$279 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 23, 2014

Turtle Bay Resort

4 stars
57-091 Kamehameha Hwy., Kahuku, HI 96731
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
536 reviews
Amazing Location!!

For the money you spend this hotel doesn't get any better! This is the only hotel on the North... See full review

  • Shan World Traveler
  • Sep 16, 2014
Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay was an awesome experience. It was a birthday celebration and we had a delightful time.... See full review

  • Aunty Plumeria
  • Jul 24, 2014
Del Webb, the real estate mogul and one-time New York Yankees owner, opened Turtle Bay Resort in 1972 and ever since then, it's been entertaining guests with an involving line-up of activities, from surfing lessons and making your own flower-leis to learning how to play the ukulele. Add to this the two chlorine-free swimming pools, water slide, trails for hiking and biking, and championship golf courses, and it's no wonder that Turtle Bay draws sizable crowds. Wicker and natural woods contrast with brighter shades indoors, while the verdant north shore of Oahu provides all the views you need from the terrace restaurant, Ola. Nalu Kinetic Spa provides ocean panoramas, a massage table that simulates the sensation of floating at sea, and calming hot-stone treatments.
Key facts
  • 443 guestrooms
  • 6 floors
  • Valet parking
  • 5 restaurants: Pa'akai, North Shore Kula Grille, Hang Ten Bar & Grill, Ola Restaurant and Lei Lei's Bar & Grill
  • Lounge/bars: Lobby Lounge and Surfer, The Bar
  • 2 outdoor pools
  • 24-hour room service
  • Coffee shop and café
  • On-site golf course
  • Full-service spa
  • Health club
  • Arcade/game room
  • 24-hour business center
  • Meeting/conference room
Neighborhood
It's worth staying at this Hawaiian resort just for the surroundings. Turtle Bay is found in a section of Oahu's famed North Shore known for its unique rock formations, spectacular surfing beaches, and the majestic green sea turtles for which it is named. Near to both Kawela Bay Beach Park and the James Campbell National Wildlife Refuge, the Kamehameha Highway leads southeast from the hotel to the Polynesian Cultural Center, for those seeking signs of modern civilization.
Hints and tips
Be sure to enjoy one of the many free events that are featured every week, from spoken word nights to beach parties and film showings.

Drop in to hear amazing stories from professional surfers at Surfer, The Bar, in between mouthfuls of spicy Hawaiian seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

21.698 -157.9903
Area served
North Shore, Polynesian Cultural Center, Kawela Bay, Kuilima Cove, Turtle Bay.
Nearby airports
Honolulu International Airport-HNL
Area description
About an hour from Honolulu, Turtle Bay Resort is set against a landscape of cattle pastures, plantation homes, lush windward valleys and the scenic, world-famous surfing beaches of Oahu's Fabled North Shore. Both laidback and vibrant, the North Shore attracts millions of visitors each year and offers a variety of colorful cafes and shops. You'll also be a few minutes' drive from the Polynesian Cultural Center.

Turtle Bay Resort Rooms

Ocean Front Beach Cottage
The Beach Cottages at Turtle Bay Resort are grouped in clusters of six and situated along the west shore of beautiful Turtle Bay. The cottages are equipped with large marble bathrooms featuring Kallista deep-soak tubs, freestanding glass showers, and private, enclosed toilets.
Deluxe Oceanfront
Full Balcony Offering Spectacular Ocean Views and Hawaiian Sunsets with Two Queen Beds Studio-type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.
Ocean Villas
Our villas make the perfect resort home; elegantly furnished with a masterful blend of luxury and elegance. The Ocean Villas are unsurpassed by anything that the island of Oahu has ever seen in oceanfront resort accommodations. The entryway leads to a gourmet kitchen, which is adjacent to a spacious living/dining area. The master bedroom is furnished with 1 king bed; each guest room has 1 queen bed and the living room has a queen sized sofa sleeper. Enjoy exclusive amenities such as the Ocean Villa pool, Jacuzzi, courtyard, and barbeque area.
Partial Ocean View
One king or two double beds. Partial Oceanview located on the second floor. 478 square feet. Complimentary wireless Internet access, compact refrigerator, coffeemaker, and cable TV with HBO, pay movies, and video games (surcharge). A daily resort fee covers local phone calls, weekday newspaper delivery, and in-room safe. Non-smoking only. One king or two double beds.
ADA Accesible Oceanfront King
Our ADA accessible ocean front room includes a king sized bed. An automatic wide door ensures easy and smooth access into the spacious 478 feet dwelling. Grab bars for comfort and security are located throughout the roomy restroom. The tub includes a shower bench and handheld shower head to ensure ease. The double lanai door is equipped with a ramp. The closet is wheel chair accessible with a low clothing rack. A portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request. Lamps are touch activated for easy use. The closed-captioning option is available for television viewing.
ADA Accessible Oceanside Cottage
One king or two queen beds. Inside, find polished Brazilian walnut floors leading to a large, multi-level beach retreat with 15-foot ceilings and king poster beds. Luxuriate in a Kallista deep-soak tub or take care of business using wireless Internet access. Let our exclusive cottage concierge tend to your every need. Room includes location near handicap parking stalls, ADA accessible ramp to cottage, automatic wheel chair accessible door, ramp in cottage to access multi-levels, double lanai door with ramp for wheel chair access to lanai, spacious ADA accessible bathroom, roll-in shower, handheld showerhead, low tub, grab bars throughout the bathroom, touch activated lights, ADA accessible closet, closed-captioning option for television, and a portable hearing device that alerts guests with vibrations or visual cues when there is a phone call or someone is at the door is available upon request.
Ocean View
Beautiful views of the ocean and resort, a full bath with vanity, wireless Internet access, telephone with two lines and data port and sleep two to four. Two double queen beds or a king size bed
Oceanfront
Small Balcony with Full View Of Turtle Bay And Hawaiian Sunrises with Two Queen Beds. Studio type room with two queen beds and a bathroom featuring marble tiled floor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Golf
Game room
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Conference Center at Turtle Bay Resort has more than 28,000 square feet of event and pre-function space perfect for group sizes up to 600 indoors and 2000 outdoors. An experienced conference servicing team is available to assist with all program needs including menu planning, technology support and recreational activities.

Dining

Pa'akai
A fresh twist on locally sourced dining. Pa'akai - or "sea salt" in the Hawaiian language, reflecting Hawaii's numerous seaside salt beds - features sea-to-table cuisine. Pa'akai's menu highlights the best in fresh local fish, farm-raised lobster, Kauai prawns, sea asparagus, seaweed and sea salt produced in Hawaii.
North Shore Kula Grille
The ancient Hawaiians divided their land into three sections: Mauka, kula and makai - or mountains, midland and the sea - known as ahupua 'a. It is the kula lands, primarily used for agriculture, that now serve as the inspiration for the North Shore Kula Grille. A place where farm-to-table thinking is behind every ingredient on our menu.
Lobby Lounge
At the Lobby Lounge, you will find friendly service, exotic cocktails and a diverse menu to satisfy all of your cravings. Enjoy freshly brewed Coffees, Latts, Cappuccinos, Espresso Drinks, Smoothies, Beer, Wine, and Handcrafted Cocktails like the Pupukea Lychee and the Skinny Lilikoi Chi Chi. Signature dishes include Citrus Ponzu Calamari and Grilled Kahuku Honey & Mango Glazed Chicken.
Ola
Enjoy contemporary island cuisine with the sand between your toes. The only restaurant on O'ahu located literally on the beach, Ola is an experience for all the senses. The concept, cuisine and atmosphere of the open-aired restaurant that literally sits on the beach is summed up in its name, "Ola" which means "life, living, healthy and alive." Chef Fred DeAngelo delights guests with his innovative cuisine.
Surfer, The Bar
Forget dark wood paneling and marble bar-tops, Surfer has its own very original look and feel. And although the bartender can fastidiously make your favorite cocktail, the drink of choice here is a 16-ounce pint of ice-cold beer, many of them local small-batch brews. Sure the food is fresh, flavorful, sometimes spicy Hawaiian comfort food, prepared by white-hat chefs in the acclaimed resort kitchen. But food, beverage and dcor are not the real reasons why the audience - locals, guests of the hotel and word travelers - gather here.
Hang Ten Bar & Grill
Enjoy tropical drinks surfside at the outdoor Hang Ten Bar & Grill. Stop by for a refreshing break and one of the island's best Mai Tai's. Relax to the sounds of the surf while you discover why Turtle Bay Resort has received awards for "Hotel with the Best View." Every night of the week you will find something special happening here. You may find a Drum Circle, a keiki hula halau, live Hawaiian Style music, Fish Fries, or Fire Knife Dancers and every day at sunset you have a chance to order the Hang Ten signature drink, the "Green Flash".
Lei Lei's Bar and Grill
Mouthwatering dishes and a laid back atmosphere make Lei Lei's a famous local haunt on O'ahu's Fabled North Shore. Talk Story with entertaining manager and host Ian. The excellent dishes and service is what brings regulars from the surf and movie industry here Dinner features a menu brimming over with entrees of fresh, succulent seafood, savory beef, chicken and pork prepared to perfection. Signature dishes include slow-roasted prime rib, ginger soy Ahi and our warm bacon dressing spinach salad. Compliment the meal with a selection from our extensive wine list. Lei Lei's is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served weekdays starting at 7:00 a.m. and on weekends starting at 6:30 a.m. Lunch is served from 11:00 a.m. Dinner seating begins at 5:00 p.m. with the last seating at 10:00 p.m. Live soloist music is played every Thursday and Sunday nights from 6:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (536)

Ratings and reviews for Turtle Bay Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
536 out of 536
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeDee T
Honolulu, HI
Oct 4, 2009

Great Getaway

Absolutely wonderful. Layed back great bed, staff was excellent, great spa packages and services, Highly recommend for local or tourist. Away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
first-time Hawaii traveler
Cleveland, Ohio
May 3, 2010

Paradise

This resort has it all. It's incredibly beautiful at every turn. The whole resort is immaculate. It's a large resort but it didn't feel crowded. There's staff running aroung all over the place and every one of them has a smile on their face. It has many activities to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The only drawback of being in a rural area like the North Shore is that you there really is no close dining or shopping off the resort. The nearest town is 10 miles away that has restaurants and shopping. But it's doable if you're looking to get off the resort, which we did a few times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kiwi Kiter
Melbourne, Australia.
May 8, 2014

Best on Oahu.

Awesome. Stop at supermarket on the drive in and buy a few drinks and snacks.. Eat at the shrimp trucks that are all over the north shore. Try not to cut your feet on the sharp coral. Do the segway tour. "Goat island" is best for kitesurfing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Supermarket has awesome snacks and beer selection, will save you hundreds. As well as shrimp trucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bristol, CT
Aug 3, 2010

Magnificent vacation getaway

Turtle Bay was our last stop of a 10 getaway to celebrate our 30th anniversary. When we initally drove in and saw the size of the parking facilites, we thought we'd made a mistake in choosing the resort. We were more than pleasantly pleased however upon checking in. The physcial location of Turtle Bay provides stunning views at every turn, and in spite of the number of people enjoying this Hawaiian jewel, the atmosphere is lush, relaxing, unrushed and allows ample space for an uncrowded experience. Our hotel room was beautiful and spacious with a balcony view overlooking the pools and Turtle Bay, well worth the 30 minute wait for a non smoking room to be readied(our cruise disembarkment took much less time than anticipated and we arrived several hours earlier than expected) The hotel staff were pleasant and very accomodating despite our early arrival. This resort is well laid out to accomodate vacationing families, formal and business funtions. As we enjoyed our evening meal at 21, we discussed how beautiful a site Turtle Bay was for a wedding, as there was a lucky couple begginning thier wedded life in the facilities' chapel, with their reception overlooking another part of Turtle Bay. We highly recommend Turle Bay for a truely relaxing and scenic Hawaiian getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ofra75
los angeles
Mar 9, 2010

unbetable location

It has been one of my best vacation ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Mar 3, 2009

Beyond Expectations - Drop Resort Fee

Beautiful Hotel with beautiful view from lanai. We saw whales every mornging from our room. We walked down the beach about a 1/2 mile and there were no people in sight - we had our own private beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the Shrimp at Fumi shrimp farm - the little shack by the side of the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SeansGirl
NY
Jan 8, 2013

Great Honeymoon Location

Hubby and I spent our honeymoon here in June. The location is fabulous! Beautiful views no matter where in the resort your room is. We were on the fifth floor, and slept with our patio door open at night to feel the breeze and listen to the ocean. Our room was beautiful. Other reviews mention shabby rooms, but ours had definitely been updated. Very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. The staff did a turn down service every evening where they dimmed the lights and turned on relaxing music- nice touch. There was a lot to do here- everything from sunbathing to snorkeling to surfing. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you want. There is even a helicopter tour service on site which we took advantage of- take Dramamine, but it's a must-do! The staff were all very friendly and helpful- no complaints there whatseover. There were planty of families with children, but the hotel was very quiet- noise did not carry from other rooms at all. Very good for light sleepers like me! The only negatives: 1. The $25-per-day resort fee. 2. Not all-inclusive- you pay for all meals and most activities. 3. Dining on site is very pricey no matter where you eat. Even the breakfast buffet was expensive. We ended up buying food at a local grocery store to keep in our room for breakfast and snacks. Overall, though, we were definitely very happy with the overall experience and would recommend Turtle Bay! It was breathtaking and the North Shore is quiet and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, Ohio
Feb 6, 2011

The PERFECT Relaxing getaway!

We just returned from a five night stay at Turtle Bay. The purpose of our trip was to take a simple, relaxing, laid back week to enjoy the sun with my and 11 year old son. We are regular travelers but have never been to Hawaii. Our trip to Oahu (namely Turtle Bay), was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the hotel's beach cottages. Our cottage was very clean and in excellent condition. The cottage had a private linai which opened up to a private "courtyard" complete with hammocks and direct access to the beach. We could see the ocean right from our bed! It was truly beautiful. If possible, I recommend the beach cottage. The cottages are about .25 mile away from the main hotel property so it's a short walk to the swimming pool and main restaurant. But the walk was easy, and beautiful! The service was excellent from every person. It was clear our comfort was their goal, everyday. The staff was friendly, informative, and genuinely happy. We were greater with warm smiles and Aloha everywhere we went. The hotel restaurants have a reasonable variety of food and the food is very good. The prices are fairly expensive so you might consider finding some local restaurants as well. We dined in all but one of the hotels restaurants and enjoyed them all. The hotel provides a good number of activities on site, including a really nice golf course. We chose to do the Segway tour. The tour guides were awesome as was the breathtaking sights we visited along the tour. It's a must do. We tried to do the helicopter tour but waited too late to reserve a tour. There are many acres of land that follows the coast line that's perfect for slow walks with the family. Things to know: the hotel is on the northern tip of the island. It's fairly remote so you will need to travel 45 minutes to an hour each way to get to and from the airport, and many of the islands more lively attractions. Secondly, the traffic is a little congested at times and moves at a slower pace (average speed 35 miles per hour). I enjoyed the slower pace. Allow extra time for trips to Waikiki and Pearl Harbor. Turtle Bay however is a wonderful escape from the otherwise very touristy Island. The hotel is well kept, maintained, and clean. The decor is late 70,s vintage, but it has a real charm to it. The online photos don't do a good job of showing how beautiful this property really is. We were expecting a lot worse based on the photos online. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must do the horseback tour at Kualoa ranch. It's located about 20 miles from the hotel, set at the base of an unbelievable mountain range. It's a must do activity. We did the one hour tour which takes about an hour and a half. It's awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jan 5, 2008

Seclusion among many

We stayed in the beach bungalows and even though they are connected in groups of four you would never know it. They are almost in the beach and to listen to the ocean all night with the breeze was fantastic. Sitting on the lanai in the morning with coffee and the paper was fantastic. People walk by, but you hardly notice them. The restaurant choices are good and 21 Degrees is a great upscale restaurant for that romantic meal. Walk over a bay and enjoy almost total privacy and the hotel even provides markers to help you get there. A must stay place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mandeville, LA
Apr 6, 2010

Welcomnig resort

The proximity of the resort to the entire northshore of Oahu was ideal for our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you take in all the little tucked away eateries, including the shrimp trucks, around the northshore area. Wonderful food and very friendly people.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top