$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
543 reviews
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Couple staycation

So my girlfriend and I decided that we would spend my last weekend in town overnight at the North... See full review

  • jdSmithChang
  • Jul 15, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (543)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
543 out of 543
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J from California
S. California
Jul 1, 2009

Great Views but Very Expensive

The "Deluxe Oceanfront" rooms are not ocean front they are just ordinary rooms with ocean views. The "Deluxe Oceanfront" rooms are a little out dated for such a over priceed hotel. The paint was peeling from our shower and bath room cabinets. There is an additional $20.00 fee each day for the hotel services, that you are forced to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlohaDi
Oregon
Oct 8, 2009

Okay

Turtle Bay needs lessons in customer service. Staff was unfriendly from the time of check-in until we left. It could be a nice place if customers were made to feel welcome. The food and service at Ola was exceptional and that was the best part of the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, Colorado
Apr 26, 2009

North Shore Location

Unfortunately the windy cool weather made the trip less pleasant. We had to go to other parts of the Island to find the sun. Great location. Don't miss the Waimea Valley and Waimea beach. The construction on the access road to the hotel was an inconvenience. The resort fee should be added in to the quote on Orbitz. I checked and you had mentioned it but I missed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining options much better in nearby towns just a few minutes west from the hotel

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine
Feb 9, 2011

Reasonable Getaway

Turtle Bay is definitely located on an ideal section of the island, if you are looking for peace and quiet, then look no further. The bays/beaches located nearby are great for families and are children friendly. One can relax or snorkel in the comfort of calm waters. However, do not expect luxury or anything close to it when it comes to amenities, it is a comfortable and very casual resort, but does not have the 4 or even 5 star experience some vacationers may be after. However, I would definitely stay here again should I travel with my family to O'ahu in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cholo's in Haleiwa has great food and the service is pretty good. Also, must try Ted's Bakery in North Shore, they have the best pastries, ask for the glazers.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nichols Hills, Oklahoma
Apr 22, 2009

Turtle Bay Experience

Decent... Resort fee is totally a rip off. If you stay here there is nothing to do past 8:00 or 9:00. Everything is closed. Pool closes early, they start kicking people off the beach at 5:00 so their employees can get home... 21 degrees North is good but overrated. OLA was excellent. The breakfast buffet was decent. The best breakfast on the property is down at the golf course. If you are looking for a truly good lunch/dinner drive a few miles north to any of the shrimp shack... Giovannis is GREAT...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maui, HI
Jul 20, 2010

Didn't live up to my expectations

I was very excited to stay at this resort, as I am a Maui resident, but hadn't stayed on the northshore of Oahu before. I had heard great things about the hotel, and of course seen it feautured in movies. My boyfriend and I went for 4 days and 3 nights and stayed in one of the "oceanview" deluxe rooms. They pretty much all have an ocean view, some better than others. We arrived at the resort a few hours before check in. I was told by the front desk a room should be ready within an hour. They didn't check us in until 3, which was 3 hours after we arrived. We finally got into the room only to discover the door to our lanai wouldn't budge. It was stuck closed and maintanance suggested we change rooms. Back down stairs, we moved across the hall, to face an ugly red roof below us, with some ocean left to see far beyond the roof. Our keys didn't work, and we had to go downstairs more than once to get them properly working. As I complained to the manager that we originally had a nicer room, and the front desk staff had been very rude, he explained to me there was nothing he could do and the hotel was completely booked meaning we had no choice but to stay in the red rooftop view room. Outside of all this in the first few hours of our stay, the rest of it was ok. By ok, I mean average. The pool is nothing spectacular.. basic, large pool and a very small spa. Pool bar is a great location for cocktails at sunset but don't order the food! If you have an extra dime to spend, the Twenty One fine dining restaurant in the resort is fabulous! We tried to eat at Ola's, the restaurant right on the resorts beach, but after sitting down for more than 15 minutes and not being served, spoken to, or even acknowledged, we got up and left. I had heard it was hit or miss there anyways, and it was a big miss for us. Not to mention their fresh fish was a swordfish. Which, living on the islands, that is not the fish you want for an expensive, satisfying meal. The rest of the hotel staff were friendly, except the front desk, who didn't hesitate to make some very rude comments to me. Having traveled all over the islands and more, I was very let down at this hotel. For how expensive this hotel is, you are simply paying for location, and thats it. The ammenities are just average, and the hotel needs a facelift. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, maybe splurge for the cottage suties, or take your chances on having a better experience than we did. Maybe it was just a busy weekend at the bussiest time of the year in one of the most beautiful vacation destinations and we had bad luck... or maybe it wasn't. (Note: I must say my boyfriend and I are extremely easy going people and it doesn't take much to please us. Living in a huge resort area on Maui and working in the tourist industry, I guess I just expected so much more from this resort.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Lei Leis, the restaurant on the golf course right near the resort. You can hitch a ride with one of the vallet guys on a golf cart. Very friendly staff, excellent menu and beautiful setting. Also, in Haleiwa (about a 15 minute drive), check out Louibuenos!! Best mexican seafood, huge menu and amazing margaritas. You will not be dissapointed.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
last time hawaii traveler
Business
mission viejo, ca
Apr 19, 2010

5 star prices at 3 star accomodations

To say this hotel is a little tired would be an understatement. Not sure where the aledged $70 mil was spent but maybe that was 15 years ago. I'm sure first time Hawaii travelers would be just in love with this place but sorry not uns. The Marriot Courtyard in town is just as nice adn MUCH closer to EVERYTHING. The reosrt golf was totally SUB-PAR ! Some of the restaurants seemed like Furr's Cafeteria! Everything was way more expensiive and not worth it at all. Super delux room but the wind rattled the glass - keep us up all night. Lucky the gift shop had earplugs for the rest of the week. Just not the first class resort service i've seen at other places around the country or even Mexico. Something was broken or didnt work at every turn in the place. To top it off my golf travel bag went missing and the lousey attendant tried to blame me for leaving it there rather than picking it up for me ! Coke machines broken, broken workout machines, furniture in restaurant was probably original from day the place was built - bath towels too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jwhitt787
Owensboro, ky
Dec 22, 2010

Nice view

It was raining the whole time we were there so we did not get the full experience we wanted out of the hotel. The rooms were my only complaint. They looked outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Would have loved to have golfed at the resort, it looked amazing.

Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vinnie Lou
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2011

Turtle Bay

We were a bit disappointed with how dated the hotel was. Considering the fact that there had been a fairly recent remodel done, it seemed they had put a small band aide on the the problem. When we did eat at the hotel the food was very good but extremely expensive in my opinion. It is just wrong when you put a teen on the end of the price of a hotdog. Our room did not have a balcony which is not stated or shown in any of the information that this could happen, so beware. We also encountered a problem with the front desk and our credit card. They were charging to our card $500. per day. After we had been there a while, our card didn't work and we found out this little bit of information. We were not informed that they were doing this so it was an inconvenyence and took away from our time to resolve. The staff definitely did not project a 4 or 5 star demeanor. We could not have ask for a better location. It was exactly what we were looking for as far as not being in the middle of the tourist caos. We were able to go do the things we wanted to and the escape back to a peaceful place on the north shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westampton, NJ
Mar 25, 2010

Don't expect Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Unlike my past vacation in Turks and Caicos where I loved spending time on the beach and in my room, the same desire was not here. The beach was public, there was no drink/food service on the beach, the pool was crowded, the bed was "springy" and uncomfortable, and the room was just kinda dated and it didn't make you want to stay in the room. I think the rooms need some remodeling - the oceanview rooms are not what you see in the movie "Forgetting Sarah Marshall". I did love that this hotel was on the North Shore away from the hustle and bustle of Honolulu and Waikiki; it was quiet and the waves were amazing. You could snorkel right off the beach, see whales jumping out of the ocean from the balcony and observe sea turtles swimming in the bay and coming out onto the shore - amazing! If you stay here, keep in mind that you need to rent a car since it's over an hour from the airport and most activities such as Pearl Harbor. The alcoholic drinks are quite pricy and the resort fee ($25 per day) is simply a rip off since what it covers is often included in the price of other hotels (i.e. it allows you to park on site, use the gym, internet, an hour of snorkeling per day).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lei Leis is fantastic!!! It is on the golf course of the resort and about a two minute walk from the hotel lobby.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search