holiday was over. That did not happened. Nobody called us and when we called them the calls were not returned. We have escalated this to every level of hotel management and called several more times only to hear "it was out of their hands". They gladly took our money for the stay but our items stolen by their staff are now "out of their hands". The police were the most helpful and seemed to care about keeping the area safe. They also followed up with written documentation. I felt compelled to tell you if you are staying there [...]about our experience. We cannot get our items back and the safe in the cottage is not big enough to lock everything up. So travel at your own risk with anything of value even makeup and medication. You may save on your trip here through this web engine but end up paying the difference in theft.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chandler, Az.
Mar 1, 2011

Disappointment

The location and grounds were just as we had remembered them 20-odd years ago. The surronding countryside had not changed considerably in that time either... perhaps a bit seedier overall.We were terribly disappointed with our "upgraded" ocean view room. Apparently our room had not seen an upgrade in furniture, paint, or fixtures since our last trip there 20 years ago. There were only 2 chairs in the room, and only one on the narrow balcony that provided our "ocean view". I believe, in all likelihood there had been little in the way of improvement in amenities over the years.We were also surprised that the hotel charged us an extra $25/day for a "resort" fee. [...] Overall I would not recommend this hotel owing to lack of quality, primarily in the condition of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Actually, any shopping, other than for food was a long drive. There were no decent restaurants other than the ones associated with the resort. Those weren't too bad. Quality was mediocre and price was a bit high for what you received.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tweedy's
Boise, ID
Oct 5, 2010

Honeymoon dream!

Couldn't imagine a better place to honeymoon. The staff was so kind and helpful beyond belief. Room was beautiful! We liked that it was not located in the big city. It was close to everything and each day we planned a different activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington Beach, CA
Sep 12, 2009

Shocking!

Superior location and spectacular views! That's where it ends folks, sorry! This place is way over rated @ 4 stars. I've been to 4 & 5 star resorts and this is not one of them. How they achieved this rating is beyond me. The room was small and dated. I've seen more lavish rooms at an Travel Lodge. We were forced to stay in this horrible room for 3 nights before the hotel finally agreed to upgrade us to a suite. However, the suite was just a larger version of a really bad room! Almost the exact same floor plan. If you want to pay top dollar in today's economy and fly to the 2550 miles to the South Pacific and stay in a out dated closet, than this is the place for you! Some of the staff cared while other could give a ?X_P! My Credit Card was also authorized for $150. per day x all the days I was there. Effectively freezing $1200. of my vacation money. Thanks Turtle Bay! In addition to that they slipped in a $20. resort fee tax per day! Valet parking is another $10. per day! Self-parking was always full and not close to the resort. The entrance driveway was under construction which added to the chaos of entering and exiting the resort. Geez, I may need a vacation from this vacation. Save your money and Stay in Waikiki!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Be sure to stock the in room refrigerator or eat off site. Our food bill was more than the room rate! The hotel doesn't give you a copy of your room charges at any of the restaurants, bars etc. So it is really easy to loose track of what you've spent here. The real shocker was checking out and getting the bill, with a few added charges compliments of Turtle Bay! Luckily they agreed to reverse them! Insist on duplicate receipts for any charges at this resort!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mad guest
LA, CA
Aug 7, 2012

over priced

you never get the room you wanted, poor accommodation, foods are over priced and lack of variety, breakfasts are as expensive as dinner. very very bad traffic to get to the hotel from airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Disappointed With Room
Wausau, WI
Aug 16, 2010

Terrible room location.

The Beach Cottage we were given was # 121. STAY AWAY FROM THIS ROOM. There are 6 rooms to a building, these 6 are set back from the beach, no air movement, no view, TERRIBLE. For the high price we paid for this room, it was awful. This resort has no business listing this buildings rooms as premium rooms. Its downright deceiving.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Warm Weather Fan
Reno, Nevada
Apr 23, 2009

Not so luxury....

The attention to detail is definitely overlooked from the cleanliness of public restrooms in the lobby to the dirty menus and brochures in your room. The hotel is older and the rooms show it. The walls and vents are extremely dirty. I didn't even want to take off my shoes! This is not my first trip to Hawaii, nor my last, however, I will never stay at Turtle Bay Resort again. The front desk employees are rude and are not helpful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 27, 2007

ALOHA SPIRIT!

Very friendly staff. Diapointed in the bathroom. Our room had an obvious mildew/mold problem due to the shower water not draining properly and the water running on the floor. Another mirror in the room would have been nice. The restaurant staff at the Palm Terrace were very responsive to our needs and wants. Overall, the hotel was beautiful, ammenities nice, but a little pricey. However I would recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Great beaches a short drive away even though the resort has one aswell.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hayward, CA
Sep 4, 2008

Just OK...

We stayed the last two days of our vacation on Oahu. We thought that it was going to be amazing. The room was average, which we could of overcome if the food was good. Nope, the food was bad. We were so disappointed that we left a day early. We live in California! The fight was almost five hours to get back... but we couldn't wait to get home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HAWAII 5O
CHICAGO, IL
Oct 2, 2010

Waste Of Money

STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

10 MILES WEST FROM THE HOTEL "FOODMART + STARBUCKS" WILL SAVE YOU A LOT OF $$$ THEN THE HOTEL

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search